27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe - Just finished cooking up 6 Zaar Chili Recipes for my upcoming 50th b/d party and this recipe rocks. I doubled the recipe using 1 lb lean hamburger and 1 lb moose hamburger, only 3 jalapenos and 1 lb hot italian sausage meat plus 1 lb pork stew meat and 1 lb beef stew meat. I skipped the marinating part because I didn't have jalapeno juice and halved the hot spices as my girls were finding all the chilis too hot and wanted a couple recipes with less heat. Also added only 1 can of red kidney beans. I believe this recipe will be the favorite of the 6 as it is my fav!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay October 21, 2009

Again this chili is an award winner in a chili cook off. I made this for a cook off at work and took third place. I used pork stew meat instead of the pound of hamburger. I will be making this for our next family gathering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Irish Red October 01, 2009

I made this recipe for our Chili Cook Off here at work, and won First Place!! It turned out very meaty, and thick. The only change I made was I doubled the amount of stew beef, and used a jar of chopped jalapenos instead of fresh. Excellent flavor, will make again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PatfromTitusville November 03, 2008

I found this recipe back in Jan of 2008. I cooked it for our Church's competitive Chili Cook-off... After following the recipe to a "T", we won 3rd place... There were 38 entries, not bad! Everyone requests having this chili now!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twirlingnut September 06, 2008

My search for the best chili is over! It was absolutely fabulous from the very first bite. We ate on this for 4 nights and never got tired of it! We left the seeds from the jalapenos in as we love super spicy foods. We will probably add a couple more jalapenos next time for our spicy taste but other than that we won't change anything. Anytime we want chili this will be the only recipe I whip out. Thank you for this awesome dish!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Loveydose April 03, 2008

well I didn't bother marinating the meat and this was still *fabulous* I added in 2 teaspoons chili flakes for even more heat and omitted the jalapeno juice, I used half ground beef and spicy Italian sausages along with the stew beef, WOW this was so good, and will go into my "keepers" folders, thanks for sharing this great chili recipe hon!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz February 13, 2008

This was sooo yummy!! I like the different meats, gives it a lot of texture. Although my stew meat ended up marinating for 30hrs as I got called out to a birth! So it was nice and spicy! I think the french onion soup adds to the beefy flavor. I used jarred sliced jalapenos and rotelle tomatoes in place of the green chilies and chopped tomatoes. I also made this in my 22qt roaster and froze lots of it! It freezes and reheats wonderfully!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cuistot February 12, 2008

I made this today for a friend who loves chili and spicy food. I did modify it a bit. I used the entire can of french onion soup. I added a can of enchilada sauce and a squirt of ketchup. I used 4 jalapenos. The first 3 I chopped very fine and used them to mariande the stew meat with the onion powder, garlic powder and some very hot sauce (its a private label that was a gift). I only marianted for about 40 minutes though, not overnight. I used an entire pound of the hot breakfast sausage links which I removed the skins and crumbled. I added the other jalapeno to the onion, bell peppers, garlic and cumin mixture and browned the ground beef (1 1/3 lbs) with it. For the 3 tablespoons of chili powder - I used 1 tablespoon dark chili powder, 1 tablespoon ancho chili powder and 1 tablespoon chipolte chili powder. I put in about a tablespoon of tabasco and 1/2 tablespoon of the other hot sauce. It came out great!! I will definitely make it again. Lots of heat but not too much and wonderful flavors. I think I have found my signature chili. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kirstin C November 24, 2007

i made this as part of a chli extravaganza tonight lol - this was dbf's choice. Ive been having trouble keeping him out of it so i will have to make the cornbread soon - but the reviews allready in on this one! i pretty much cut the recipe in 1/3 - i skipped the stew meat and just used sausage and hamburger - i used diced tomatoes with jalapenos allready in it so i wouldnt have to buy them. followed the rest as in except no kidney beans - i tried a tiny bite and it definatly had fire! thanks karen - i might have to make your recipe for him forever now lol

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle September 09, 2007

mmmmmmmmmmmm chili

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Reign_of_Chaos July 29, 2007
Chile Lovers Spicy Three Meat Chili