Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chile Lovers Spicy Three Meat Chili Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chile Lovers Spicy Three Meat Chili

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 24, 2002

      Some like it HOT some like it COLD some like it....WOW was this HOT and I did not add the jalapeno juice or Tabasco sauce! But is it ever good and thick! Three out of five of us could eat it this hot. I'll make this one again using one jalapenos pepper. It cost a little over $11.98 to make not adding in the spices, onion, bell pepper or celery. Thanks Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      The heat was just perfect as expected. I also liked the consistency of the chili, not too thick, not too thin and the taste was impressive. Since this was my first time making chili, I did not modify the recipe, and it was a success. Served mine with corn bread and a salad. A perfect meal for a relax weekend. Thanks for sharing your recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      This is really good chili. I followed the recipe almost to the letter. The only changes made are as follows: I marinated the stew meat in a puree of jalapeños along with the garlic and onion powders. Karen uses the liquid from canned jalapeño. I really didn't expect the marinating to have much of an effect on the final product but when I bit into the stew meat I could actually taste the jalapeño. That was a pleasant surprise. The recipe calls for 1 TBS of cayenne. I found what I thought was my cayenne in my cupboard in a jar. But it was really a variety of red pepper from India. I now remember when I bought it that it was several times hotter than ground cayenne peppers and it was reflected in the final dish. It wasn't too hot for me or my young son but my daughter had a little trouble with it. I also had to add a cup of water a couple of times as it cooked to keep it from drying out. The final dish was just thick enough with lots of chile, tomato, and meat flavor. It's not what I would call very hot chili but it was pretty spicy, probably because of the hotter ground red pepper I used. I'm a chile lover and ultra-hot foods don't bother me at all. The changes I'd make are as follows: I like beans so I'd double the amount. But I prefer either pinto beans or even better are black soy beans. The kidney beans are a little too soft and the skins too thick. I'd also add at least double the amount of stew meat. The other ground meats were perfect. I might add about 1/2 can less tomato sauce. This is the first non-baking recipe that I've followed to the letter in many years. I'm glad I did and if I keep the recipe exactly like it is without my proposed changes it would be a great bowl of chili again. The chili I make from scratch doesn't follow any written recipe and it has fewer veggies, (just onions and garlic) and I just use crushed tomatoes. I also use a blend of ground dried California, New Mexico, and Pasilla chiles in a larger quantity. It has a more pure chile flavor. I use beef broth instead of the onion soup. I like beans in my chili but I don't add them until later in the cooking so that they won't get so soft. I also make my beans from scratch, usually. Finally, while this was one of the best chili recipes I ever had, (I still like mine a little better) it's not what is commonly known as, "Chile Colorado". Karen has graciously offered me the chance to rename this chili. I have to think about this one. Thank you for this excellent chili recipe, Karen!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2013

      Full of flavor and the different meats really were a hit when I made this for a gathering. Lots of options for small tweaks that work well, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2013

      I made this chili for my workplace's annual Christmas chili cook-off. I had never made this chili before but the recipe looked really great so I tried it. Wouldn't you know...I won the thing. There were 16 entries and this one took the trophy. I made a few minor modifications like substituting ground venison for the ground beef and using "heaping" tablespoons of the spices rather than exact tablespoons. The chili turned out thick, robust, and nice and hot. I will definitely make this again and keep it towards the front of my recipe binder. Thank you Karen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2013

      This chili was amazing. My nine year old son and I entered a chili cook off at my church with it and won 2nd place out of about 30 entries. It was the first time we had ever made chili without using a McCormick packet. It packs plenty of heat, but the flavor was unmatched.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2013

      I have used this recipe for the past 3 years and just now getting around to posting a review. I love it and everyone that has had it loves it. I just won our town's chili cook off with it last weekend!! I followed it exactly (except I made 5 gallons of it) and it turned out amazing. Everyone complimented on it and wanted the recipe. This is my go to recipe for chili!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2013

      I have this chile 2 x now & everybody loves it!! Made per recipe. I had someone ask for recipe. Thanks Karen From Colorado!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2010

      Excellent chili. Made half a recipe and used black beans, hot Italian sausage and pork cubes. Marinating the pork made a big difference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      Awesome recipe and I don't usually like chili. I have made it several ways which include substituting ground turkey for ground beef, using lean beef, and changing out the breakfast sausage for lowfat chicken sausage. I reduced the amount of "spicy ingredients" because my daughter doesn't like it too hot. I just have them available on the side for other family members to add in if desired. Also, I strongly suggest using italian sausage instead of breakfast sausage. Much better flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2009

      Great recipe - Just finished cooking up 6 Zaar Chili Recipes for my upcoming 50th b/d party and this recipe rocks. I doubled the recipe using 1 lb lean hamburger and 1 lb moose hamburger, only 3 jalapenos and 1 lb hot italian sausage meat plus 1 lb pork stew meat and 1 lb beef stew meat. I skipped the marinating part because I didn't have jalapeno juice and halved the hot spices as my girls were finding all the chilis too hot and wanted a couple recipes with less heat. Also added only 1 can of red kidney beans. I believe this recipe will be the favorite of the 6 as it is my fav!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      Again this chili is an award winner in a chili cook off. I made this for a cook off at work and took third place. I used pork stew meat instead of the pound of hamburger. I will be making this for our next family gathering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2008

      I made this recipe for our Chili Cook Off here at work, and won First Place!! It turned out very meaty, and thick. The only change I made was I doubled the amount of stew beef, and used a jar of chopped jalapenos instead of fresh. Excellent flavor, will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2008

      I found this recipe back in Jan of 2008. I cooked it for our Church's competitive Chili Cook-off... After following the recipe to a "T", we won 3rd place... There were 38 entries, not bad! Everyone requests having this chili now!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      My search for the best chili is over! It was absolutely fabulous from the very first bite. We ate on this for 4 nights and never got tired of it! We left the seeds from the jalapenos in as we love super spicy foods. We will probably add a couple more jalapenos next time for our spicy taste but other than that we won't change anything. Anytime we want chili this will be the only recipe I whip out. Thank you for this awesome dish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2008

      well I didn't bother marinating the meat and this was still *fabulous* I added in 2 teaspoons chili flakes for even more heat and omitted the jalapeno juice, I used half ground beef and spicy Italian sausages along with the stew beef, WOW this was so good, and will go into my "keepers" folders, thanks for sharing this great chili recipe hon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2008

      This was sooo yummy!! I like the different meats, gives it a lot of texture. Although my stew meat ended up marinating for 30hrs as I got called out to a birth! So it was nice and spicy! I think the french onion soup adds to the beefy flavor. I used jarred sliced jalapenos and rotelle tomatoes in place of the green chilies and chopped tomatoes. I also made this in my 22qt roaster and froze lots of it! It freezes and reheats wonderfully!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2007

      I made this today for a friend who loves chili and spicy food. I did modify it a bit. I used the entire can of french onion soup. I added a can of enchilada sauce and a squirt of ketchup. I used 4 jalapenos. The first 3 I chopped very fine and used them to mariande the stew meat with the onion powder, garlic powder and some very hot sauce (its a private label that was a gift). I only marianted for about 40 minutes though, not overnight. I used an entire pound of the hot breakfast sausage links which I removed the skins and crumbled. I added the other jalapeno to the onion, bell peppers, garlic and cumin mixture and browned the ground beef (1 1/3 lbs) with it. For the 3 tablespoons of chili powder - I used 1 tablespoon dark chili powder, 1 tablespoon ancho chili powder and 1 tablespoon chipolte chili powder. I put in about a tablespoon of tabasco and 1/2 tablespoon of the other hot sauce. It came out great!! I will definitely make it again. Lots of heat but not too much and wonderful flavors. I think I have found my signature chili. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      i made this as part of a chli extravaganza tonight lol - this was dbf's choice. Ive been having trouble keeping him out of it so i will have to make the cornbread soon - but the reviews allready in on this one! i pretty much cut the recipe in 1/3 - i skipped the stew meat and just used sausage and hamburger - i used diced tomatoes with jalapenos allready in it so i wouldnt have to buy them. followed the rest as in except no kidney beans - i tried a tiny bite and it definatly had fire! thanks karen - i might have to make your recipe for him forever now lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2007

      mmmmmmmmmmmm chili

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chile Lovers Spicy Three Meat Chili

    Serving Size: 1 (438 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 604.6
     
    Calories from Fat 319
    52%
    Total Fat 35.5 g
    54%
    Saturated Fat 11.9 g
    59%
    Cholesterol 162.6 mg
    54%
    Sodium 1896.8 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 22.2 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 6.4 g
    25%
    Sugars 12.1 g
    48%
    Protein 51.7 g
    103%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    jalapeno juice

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes