Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chile Con Queso (Melted Cheese Dip) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chile Con Queso (Melted Cheese Dip)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on June 06, 2009

      This wasn't bad, but it didn't have as much cheese taste as I like to have. Made for the Epicurean Queens ZWT5: Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This is great :) I used can diced chilies but another time I'll try with jalapeno. I didn't have heavy cream, so I used whole milk and added a little bit of low-fat cream cheese to give more texture and thickness. I used white cheddar cheese (low-fat). It was really good. I'll do it again :) Thanks Heydarl :) Made for the Saucy Senoritas of ZWT5

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2009

      YUMMY! This is a keeper for sure. The only thing I did differently is I roasted my red bell peppers first, which brought out some sweetness in them. I think next time I make it I will try Chef*Lee's suggestion of adding some well-drained Ro-Tel. Made for ZWT5 '09 for a fellow Hell's Kitchen Angels team mate. Thanks Heydarl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2009

      Oh, goodness, so many of my favourite things in one recipe. Cheese, cream, red peppers... I made this for a drinks and nibbles evening I had with some friends and this went down a treat. I used a lovely local cheddar and a fresh chili pepper and served it with home made tortilla chips, crudites and fresh bread. So yummy and so decadent. I'll definitely be making this again. Thanks for sharing - made for ZWT5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2009

      Heydarl,,,Absolutely phenomenal!!!!!!!!! 100 stars!!!! I am so thrilled with this recipe!!!!! I love that this dip has some oomph to it, lots of chunky onion and green chile in each bite. I diced my onions very very small and I think that is really a key thing to do and I salted and peppered them after they had cooked down a little bit. I used most of the can of a drained 7 ounce size of green chiles because I love green chiles! I tempered the cream a little at a time into the mixture to keep it from curdling. I used the longhorn cheddar and it melted up just wonderfully!!! I think this is a wonderful base recipe for cheese dip, I could see adding a well-drained can of Ro-tel tomatoes for some spicy tomatoes and red color to go with the green!! Or even a type of sausage!!! I also love that this doesn't make a huge vat of dip, just the right amount to get about 4 people a good amount of appetizer!! I am not a big fan of Velveeta or any processed ingredients so this recipe really is wonderful to me!!!! Thank you so much for starting my New Year's 2009 party off with a bang!!!! UPDATE: I made another batch this time using 2 very well drained (10oz) cans Ro-tel original. I put one can Ro-tel in with a little oil in place of the onions to get the heat going so the cheese would melt. I let them heat up then I added my other can and tempered the cream into that. Added my cheese and it turned out wonderfully!! Five-hundred times better than yucky Velveeta and faster and easier too!!! Thanks for a real winning recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2008

      This was surprisingly different. We enjoyed it on top of tamales. I used diced poblano instead of green chilies, and it was still good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      The basics of this recipe is great, it makes a very creamy queso but for our taste it definitely needs more heat. Next time I will add a couple of jalapeno's in addition to the peppers the recipes already calls for. Of course we are in Texas and that maybe just our tastes. Thanks for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2007

      This made a yummy dip! I browned the onions a little too much, but it didn't matter. Thanks! Made by a fellow floozie for ZWT3!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      So creamy and good. I did kick it up with a jalapeno added with the can chilies. This would be great on tacos, in a wrap or on burgers Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chile Con Queso (Melted Cheese Dip)

    Serving Size: 1 (144 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 196.7
     
    Calories from Fat 142
    72%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 7.7 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 37.8 mg
    12%
    Sodium 349.6 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.5 g
    10%
    Sugars 4.3 g
    17%
    Protein 6.3 g
    12%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites