8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is my first review! I rely on reviews but never write them...Followed exactly, came out wonderfully, much better than the mix I used to make. We have been eating these for the past 8 months. My husband hesitant at first to eat canned meat (me too) but now I'll be doing it like this from now on.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
elisia777 October 07, 2009

I canned this once, making some adjustments, and am making it again today. It's very good! I used more beans (5 cups dry: 3 cups pinto and 2 cups red) and less meat (only 1.5 pounds). I subbed 1 Tbsp. dried onion for the freshly chopped and 2 heaping Tbsp. of chili powder. Yummy! Thanks for sharing the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mommaofmany January 02, 2011

I have just made this it is great I beleive it is the best chili from a jar I have ever had. added more tomatoes and liquid no need to thicken

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Polly August 26, 2008

I just pulled this out of my canner. It smells wonderful, I can't wait to try it. It was so easy to make also. Thanks for a great recipe! I will be canning this again very soon now that the weather is turning cold.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
children from A to Z November 08, 2006

This was delicious! I've now taken it to work for a week straight and am still not sick of it. Thanks for posting, will definately repeat this one!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mlebagley May 04, 2006

I made this recipe for the first time last night. It made 10 pints, 8 of which I was able to can. Next time I plan on reducing the salt by at least half and maybe switching out some hot peppers for chili powder. It was excellent for using up the last of last year's canned chicken stock (in place of water for beans) and tomatoes. I want to say the cost works out to ~$2.00/pint if I were purchasing the ingredients specifically for this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coraniaid July 30, 2014

This recipe is easy to follow and everything went as expected. I did half chili and half pinto beans. I also did half crushed and half whole tomatoes. I substituted turkey for half the meat and used all 6 Tablespoons of organic chili powder.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gretchen G. March 24, 2014

I canned this and it turned out perfect. I'm canning more. This is a quick meal on nights that I don't feel like cooking after work.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paudarco July 15, 2012
Chile Con Carne (Canning)