17 Reviews

Moxie, incredible recipe! Incredible! My husband and I LOVED it! He actually said that it was "the single best thing I've ever made." Can you believe it? I've been cooking for him for 14 years, lol! I had to put it away to stop him from eating the whole pan. I did as you suggested and elevated it to sublime using canarygirl's chicken verde, Chicken Verde. This os so esay to make, but the flavor is outstanding. Next time, (and there will be many, many more times making this) he was thinking I should try 2 layers. I guess he wants more of a good thing, lol! Thanks Mox, for sharing this recipe!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ciao August 12, 2003

My family loved this, Moxie! We really enjoy these types of casseroles, very comforting and this one has a nice spice from the tomatillo sauce and creaminess from the sour cream. I used a whole roasted chicken that I purchased at the local grocer and I really liked the roasted flavor it added and the ease of prep. Another keeper, thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Denise! August 04, 2003

We loved this dish for our Mexican night with refried beans and rice... My BF loves Mexican food b/c it's his excuse to use LOTS of sour cream so I figured he would love this recipe... I was getting tired of beef soft tacos ( his fave) but really wanted something with lots of spice. I also used Chicken Verde for the chicken. It really made the casserole outstanding. I could not find any green tomatillo sauce in cans so I made up a batch of my own tomatillo chile salsa instead. I also had to substitute some oaxaca and monterrey jack for the chihuahua cheese since my store was out. Since I was cooking for only 2, I used a square 9x9" baking dish and just cut down on all the ingredients slightly. Flavors were bright and spicy...not too heavy at all...and so easy to put together. Thanks for sharing!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
atlfitgirl August 04, 2007

Great recipe loved by all. Used Herdez brand green salsa for the green tomatillo sauce as this was the closes I could get. I always have left over chicken from school sandwiches so I will be making this often. The only problem that I had was I did not make enough & family complained. Thank you Moxie.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kit^..^ty Of Canada April 28, 2004

This recipe was fantastic! My entire family loved it. I used some seasoned pork I had left over from making tamales in place of the chicken and I used pepper jack cheese because that's what I had on hand. My family has already requested that I make this dish again soon.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tunnia May 19, 2014

We loved it! I used Canary Girl's recipe for Chicken Verde as suggested by another reviewer and it turned out great! My DGC have asked me to make it for them when they come to sleep over again, so it's a winner with them too!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImKerri August 31, 2011

I did this with leftover pork and it was fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Beckman May 30, 2010

Really good use of chicken from Kittencal's chicken stock! My dd,12, gave 5 stars, dh gave 3 stars, but liked it more when he added tomato salsa. I gave it 4 stars. I like the subtle salsa verde flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mksmith November 08, 2009

I am allergic to chicken and lactose intolerant so this recipe was not for me and it was TORTURE making it because it looked and smelled sooooo good. I made it for my husband and asked him on a scale on 1-5 how he would rate it and he said A SIX! So its definitely a keeper! PS - I also used the chicken from the Chicken Verde recipe. Made for my parents as well and they raved and asked for me to make it again anytime!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
piranhabriana December 10, 2007

Good Lord this was good! I did use the recipe for Canarygirl's Chicken Verde as suggested in the description and this was just out of this world. I sprinkled cilantro and onion on top.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Robyn~ December 20, 2006
Chilaquiles with Chicken