Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chilaquiles with Chicken Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chilaquiles with Chicken

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on August 12, 2003

      Moxie, incredible recipe! Incredible! My husband and I LOVED it! He actually said that it was "the single best thing I've ever made." Can you believe it? I've been cooking for him for 14 years, lol! I had to put it away to stop him from eating the whole pan. I did as you suggested and elevated it to sublime using canarygirl's chicken verde, Chicken Verde. This os so esay to make, but the flavor is outstanding. Next time, (and there will be many, many more times making this) he was thinking I should try 2 layers. I guess he wants more of a good thing, lol! Thanks Mox, for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      My family loved this, Moxie! We really enjoy these types of casseroles, very comforting and this one has a nice spice from the tomatillo sauce and creaminess from the sour cream. I used a whole roasted chicken that I purchased at the local grocer and I really liked the roasted flavor it added and the ease of prep. Another keeper, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2007

      We loved this dish for our Mexican night with refried beans and rice... My BF loves Mexican food b/c it's his excuse to use LOTS of sour cream so I figured he would love this recipe... I was getting tired of beef soft tacos ( his fave) but really wanted something with lots of spice. I also used Chicken Verde for the chicken. It really made the casserole outstanding. I could not find any green tomatillo sauce in cans so I made up a batch of my own tomatillo chile salsa instead. I also had to substitute some oaxaca and monterrey jack for the chihuahua cheese since my store was out. Since I was cooking for only 2, I used a square 9x9" baking dish and just cut down on all the ingredients slightly. Flavors were bright and spicy...not too heavy at all...and so easy to put together. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2004

      Great recipe loved by all. Used Herdez brand green salsa for the green tomatillo sauce as this was the closes I could get. I always have left over chicken from school sandwiches so I will be making this often. The only problem that I had was I did not make enough & family complained. Thank you Moxie.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2014

      This recipe was fantastic! My entire family loved it. I used some seasoned pork I had left over from making tamales in place of the chicken and I used pepper jack cheese because that's what I had on hand. My family has already requested that I make this dish again soon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2011

      We loved it! I used Canary Girl's recipe for Chicken Verde as suggested by another reviewer and it turned out great! My DGC have asked me to make it for them when they come to sleep over again, so it's a winner with them too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2010

      I did this with leftover pork and it was fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Really good use of chicken from Kittencal's chicken stock! My dd,12, gave 5 stars, dh gave 3 stars, but liked it more when he added tomato salsa. I gave it 4 stars. I like the subtle salsa verde flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      I am allergic to chicken and lactose intolerant so this recipe was not for me and it was TORTURE making it because it looked and smelled sooooo good. I made it for my husband and asked him on a scale on 1-5 how he would rate it and he said A SIX! So its definitely a keeper! PS - I also used the chicken from the Chicken Verde recipe. Made for my parents as well and they raved and asked for me to make it again anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2006

      Good Lord this was good! I did use the recipe for Canarygirl's Chicken Verde as suggested in the description and this was just out of this world. I sprinkled cilantro and onion on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2006

      It doesn't get easier than this! My kids loved it and are already asking me to make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2004

      Moxie, YUM YUM! Just finished eating this for dinner and there wasn't much left! I think I put too much sauce on so the tortilla strips were a little soggy, but I scaled down the recipe for DH & I. Next time I'll use a little less sauce. DH said it was a "keeper" after eating two platefulls and requesting the leftovers for lunch. Thanks! This definitely goes in the "to make again" file.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2004

      Moxie, this dish was fantastic! I used Canarygirl's leftover chicken verde for the chicken as you suggested. To add a little extra spice for DH, I used Jalapeno Monterey Jack Cheese and gave him a side of diced fresh jalapenos to top it off. We both loved it and I will definitely be making this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2004

      Family all liked this one alot. Easy to make and fast. Couldn't find green tomatillo sauce but did find a mild green salsa MADE with green tomatillos. Don't know if it's the same thing, but it still went over well. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2004

      Very easy to make and very tasty! I used CG's Chicken Verde as suggested-yum! I also used flour tortillas instead of corn (I don't really care for the corn tortillas), but they were a little soggy-obviously my own fault. It was still very good though! Thanks for a great recipe, Moxie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2004

      YUM! What a great recipe, Mox! It was sooo easy to put together too! I had to substitute corn tortilla chips for the strips, as I was unable to find corn tortillas here, but I think the flavor was similar to what it would have been (and less work too hehe). I did add a few chopped green onions after baking, chopped cilantro would have been good too. Thanks for a great recipe Moxie!! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2004

      Moxie, this was fabulous! Big hit. I cheated, though and didn't fry my own chips (game night). Next time, I'l make my own, I promise!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chilaquiles with Chicken

    Serving Size: 1 (115 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.1
     
    Calories from Fat 136
    58%
    Total Fat 15.2 g
    23%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 84.7 mg
    28%
    Sodium 177.3 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.7 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 21.6 g
    43%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    corn tortilla strips

    green tomatillo sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites