Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Holiday Central >

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Top Holiday Finger Foods

    Do You See What I See? #PartyBites
    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    28 Ultimate Holiday Desserts

    You Saved Room For a Reason
    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    DIY Holiday Food Gifts

    57 Homemade Gifts From The Kitchen
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chiffonade of Brussels Sprouts with Bacon & Hazelnuts Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chiffonade of Brussels Sprouts with Bacon & Hazelnuts

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 09, 2004

      This was just perfect! My bacon was a little lean, so I did add a little olive oil to the bacon fat. I used toasted pecans instead of hazelnuts. I would just love to serve this at a dinner party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2004

      Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful. I've made this twice now and LOVED it both times. So easy, and so quick! The first time, I used pecans instead of hazelnuts, as I had them on hand, and the second time I made it as directed. I actually preferred the pecans! I also added a splash of balsamic vinegar at the end, just to offset the richness of the nuts and bacon. Delightful dish, it's going on my Thanksgiving menu next year!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2004

      LOVE THIS. It is the perfect way to get the Brussel sprouts-haters to eat them. I agonized over what the "coarse shredder" disc was with my cuisinart: the cheese-grater one or the slicer that has all the little grids like a very tiny french fry thingy (trying to describe). I tried a few sprouts with both and find no difference in chiffonade size, so I guess I was sweating for nothing. I will say that I had not enough fat to make the dish "wet" enough so I added a couple of pats of butter at the end -- so sue me. Next time, more bacon! ;-) mmm, bacon. Oh, and I went with pecans too -- I'm just not the type of cook to have hazelnuts on hand; pistachios, almonds, walnuts, pecans, even pine nuts, but no hazelnuts. Still Adore!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2003

      Please don't use bacon bits in this recipe. The small amount of bacon this recipe uses gives the brussel sprouts a nice, smoky flavor. Bacon bits tend to add an odd chemical flavor that accentuates the natural bitterness in brussel sprouts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2003

      Very good. I used butter instead of bacon fat because I only had (real) bacon bits on hand. I'm sure the bacon fat route is better:) Don't be afraid to add a splash of white wine to round out the flavors. Definitely a nice way to serve brussel sprouts.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2012

      This was absolutely delicious! I added extra bacon and some truffle oil after cooking. Incredible! Thanks, I'll be making this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2004

      I made this for Christmas dinner. I added more bacon fat and bacon as suggested by others. It was good, but I think next time I would add balsamic as was suggested by Tracy K. It just needed a little something and the balsamic or even a spash of lemon juice would do it. I will definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2004

      This was okay but not spectacular. I found my bacon did not produce enough fat for the amount of sprouts (even though it was streaky, fairly fatty bacon) so next time I would add a couple extra strips. My sprouts also got quite dry so I had to add some extra olive oil and a bit of water. Next time I might try it with some sherry or white wine instead for an extra punch of flavour. I'm sure there are the makings of a fabulous recipe in here but as it is the taste of recipe didn't overly impress me. I did really like the way the sprouts stayed a nice vivid green -- the dish looked attractive on the plate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2004

      Made this last night for my Thanksgiving run-through for friends ,and it was a hit. My bacon was lean also, but I added a tad bit of olive oil to help along the sauteing. I used hazelnuts, and I thought they were perfect for this. thanks petitfour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2004

      My husband and I loved these brussel sprouts. I did find that my bacon was lean and didn't produce much fat for sauteing the shredded sprouts. I added a bit (probably less than a tablespoon) of chicken broth for added moisture. I also used pecans, as I didn't have hazelnuts on hand. The flavor was excellent. Next time, I will increase the bacon by a slice or two...this should provide sufficient fat and one can never have too much bacon, can they? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      I would recommend eliminating the salt as the salt from the bacon fat is sufficient. This dish did not dazzle me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chiffonade of Brussels Sprouts with Bacon & Hazelnuts

    Serving Size: 1 (125 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 107.9
     
    Calories from Fat 63
    58%
    Total Fat 7.0 g
    10%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 2.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 339.5 mg
    14%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.5 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 3.8 g
    15%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 4.5 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes