Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek)

    Average Rating:

    106 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 106

    Sort by:

    • on October 05, 2007

      It was great considering how easy and healthy it was. My boyfriend liked it more than I did

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2007

      I really liked this dish. I used some fresh chopped red pepper and used fresh basil instead of oregano. And for the lemon I used 1/2 green lime. Really great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2007

      I must admit that I had a momentary qualm when I set this on the table with just a loaf of fresh Armenian Peda bread and cantaloupe. However, it was a great success and even the kids who were a little dubious about the concept liked it. I used canned chickpeas (well-rinsed), and fresh tomatoes and spinach (just cook for a couple of minutes). Very tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2007

      Quick, easy, and satisfying. I think the addition of lots of fresh lemon juice takes this recipe from 4 to 5 stars. We really enjoyed this with some bread (I wish we'd had some feta, too...I bet it is delicious with this). Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I had some spinach to use up so made this with canned chick peas and tomatoes, just for convenience's sake. It has a nice combination of flavours and some crumbled feta on top is the finishing touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2007

      Simple and delicious. I used canned chic peas, fresh spinach and I actually used mild salsa since tomatoes were scarce. Added a little chick stock to make it saucier so I could serve it over brown rice. Next time I will make it with kale or swiss chard. Excellent! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2007

      SUPERB & SIMPLE! Very easy to make and wonderful tastes - kind of a "Greek Comfort Food!" Thanks for a great recipe - will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2007

      Mm-mm-mm! Delicious stuff! Adding feta really rounds out the taste. I halved the recipe with no problems, and unfortunately had to squeeze in bottled lemon juice as I forgot to buy lemons - I'm sure fresh juice would have made a great difference! Still, this turned out great and I will definitely make again! Thanks Ev!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2007

      This was really good. I left out the tomatoes, (don't care for them hot) and added some feta. Thank you, I would have never thought of this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      Delicious, simple, surprisingly tasty considering the basic ingredients. We used fresh spinach and I think it is essential. Thanks so much for sharing! We'll make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      I love chickpeas and I love this recipe. The fresh lemon at the end was a really nice touch. I started with a couple pieces of sliced bacon and cooked the onions in a little of the bacon fat instead of olive oil. I also wanted my chickpeas a little soupier so I added some chicken stock to the simmering sauce. We didn't have any feta so I freshly grated some parmeson after plating. It was yummy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2006

      This was easy and healthy, it doesn't get better than that. I used a half recipe and half of a bag of fresh spinach. I served it with garlic bread and some corn on the cob.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2006

      Wow, I really liked this! I enjoy chickpeas anyhow (usually cold in salads), but I was quite impressed with them hot. This was my side dish to your Greek Lemon Chicken and Potatoes last night. I used fresh tomato (I had plenty to use up), and I used one huge Vidalia onion rather than two medium onions. I don't know if I used exactly enough chickpeas because I didn't measure them out, but I had one large can of chickpeas in the pantry, so that's what went into the pot. Even the people in the house who usually shy away from things like chickpeas enjoyed this dish! Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2006

      Excellent dish! I used fresh spinach and it worked well. Nice flavor. I too, will add this to my regular rotation!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2005

      Delicious, quick, and healthy. The combination of chickpeas, tomato, and spinach was fantastic. The lemon juice really put this recipe over the top for me. It added such a fresh tang. I was in a hurry, so chopped the onion and garlic in the food processor, and when it was time to add the rest I also processed the tomatoes and spinach together (not too much) and added them to the pot. I only had a cup of fresh tomatoes, so added 1/2 cup of tomato sauce to the pot. I can't believe how quickly it all came together! Well, I just finished my second bowl... and I may go for one more. Delish!! Big thanks, Evelyn!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      Very nice dish. It had three of my most favorite ingredients: chickpeas, spinach and tomato. Didn't add feta (which I also love) but added a good sprinkling of salt to serve. This came out quite juicy (because as per recipe I defrosted spinach but did not drain), so I also served over rice which absorbed some of the juice. Also added salt when serving. Thanks Evelyn for a terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2005

      Good. Better when I sprinkled feta on top. I never would have thought of combining these things and glad I did. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      I used fresh spinach and, given that it's winter, canned tomatoes--a little more garlic, otherwise--followed the recipe--delicious, with the lemon and oregano combining to create a rich yet light taste. Next time. I'll serve it over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2005

      this was very good, and very healthy! i used cooked (from dried) chickpeas (leaving them on the crunchy side) and canned tomatoes. in the directions, you say to add pepper flakes, but they're not in the ingredient list. i added a little, but next time i will add more, as i couldn't detect the spiciness, and i think that would add to the dish nicely. i might try to add a little sweetness next time to balance the acidity of the tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2004

      I threw this together and have it simmering in less time than it took for my computer to go to its screen saver. I used tiny canned chick peas, a whole can of chopped tomatoes, as it seemed to want more moisture, and frozen spinach. I don't think it is going to cook for more than 20 minutes, and I tasted it already, heavenly, healthy and good. This is exactly what we all need after the holidays, and will be great warmed up at work. The feta is in the fridge waiting for it. This is not what I wanted to have for dinner tonight, but we may not be able to help ourselves, the house smells so good! Thanks for another simple winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek)

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    17%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 602.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites