108 Reviews

We liked this recipe, including my 4 and 2 year olds. I used cannd chickpeas, frozen spinach, and fresh tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ummrabiah November 25, 2010

Very tasty and flavorful! I am going to use fresh spinach next time. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dominick & Amanda July 24, 2010

This is a delicious vegetarian dinner. I used freshly cooked chickpeas, sun dried tomatoes and a mixture of farm fresh spinach and baby arugula. This was served over cooked pearl barley for a heart meal. Made for *ZWT6*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG June 13, 2010

Very good recipe - it tastes really good plus it's easy to make and healthy too! I served it over quinoa and it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie&Johnny May 31, 2010

I made this a few months ago for the first time and forgot to rate it. I made it with frozen spinach the first time, and it was much better the next time(s) with fresh spinach added towards the end as other users have said. It's actually just as yummy cold with bread as it was hot, which makes it great for skipping the line for the microwaves at work. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Laneydey May 07, 2010

I made a half recipe of this, but after carefully measuring 3/4 cup of tomatoes and looking in the can, I threw the last two little ones and the bit of juice in too. I was given fresh oregano, so used about a chopped tablespoon of it and a big pinch of dried as dried is much more aromatic I think. My one onion was quite large, so all in all, this made a huge amount for two but I plan to take the rest with us fishing tomorrow when we'll eat it cold for our lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS May 07, 2010

I hesitated while rating this...because for flavor it was really four stars, but when I thought back at how EASY this was and how the ingredients could be kept on hand at all times, WOW. Cheap, quick, easy, tasty--that's a recipe worth writing home about. Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dulcet Kitchen April 29, 2010

Just what I was looking for. Very filling, tasty, easy prep, and low-cost. I used canned tomatoes and juice of 1 lemon. Thanks for a delightful lunch.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratherbeswimmin' April 01, 2010

out of this world! i used fresh spinach i had on hand (which was only half the allotted amount), feta and bread, just as suggested. it was fantastic. i am definitely making this again! thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sutefani March 10, 2010

This was pretty good and is a keeper. I especially enjoyed making it with dried chickpeas I'd previously cooked and frozen; they had a firmer texture than the mush you usually get from canned chickpeas. I forgot about the lemon juice at the end, as well as the bread and feta, and it was just fine that way but am looking forward to having it with feta and bread, or perhaps over brown rice next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dawnatfernglen February 22, 2010
Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek)