Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek)

    Average Rating:

    108 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 108

    Sort by:

    • on February 25, 2012

      Delicious. I follow the recipe as is and occasionally forget the lemon. It always comes out yummy. Don't forget the salt; it really brings out all the flavors. We serve with ciabatta bread. Thanks for the awesome recipe - we eat this at least once a week!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      Easy and exactly my to my taste. Excellent even without the feta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2011

      Very flavorful! Made this to go along with some spanikopita I was serving. Due to dietary restrictions, I had to omit the lemon juice and the tomatoes, so I added the feta to the mixture to give the impression of acidity and it turned out well. Thanks for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Evelyn, I have had this recipe in my files since forever. Well a very long time. Together with pork chops, mashed sweet potato it was a very well rounded meal. I made it for dinner tonight since it has two of DS's favourite ingredients - chickpeas and tomatoes. It's such a lovely clean tasting dish, I can see it being repeated often. Due to being slack and not realising I was out of lemons, I had to leave those out, but I added a tbs of balsamic vinegar instead. So very delicious. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      This was easy and delicious! Good source of iron, and great with good bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2011

      Yummy, very healthful. Next time I would use less lemon juice...used two lemons and the lemon taste was a bit too overpowering - evelyn/athens does say she uses juice from 1.5 lemons. After 3 days the lemon taste has subsided a bit. Also think I used too much onion.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2011

      Excellent - hardy and filling too! I was surprised as others were that this was fully flavored. I served this on a chicken breast and topped with feta crumbles. I used fresh spinach (about 6 cups but there were no "real" tomatoes so I opted for canned. Those who like greek (and chickpeas) I highly recommend. Thank you so much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2011

      An easy vegan dinner! I brought 1 cup of dried chickpeas with a tea bag and bayleaf to a boil and left to soak overnight. Followed the recipe exactly--it was satisfying, fresh, and quick! I added a dallop of greek yogurt (not vegan anymore). I kept thinking how good I was being to my body by eating this, and will make this again very soon. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2011

      This was so good! I was skeptical at first because I'm not a big fan of chickpeas, but it came out great! Even the kids ate it (which says a lot for my picky eaters). I doubled the recipe for 2 dinners and we will be having the second batch next week if it lasts that long.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      YUM! I absolutely love this meal! It's so easy to make and tastes great. I plan to make a huge batch of this so I can have lots of leftovers.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2010

      We liked this recipe, including my 4 and 2 year olds. I used cannd chickpeas, frozen spinach, and fresh tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2010

      Very tasty and flavorful! I am going to use fresh spinach next time. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      This is a delicious vegetarian dinner. I used freshly cooked chickpeas, sun dried tomatoes and a mixture of farm fresh spinach and baby arugula. This was served over cooked pearl barley for a heart meal. Made for *ZWT6*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2010

      Very good recipe - it tastes really good plus it's easy to make and healthy too! I served it over quinoa and it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I made this a few months ago for the first time and forgot to rate it. I made it with frozen spinach the first time, and it was much better the next time(s) with fresh spinach added towards the end as other users have said. It's actually just as yummy cold with bread as it was hot, which makes it great for skipping the line for the microwaves at work. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      I made a half recipe of this, but after carefully measuring 3/4 cup of tomatoes and looking in the can, I threw the last two little ones and the bit of juice in too. I was given fresh oregano, so used about a chopped tablespoon of it and a big pinch of dried as dried is much more aromatic I think. My one onion was quite large, so all in all, this made a huge amount for two but I plan to take the rest with us fishing tomorrow when we'll eat it cold for our lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I hesitated while rating this...because for flavor it was really four stars, but when I thought back at how EASY this was and how the ingredients could be kept on hand at all times, WOW. Cheap, quick, easy, tasty--that's a recipe worth writing home about. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2010

      Just what I was looking for. Very filling, tasty, easy prep, and low-cost. I used canned tomatoes and juice of 1 lemon. Thanks for a delightful lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2010

      out of this world! i used fresh spinach i had on hand (which was only half the allotted amount), feta and bread, just as suggested. it was fantastic. i am definitely making this again! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      This was pretty good and is a keeper. I especially enjoyed making it with dried chickpeas I'd previously cooked and frozen; they had a firmer texture than the mush you usually get from canned chickpeas. I forgot about the lemon juice at the end, as well as the bread and feta, and it was just fine that way but am looking forward to having it with feta and bread, or perhaps over brown rice next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek)

    Serving Size: 1 (405 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 310.2
     
    Calories from Fat 55
    17%
    Total Fat 6.1 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 602.7 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 54.2 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 12.6 g
    50%
    Sugars 5.0 g
    20%
    Protein 13.3 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites