108 Reviews

We love this dish! My hubby is a vegetarian and I am always looking for easy vegetarian meals that make everyone happy :) The only think I do differently is I use fresh spinach as i do not like the taste of frozen spinach. Like many others I was thinking I was going to need to umph it up a little with more spice, so I had them ready but it was completely not needed. Perfect as is :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alydes August 26, 2011

Like other reviewers, I thought this recipe was very good. It is very simple, not a whole lot of prep. I used green onions instead of conventional ones, canned chickpeas and tomatoes, and frozen spinach. I served it over brown rice. I think it would be great in a pita pocket, too. Fiance loved it and expressed a desire for me to make it again.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lizz Clements June 09, 2010

YUMMY YUMMY YUMMY! This was just what I wanted. I did use 2 bags fresh spinach (what i had onehand) instead of frozen (i think this made it better!) Served with white rice.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimke January 30, 2004

I would recommend adding fresh tomatoes no more than 20 minutes before serving. Otherwise, fresh tomatoes will cook away. Also, I would think that the bigger the pieces of spinach, the better--for when you're selecting; use leaf spinach rather than chopped. It makes for a much prettier dish.

Updated: 24 October 2011
I was apprehensive, but this froze well for two months!
I was prepared to have the peas be mushy, but they were not.
I did use fresh chick peas, not canned.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kimber M. October 24, 2011

This made an excellent supper for us last night. I used 2 (14.5 oz) cans of chickpeas, and a heaping 1/2 tsp. of red pepper flakes. I also used 2 bunches of kale that I got at the farmer's market, but frozen spinach (or even fresh bagged spinach) would be even more convenient! I put in 2 tsp. of lemon juice at the end, and we sprinkled feta cheese on top. The seasonings were perfect, and the taste was really good. I picked up some sourdough bread to go with this. A great meal with stuff I almost always have in my pantry. This is a keeper. Thanks, Evelyn!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Greeny4444 August 19, 2011

Great dish! Nice and easy to prepare; reheats well. I sprinkled with the recommended feta cheese. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 29, 2011

Surprisingly tasty. It seemed kind of plain and boring so I wasn't convinced to make it, but it was really good. I would make it again. I made the garbanzos from dried and I think that made a big difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enigma256 August 09, 2010

I'm not really sure what happened. Made exactly as directed but my husband nor I enjoyed this dish. I served this with white rice and topped with feta cheese per other reviews. Thank God for the feta cheese, otherwise I don't think I could have eaten much. I'm very confused on the rave reviews?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
abouks October 02, 2014

I've made this recipe a couple times now for potlucks and I've been happy both times. This time I made it from dried chickpeas which I soaked 8 hours overnight and then cooked for two hours before making this recipe. (You still cook the chickpeas with the other ingredients for the length prescribed here.)<br/><br/>If people want more kick the recipe allows you to add red pepper flakes to taste so you can put more or less per your preference.<br/><br/>When I made it there was a lot of "soup" juice from the tomatoes and lemon (thus all the suggestions to serve over rice) so I tried to cook that down further so it would be easier to transport in a container that was not a bowl. Next time I will not do that because I think it made the spinach a little too wilty to cook it longer, although it still tasted good overall. (I had frozen spinach which I cooked in its bag in a boiling pot of water then an additional 7 minutes out of the bag with the other ingredients as instructed.) Other than that the recipe is very forgiving. You could have a little more or a little less of items and still have it come out okay.<br/><br/>This is a good comfort food and menu item basic. Not a wow recipe, but it's not a lot of work to make and provides a good source of protein that is filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Atkins July 28, 2014

THIS RECIPE IS WONDERFUL. I cut the recipe in half, used canned chickpeas, 1 bag fresh baby spinach, 1/4 of a small lemon and sprinkle with parmesan for an Italian dish. It was so delicious and I will be making this again. Next time I will definitely use the feta cheese and more lemon for the Greek flair. I would not serve this with anything but crusty bread as suggested. <br/>YUMMY, SUPER RECIPE. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dlyon2013 April 07, 2014
Chickpeas With Spinach (Greek)