Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpeas and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpeas and Rice

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on November 16, 2011

      So delicious! I halved the butter and oil, and I still adore this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2009

      Made this last night. I added a roasted red pepper and zucchini. I also used fresh oregano. It was very yummy and will now be added to our dinnier list as it was easy to make and very easy to alter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Quick, easy and so yummy. I cooked the rice in chicken broth to add more flavor. Of course, this renders the dish no longer vegetarian but does add a wonderful touch to the dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      Very good!!! I made this just as written and next time ---and there will definately be a next time --- I will add extra sun-dried tomatoes. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      This is absolutely delicious! I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this dish.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2014

      I really enjoyed this unique rice recipe, DH wasn't a fan. He didn't like the texture of the rice and chickpeas together. I would make it again for me and use less butter and add some veggies like mushrooms, onion and zucchini and serve it as a main dish. I think the recipe could be very flexible. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2013

      This was just ok. Strange mix of flavors, but I wanted to give it a try since everyone gave it such good reviews. Won't be making this again. We got rid of the leftovers, just not worth saving it. :/

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2013

      I follow this recipe to the nose except for the salt as my husband has high blood pressure. It was absolutely amazing and will be a regular staple in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2013

      We love this dish. I always add nearly a whole bunch of fresh asparagus, and a little extra cheese. I make this at least once a month. Before this dish I had never eaten chickpeas, except in hummus, and now I eat them all the time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2013

      Loved it! I made it as written, and then added sweet red pepper, green onion, and zucchini. Next time, I'll Also add mushrooms and maybe even shrimp. This is a great base recipe on which to build.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2011

      100% delicious. I found this recipe by searching for the two ingredients I knew I had: chickpeas and rice. I always have spices on hand so this a great recipe to try. I had to make a few substitutions though. I used 5min white rice instead of basmati. I didn't have parsley so I left it out, and I didn't have tomatoes so that was left out too (I cannot wait to try it with though!) It seems like a lot of spices, but oh my goodness, it is SO GREAT! I squeezed a little lemon juice just for a tang and because I love lemons. I was hesitant about the cheese, but it ended up binding everything together nicely. I used the full amount of butter and oil because those tend to make things taste more hearty. This will feed me for a few days, which is great because this is an inexpensive meal that is PACKED with flavor. I cracked open a bottle of white wine and felt gourmet, and all of this came from rice and chickpeas. Mmmm. Will be making this again often!

      I'm vegetarian, but this would be an excellent, easy, quick dish for a potluck or as a side with chicken. I would also consider putting white wine in with this dish in place of oil/butter, which I will try next time.

      Maybe as a suggestion, use a little less salt. The salt kind of overpowered everything after a few spoonfuls. The other spices make that amount of salt a little unnecessary. Maybe half the salt and more lemon :) Just my preference though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2010

      Great dish. The spices all worked really well and I love chickpeas, so that's a winner, too. I cut the oil and butter in half, and the recipe didn't specify, but I drained the chickpeas. I think I might leave some liquid in them next time. I used 3 tsp. dried parsley, just a shake of salt and several turns of fresh ground pepper. I didn't have sun-dried tomatoes, but I am excited to try it with them next time. I served this to 3 people, along with broccoli, as a side to baked fish. I'm happy I have enough for lunch tomorrow! Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Fabulous recipe! I cut back on the butter and oil and it still turned out wonderfully. Next time I will cut back on the salt as I found it a little too salty, and I will probably add more beans to the rice just to have a little more protien. Thanks for posting jkworth. Mar 23/10: I have made this recipie multiple times since I rated it and have started to use it as a way to use up leftover rice and it works wonderfully.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2010

    • on November 18, 2009

      This was excellent. We made it with olive oil instead of butter, substituted a little pasta sauce for our lack of sun-dried tomatoes, and used two cups' worth of brown rice instead of the basmati. We were also short on the parsley but I think it was as good that way. We also stirred in parmesan cheese on our plates since I have to be careful about my saturated fat; this way I could cut back on mine. The only other thing I would change for next time is using less pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      What a great recipe! It's so easy and loaded with flavor. I've never fried chickpeas, and I loved the resulting texture and flavor. The fact that your two-year-old loved it was a major selling point, and my three-year-old scarfed it down (which almost never happens - so THANKS!). I made this exactly as directed but used regular white rice instead of basmati. This has earned a plastic sleeve in my "Favorites" binder. Thanks for a keeper! :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2009

      As a recent college grad with a very limited budget, I'm always on the lookout for delicious recipes that can essentially come from the staples in my pantry. this totally fits the bill. I used brown basmati rice, feta instead of parm, and roasted some cherry tomatoes and onion in the oven instead of using sun dried tomatoes. amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2009

      Gee, I wish I found this recipe years ago! This was absolutely delicious and very easy to make. I reduced the butter and olive oil and used dry sun-dried tomatoes (and at least twice more than the recipe called for). Was this ever good. This was a vegetarian main dish for us, which I served with a salad. I'm going to make this a regular in our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      Great recipe!! Made exactly as written and LOVED it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I've made this several times and just realized I hadn't reviewed it. This is so good and quick and delicious!!! I've used it for a whole meal and as a side dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpeas and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (304 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 456.7
     
    Calories from Fat 162
    35%
    Total Fat 18.0 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 6.5 g
    32%
    Cholesterol 22.5 mg
    7%
    Sodium 1096.6 mg
    45%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 7.1 g
    28%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 12.6 g
    25%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes