Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Tunalike Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Tunalike Salad

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on September 07, 2012

      What a nice tuna salad substitute! I was initially concerned about the nori but it provides just the right amount of seafood flavor. Next time I might try to use olive oil vs. mayonnaise so I can serve this & even the vegan folks can enjoy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      Five stars for how easy and quick it is to prepare, three stars for taste. I am allergic to seaweed, so I couldn't add that to the dish. The dressing was good, but the chickpeas alone were not enough to balance it out. Perhaps had I gone with olive oil instead of mayo it would have been lighter. It is an easy and tasty dish to take to a picnic, but not something I would revisit. I'd probably choose a bean salad over this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      This made a fabulous lunch. Much better than tuna salad in my opinion. I actually didn't chop the beans as I was just eating it from a bowl. The only change I made was to add some finely chopped red pepper - and I didn't add the nori. It was attractive as well as delicious. Made for March 2009 Vegetarian Swap.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      This is really tasty. I used a couple of shallots for the onion, real mayonnaise and some diced sandwich pickle for the relish. I also used dried chickpeas that were cooked with some onion, garlic and bay leaves rather than canned chickpeas. The flavour is surprisingly tuna-like. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Very tasty! I enjoyed it both in a pita and as a chunky dip. I substituted dijon mustard and dried parsley, because that is what I had on hand. I felt like it needed a little bit more of a kick for my taste, so I also added garlic powder. Not being a vegan myself, I think next time I might add some diced hard-boiled egg whites and maybe some curry powder ... it seems to me it would all go well together!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Another GREAT recipe Sharon! I left out the pickle relish, used the Dijon mustard and followed the suggestion to add crushed toasted nori. I also added a little agave nectar to balance the tartness of the lemon since I wasn't using the relish. I was amazed at how tasty it was.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      I multiplied this recipe by 10 to make a "chickpea of the sea" salad sandwich for the cafe I cook at. I used dijon instead of brown mustard, and left out the relish. I used smoked paprika and added in a good handful of crushed toasted nori sheets. the finely diced celery and onion were important additions to the whole. We loved it. I served it in a spinach wrap with mesclun. Thanks for the inspiration, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2008

      Wonderful flavor and very easy recipe! I made this for my vegetarian daughter for lunch and we both loved it! I used a food processor to dice the onion and celery first then added the chick peas, the rest of the ingredients and pulsed to the consistency I wanted. I also used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo since my daughter likes that best. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. We will be making this often in both our homes from now on!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2008

      Everyone in my family loved this and has asked for it again for lunches. I love chickpeas and was thrilled that they loved it as well. A nice alternative for a sandwich. I would like to try this stuffed in tomato. I used olive oil mayo and dijion mustard and lots of pepper, thanks for sharing this recipe Sharon, one that we will enjoy often!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      Just like tuna salad! I used lime juice instead of lemon cause I didn't have any. I used regular mayo, dijon mustard and dried parsley and dill weed. I thought it was great, but my daughter thought is was just ok.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2008

      I made this for DH's lunch since he loves chickpeas but he told me that he did not like this sandwich. The only change I made was omitting the celery & adding tomato instead. I did use olive oil in place of the mayo. Sorry I couldn't rate it higher Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Love chickpeas but was my first time using it in a sandwich!! Added much more lemon juice and used dried parsley (next time will add fresh) - made for an easy tasty lunch! Thanks Sharon! ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Tunalike Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (578 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 294.4
     
    Calories from Fat 36
    12%
    Total Fat 4.0 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 1.8 mg
    0%
    Sodium 737.2 mg
    30%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 11.1 g
    22%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    brown mustard

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes