12 Reviews

What a nice tuna salad substitute! I was initially concerned about the nori but it provides just the right amount of seafood flavor. Next time I might try to use olive oil vs. mayonnaise so I can serve this & even the vegan folks can enjoy.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coraniaid September 07, 2012

Five stars for how easy and quick it is to prepare, three stars for taste. I am allergic to seaweed, so I couldn't add that to the dish. The dressing was good, but the chickpeas alone were not enough to balance it out. Perhaps had I gone with olive oil instead of mayo it would have been lighter. It is an easy and tasty dish to take to a picnic, but not something I would revisit. I'd probably choose a bean salad over this.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Valeria May 25, 2011

This made a fabulous lunch. Much better than tuna salad in my opinion. I actually didn't chop the beans as I was just eating it from a bowl. The only change I made was to add some finely chopped red pepper - and I didn't add the nori. It was attractive as well as delicious. Made for March 2009 Vegetarian Swap.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ranch-girl March 10, 2009

This is really tasty. I used a couple of shallots for the onion, real mayonnaise and some diced sandwich pickle for the relish. I also used dried chickpeas that were cooked with some onion, garlic and bay leaves rather than canned chickpeas. The flavour is surprisingly tuna-like. Thanks for sharing.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario October 29, 2008

Very tasty! I enjoyed it both in a pita and as a chunky dip. I substituted dijon mustard and dried parsley, because that is what I had on hand. I felt like it needed a little bit more of a kick for my taste, so I also added garlic powder. Not being a vegan myself, I think next time I might add some diced hard-boiled egg whites and maybe some curry powder ... it seems to me it would all go well together!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ErinCate October 10, 2008

Another GREAT recipe Sharon! I left out the pickle relish, used the Dijon mustard and followed the suggestion to add crushed toasted nori. I also added a little agave nectar to balance the tartness of the lemon since I wasn't using the relish. I was amazed at how tasty it was.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara's cooking again October 10, 2008

I multiplied this recipe by 10 to make a "chickpea of the sea" salad sandwich for the cafe I cook at. I used dijon instead of brown mustard, and left out the relish. I used smoked paprika and added in a good handful of crushed toasted nori sheets. the finely diced celery and onion were important additions to the whole. We loved it. I served it in a spinach wrap with mesclun. Thanks for the inspiration, Sharon!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Edlear September 23, 2008

Wonderful flavor and very easy recipe! I made this for my vegetarian daughter for lunch and we both loved it! I used a food processor to dice the onion and celery first then added the chick peas, the rest of the ingredients and pulsed to the consistency I wanted. I also used Miracle Whip instead of Mayo since my daughter likes that best. Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe. We will be making this often in both our homes from now on!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catwoman24102 August 19, 2008

Everyone in my family loved this and has asked for it again for lunches. I love chickpeas and was thrilled that they loved it as well. A nice alternative for a sandwich. I would like to try this stuffed in tomato. I used olive oil mayo and dijion mustard and lots of pepper, thanks for sharing this recipe Sharon, one that we will enjoy often!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Calee July 31, 2008

Just like tuna salad! I used lime juice instead of lemon cause I didn't have any. I used regular mayo, dijon mustard and dried parsley and dill weed. I thought it was great, but my daughter thought is was just ok.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sam #3 July 29, 2008
Chickpea Tunalike Salad