Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Salad With Cumin Vinaigrette Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Salad With Cumin Vinaigrette

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2009

      Definitely intense flavors. I love all the ingredients in this dish, so it is of no surprise that it was enjoyed. The only changes I made were to decrease cumin to 1 tsp, decreased the oil to 1 tsp (and didn't miss it), used a couple pinches of dried thyme instead of fresh (it's raining and I was too lazy to run out and pick me some LOL) and I omitted the salt (didn't miss it). I did add a pinch of sugar, as per another reviewers recommendation which was perfect. I felt the lemon and cumin (even though I only added 1 tsp) overpowered the dish a bit. I would consider making it again and decrease both those ingredients to sheer bliss! THanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2013

      Very flavourful! I only used the juice of 1/2 lemon and didn't miss more; I also omitted the salt as I felt the feta cheese would provide enough saltiness (it did!). Really good: I think you could easily use more chickpeas and tomatoes with the same amount of vinaigrette, and still have an incredibly flavourful salad. Oh nom! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2012

      Delicious and refreshing! This is even better the next day. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2011

      Excellent salad! It was similar to a roasted pepper hummus. I was all out of fresh garlic, parsley and thyme when I made it, but the dried worked fine since it sat overnight before I served it. I had requests for the recipe, which is always a good sign. I really liked the capers in it too. I'll be making this one again. Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2009

      This is delicious stuff. Very intensely flavored. I tossed the leftovers with some leftover pasta and had a wonderful lunch the next day. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2008

      This was great! I enjoyed the tartness and mix of flavors. There is a lot of dressing for this, so you could easily make less. Thanks for another yummy recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2008

      Delicious! We really loved the zinginess that the red pepper and cumin added to this salad. I used canned chickpeas, and because my family is not fond of feta, I substituted fresh grated Parmesan instead. Also, I added a pinch of sugar to cut the tartness a bit. This salad goes together very quickly and easily and is so full of flavor. Thank you for sharing this wonderful salad. *Made for ZWT*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2014

      I have a difficult time with "meat" proteins. I just think they are icky. JMO folks. Anyway, I made this with a little brown and wild rice (so it would make a complete protein) AND IT WAS AWESOME. Even my husband enjoyed it; he would normally prefer a filet. I'm thrilled I've also cut in some spinach (blanched) and broccoli at times. He belly-ached about that, oh well. Let him cook next time. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      Very nice, especially the cumin vinaigrette.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2012

      Followed recipe but didn't have fresh thyme so I subbed a little dried. Doubled recipe and took it to a burger cookout. It was a great side dish and a nice change from baked beans! Very flavorful and looked pretty as well. Will definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2011

      Light and refreshing flavor...very tasty! DH loved this!! We will definitely make this again. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      Really delicious -- love the tangy flavours. I doubled the recipe by using a can each of black beans and chick peas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Wow, this salad was wonderful! DH nearly ate the entire thing by himself... thankfully, there is just a smidge leftover which I plan to eat in a lettuce lined pita at lunch today. Beautiful colors in this salad which accents with the bright taste from the lemon just right. Made for ZWT6.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      Love this. All the flavours were intense and blended well together. The cumin vinaigrette was very flavourful and well-suited to this salad. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      I LOVE this salad! And I agree, you can't have too many chickpea salads, but this one will get many repeats. I roasted my own red pepper & used Roma tomatoes. I loved the feta cheese in this salad! Absolutely delicious, Kumsie, thanks for sharing it! :) Made & enjoyed for ZWT-6 Team Xtra Hot Dishes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2009

      OMG! This salad beats out every other chickpea salad I've ever had. I love that it's spicy! The tomatoe cuts the spicyness, the feta compliments the salad perfectly and the vinegrette is so flavorful. The only change I made was to leave out the capers. Made for Vegn Swap 8. I will make again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Mmmmmmmm. This was excellent! I had no capers, roasted peppers or feta, but I did cut up mozzarella and it went down very, very nice. I can't wait to see what it tastes like tomorrow after marinating!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      I was actually looking for a cumin vinaigrette to use as a salad dressing, since I was making enchiladas tonight, and decided to use the dressing part of this recipe. Minus the capers, since I'm not a fan of them, this worked perfectly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      Six hungry exchange students -- some vegetarian and some not -- inhaled a double batch of this sensational salad. They asked for it again the next day, and I was happy to oblige. Love the tartness. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2008

      DH enjoyed this for lunch today. He liked the spices in the salad. I did leave out the feta because he dislikes cheese. Made for ZWT 4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Salad With Cumin Vinaigrette

    Serving Size: 1 (175 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 388.0
     
    Calories from Fat 106
    27%
    Total Fat 11.8 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 3.8 g
    19%
    Cholesterol 16.6 mg
    5%
    Sodium 960.7 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.0 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    47%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 15.1 g
    30%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    roasted red peppers

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites