14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

What a delightful salad! I love chickpeas but am not a big fan of cumin; however, the spices were balances perfectly in this. I used a regular cucumber, tomatoes, and light green peppers that were all straight from the farm. The mint, walnuts, and feta really boosted this up, I think. I doubled the recipe and my DBF will be taking this to work for lunch all weeklong! Made by a Tasty Tester for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JackieOhNo! August 25, 2013

Delicious! I loved the combination of spices. I used a regular cucumber which was peeled and seeded prior to chopping. The salad was made a few hours before serving and refrigerated. The flavors blended beautifully. Made for ZWT9.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG August 19, 2013

Really yummy. I swapped zucchini for the cucumber because I like it a lot more, lol. The only other change was that I used a yellow pepper because I didn't have a green one. It's easy, very tasty and healthy. That combination equals a winning recipe in my book.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Annacia September 07, 2012

This sure is pretty to look at!!! I let the mixture marinate at room temperature for about 2 hours prior to serving and it still was a bit bland for my taste. I added some extra salt, some red wine vinegar and some Greek Seasoning to kick it up a bit. Used this in a wrap with some lettuce. Nice lunch!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JanuaryBride June 08, 2012

My son, who LOVES cumin wanted me to try this dish. Im not a fan of cumin as a prevailing flavor, but I didn't feel the cumin dominated this salad at all. It was just right. This is a great salad, fast to prepare and tastes great! I also crumbled the toasted pitas right into the salad. made for ZWT6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmIbrahim June 14, 2010

Super chickpea salad! The lemon and cumin compliment each other just right. I used fresh basil instead of mint and didn't add the feta. The toasty pitas made it fun for my DS to eat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brooke the Cook in WI June 27, 2009

Oh, this is an awesome salad! It strikes the perfect balance of flavors. I halved the cayenne and cumin for DH and used just a pinch of salt. I have made similar salads to this before, but they were never this good. I think the walnuts and small amount of feta add a nice touch. I can see why this made it into the best of ZWT and the best of 2008 game!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito March 07, 2009

Delicious! All of the flavors worked really well together. I made some minor changes: I reduced the cumin to 1.5 tsp, and will probably reduce it to 1 tsp next time. I subbed red pepper for the green. And I didn't have walnuts so didn't use any. I have saved this one in my book #237871.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
appleydapply February 05, 2009

DH enjoyed this salad for his lunch. I left out the feta cheese since he doesn't like it. The rest of the recipe was made as written. Made for Zaar Stars

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh January 17, 2009

I loved this salad, the crunch from the nuts and the creaminess from the cheese go so well together with the cumin dressing. I don't really like mint but added it anyway & found that mixed with the other spices it's hardly detectable. Great recipe, thanks Boomie!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Mandy** December 04, 2008
Chickpea Salad With Cumin and Lemon