Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Salad on Whole Wheat Pitas Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Salad on Whole Wheat Pitas

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on July 18, 2013

      I made this for lunch for my friend and I yesterday and it was SO good. My pitas were not whole wheat, but other than that, that was the only modification I made. Next time, I will make more yogurt because it was so tasty that we wanted to use it generously. I used a few dashes of hot pepper sauce versus a single dash. Not only was it extremely tasty, it was very easy to make. My friend asked for the recipe. This is going into my keeper file. Thanks for posting. Made for ZWT9.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2011

      I absolutely adore the addition of yogurt. I always make tzatziki so this was a welcoming change, and a way to use up the leftover yogurt. I added some quartered cherry tomatoes and celery, and served it with some grilled chicken (no pita). This was not only healthy but also satisfying and very tasty. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2006

      We really enjoyed this. Instead of putting the salad into the pitas, I plated it and served the pitas cut into wedges on the side - less mess that way. My husband said this is the kind of thing that he likes to eat for dinner in hot weather so we will have this often during the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2006

      Fantastic! Made as directed except for one change- used mixed bean sprouts instead of mixed baby greens. This is delish served on mini whole wheat pitas with non-fat yoghurt drizzled on top. Made it for lunch and could not wait to get home to eat some more. I will make this again and again for sure. Thanks for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2005

      Nice, light and healthy sandwich. I made half the recipe for the two of us. Next time, though, I would incease both the amount of stuffing (by a bit) and the dressing (double it). The dressing was very good but quite thick (I used Greek yogurt), so it didn't distribute well inside the pitas. You might want to mix half of it in with the chickpea mixture first. I'm not sure what an English cucumber is so I just used a regular seeded cucumber. I served with extra tabasco on the side. Thanks for this very tasty sandwich recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2005

      this was so flavorful and nutritious without any of the guilt. i was at a dead end about what to fix for a light dinner today, and this resolved that dilemma quite nicely. i did double the cumin in this one. we were eating this even as i was assembling it, so regrettably, i couldn't take a photo. but if you'll take my word instead, it's delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2004

      This is awesome! Truly GOOD! Thank you so much for a new quickie for our table!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Salad on Whole Wheat Pitas

    Serving Size: 1 (244 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 344.4
     
    Calories from Fat 57
    16%
    Total Fat 6.4 g
    9%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 664.8 mg
    27%
    Total Carbohydrate 63.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 10.1 g
    40%
    Sugars 2.0 g
    8%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    mixed baby greens

    Greek yogurt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites