11 Reviews

Fabulous! Absolutly delish! Not your typical chick pea recipe. This recipe mixes the very hearty chickpea with the very light and refreshing taste of mint and cilantro. Bringing together these 2 elements is a touch of balsamic vinegar to balance these wonderful flavors to perfection!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mimi Bobeck January 25, 2003

This salad is a winner! So easy to make and the flavor combo is great. Even better on day two!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Wish I Could Cook November 12, 2012

This was particularly tasty the next day with some feta cheese! I love chick pea salads and can never get enough :) Had leftovers for breakfast, heh heh. Chopping took me more like 20 minutes though, and the local stores had no fresh mint, so I used dried. 1/2 cup EVOO seemed like way too much, so I reduced that to a small fraction and upped the balsamic vinegar to 2 tablespoons (personal preference). Thanks Rita!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kumquat the Cat's friend January 13, 2010

Jan 5, 2010: I really enjoyed this salad for a light dinner today. It has a lovely combination of flavours and especially the parsley is very yummy with all the veggies. I would have liked it to have more chickpeas in it, though and found that two cloves of garlic were a little overpowering. Maybe Ill roast them next time. Oh, and I reduced the oil considerably, which didnt harm the recipe in my opinion. All in all this is a nice salad, that I will definitely add to my salad routine. THANKS SO MUCH for sharing your lovely recipe with us, ~Rita~! Made and reviewed for Veggie Swap #18 January 10. Jan 7, 2010: Now I know why I didnt feel the salad had enough chickpeas. The amount listed when making the recipe said a 2 ounce can instead of 20. lol Ive changed my rating upwards now.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula January 07, 2010

I loved this dish. i didnt have cilantro, but the flavor was great anyway. I wish i would have had fresh roma tomatoes to add and little parmesean cheese. I will try that next! This is a keeper. thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bierykbjb February 24, 2009

I made this for a buffet lunch I was catering and it was a big hit. I doubled the amount of chickpeas, and there was still plenty of dressing, I didn't need to increase it at all. For the herbs, I only used cilantro since that's what I had, and it was fine.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sonia September 28, 2008

A very simple, tasty recipe - and colourful too! However, I found the 1/2 cup olive oil to be quite overwhelming. I think that 3-4 tablespoons would be more than enough.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KrabKokonas July 08, 2007

Excellent, simple and tasty. Loved the blend of flavours and the vinaigrette. I made this as a salad yesterday, but enjoyed the remainder today, drained of the vinaigrette, in a toasted pita 'wrap' with a bit of yoghurt.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens September 10, 2006

This is such a simple and tastey recipe! The flavors are perfect! Followed the recipe except for the mint (no fresh mint) Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katie in the UP October 19, 2005
Chickpea Salad