Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Salad

    Average Rating:

    8 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-8 of 8

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2004

      This was quite tasty. The dressing is tangy and spicy, but it's tempered by the coolness of the cucumber and the mild chickpeas. Modifications: I used half of an onion, which seemed to be a perfect amount. I also used bulk chickpeas - I 14 oz. can is equal to abotu 1.5 cups of prepared chickpeas (slightly more then 3/4 cups dry). If you're going to use dry chick peas, soak them overnight, boil them for about an hour, drain and let cool before using. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as listed. Tangy, spicy, delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      What a great salad! The lemongrass, ginger and chili really make this pop with flavor. I only left the sugar out (personal preference).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2010

      This is a fab recipe! I love the dressing beautiful flavours. You are right, I almost finished the whole lot by myself! I couldn't get hold of lemongrass so had to leave it out, used lemon instead of lime and used half an onion instead of the whole. Absolutely delicious! Thanks, JustJanS, for sharing this fab recipe, definitely will be making it over and over again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2008

      Thanks for a great recipe! Simple and delicious! I will definitely be making it again with maybe just a quick squeeze of lime this time. :D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2007

      Fabulous recipe...great mix of flavours with the lemon grass and mint. Definatly will be making it over and over. I added in some grated carrots and a diced sweet yellow pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2005

      Very fresh and tasty - I loved the combination of flavours! Made a double batch but only used 1 red onion as per other reviewers' suggestion. The only modification I'll probably make the next time is to reduce the amount of lime juice in the dressing - don't know if we had a particularly tart and potent lime but it was a bit dominating. A lovely recipe, thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2004

      I agree, very light and very Asian tasting. Skipped the mint but otherwise made as written and marinated several hours. I probably used a bit too much onion. It seemed to overpower everything but the chickpeas. Probably 1/2 cup chopped would be plenty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      Delicious! I couldn't even wait to chill it for an hour to eat it. I didn't have mint or lemongrass, but this salad is still great without them. It has a nice Asian flavor to it, and it's so refreshing and light. I had to force myself to put a cupful aside for the next day, and ate the rest of it (yes, ALL of it) all by myself!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (249 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 132.9
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    17%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 204.3 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 4.5 g
    18%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 4.8 g
    9%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites