8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was quite tasty. The dressing is tangy and spicy, but it's tempered by the coolness of the cucumber and the mild chickpeas. Modifications: I used half of an onion, which seemed to be a perfect amount. I also used bulk chickpeas - I 14 oz. can is equal to abotu 1.5 cups of prepared chickpeas (slightly more then 3/4 cups dry). If you're going to use dry chick peas, soak them overnight, boil them for about an hour, drain and let cool before using. Other than that, I made the recipe exactly as listed. Tangy, spicy, delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
federico April 16, 2004

What a great salad! The lemongrass, ginger and chili really make this pop with flavor. I only left the sugar out (personal preference).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito November 28, 2010

This is a fab recipe! I love the dressing beautiful flavours. You are right, I almost finished the whole lot by myself! I couldn't get hold of lemongrass so had to leave it out, used lemon instead of lime and used half an onion instead of the whole. Absolutely delicious! Thanks, JustJanS, for sharing this fab recipe, definitely will be making it over and over again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Aaliyah's&Aaron'sMum November 11, 2010

Thanks for a great recipe! Simple and delicious! I will definitely be making it again with maybe just a quick squeeze of lime this time. :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GingerSling April 26, 2008

Fabulous recipe...great mix of flavours with the lemon grass and mint. Definatly will be making it over and over. I added in some grated carrots and a diced sweet yellow pepper.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cates October 23, 2007

Very fresh and tasty - I loved the combination of flavours! Made a double batch but only used 1 red onion as per other reviewers' suggestion. The only modification I'll probably make the next time is to reduce the amount of lime juice in the dressing - don't know if we had a particularly tart and potent lime but it was a bit dominating. A lovely recipe, thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stormylee September 11, 2005

I agree, very light and very Asian tasting. Skipped the mint but otherwise made as written and marinated several hours. I probably used a bit too much onion. It seemed to overpower everything but the chickpeas. Probably 1/2 cup chopped would be plenty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugarpea February 19, 2004

Delicious! I couldn't even wait to chill it for an hour to eat it. I didn't have mint or lemongrass, but this salad is still great without them. It has a nice Asian flavor to it, and it's so refreshing and light. I had to force myself to put a cupful aside for the next day, and ate the rest of it (yes, ALL of it) all by myself!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi December 09, 2002
Chickpea Salad