Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Salad

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2008

      Very nice, but we think we'd have preferred it without the salmon as per the original recipe, or with just a small can. I used a 400 gram can of chickpeas, 415 gram can of salmon, 2 vine-ripened tomatoes, 1 small red onion, 1/2 large rib of celery, 1 clove of garlic, 2 TBS fresh parsley, 3/4 tsp of dried dill tips, 4 tsp of red wine vinegar, 1/4 cup of olive oil and salt & pepper. After trying it I added a little more vinegar. I'll make it again without the salmon and will post a rating.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2003

      This is delicious! I've made it twice in 3 days, once with white wine vinegar and tuna, and next with red wine vinegar and salmon. I think I may prefer the red wine vinegar and tuna but any combination is good. I also added about twice as many tomatoes as they are at their best now, and with the tuna, added thin slices of daikon (a kind of radish), and cucumber with the salmon. Thank you so much for this recipe. I only regret I waited so long to try it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2003

      Very good bean salad. I also whisked in a scant teaspoon of dijon mustard into the vinaigrette and added a tin of tuna at serving time so we could make a 'meal' of it.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2008

      What a nice salad for the summer time, I have it as a meal all on its own. My family just loves it. I do one similer to this which I will be posting later. Thanks MizzNezz for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2008

      Nice salad. I used it as a light main dish. I added some kidney beans and green pepper that I had leftover; both were wonderful in this salad. Next time I will add more vinegar and less oil. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2008

      This is a fantastic salad! I served it with grilled salmon, and it was a wonderful pairing. The only thing I did differently was substitute more chopped tomato for the celery & double the vinegar! Thanks for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Really good. I was surprised the dill works so well with the chickpeas. Good combo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      I substitued some artichoke hearts (in water) available from Trader Joes for some of the Chickpeas. Loved it with the salmon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2007

      I was having a need to eat healthy moment and made this. It was great and I had to hide from my 2 yr. old to eat after he gobbled his up. I did add more vinegar as I love it and it added a lot of tartness. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2007

      Yum! I love chickpeas and have never used dill with them before but this recipe has changed my mind. Thanks MizzNezz for a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2006

      Excellent recipe. I make this for pot-lucks all the time, and I always get rave reviews.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2006

      This is pretty good but maybe I'll add a can of tuna next time like someone else suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2004

      This is a tasty recipe. I've made it 4 times now and once had to share it with a friend. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (110 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 259.7
     
    Calories from Fat 244
    94%
    Total Fat 27.1 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 3.7 g
    18%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 14.4 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 4.4 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 2.2 g
    9%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chickpeas

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes