Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf (Vegan) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf (Vegan)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on February 04, 2011

      This is a yummy recipe, spices very good. Next time I will add more veggies for texture/flavor, or to make more of a main dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2011

      This was very tasty! I served it on toasted Naan bread and mashed the garbanzo beans a bit. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was quick and easy to throw together and comes from one of my all time favorite cookbooks. I followed the recipe exactly and felt it was a bit on the bland side. Next time I'll take more liberties with the spices for sure. Good basic recipe to play with though. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      Love this recipe! Quick, easy and super nutritious. I throw a sunny side up egg on top (there goes the vegan) for some extra protein.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2008

      This is a wonderfully versatile recipe: it's simple, one pot, flavorful. The ingredients should be in your pantry, so this can be a last minute decision. You can vary the spice intensity, or choose to vary the spices (I followed the directions exactly, so I can really rate the recipe as written). You can vary the texture, by how long you choose to simmer the chickpeas or by using a spoon to crush some. Best of all, once you know your own stovetop, so you know how much time you'll need for all the water to be absorbed), this recipe takes no real attention or effort. Oh, and the taste is wonderful -- even my son, not a great veggie eater, asked for seconds for this one. Definitely a keeper ... and a recipe that I will use frequently. BTW, if you want to save a little more money, but plan a little in advance ... soak dried chickpeas overnight instead of using canned. Made for PAC Fall 2008. Photos pending.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2011

      Good, easy, quick recipe. I would make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was soooo good! I added more spices and garlic to give it more flavor, and used leftover pasta sauce instead of opening a new tomato paste. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      This was my first attempt at cooking with quinoa and I'm so glad I chose this as my debut recipe! Sooooo delicious; I was going, "mmm, mmm..." the whole time I was eating it! Lol The recipe is delicious as is but I can't wait to try it with varying veggies and spices. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      This is an easy one pot meal. I made this as written and found it just a little bland, geat starting point though. I will make this again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2009

      Thank you for posting this recipe. It's very easy to make and the flavors are wonderful. I added roasted carrots and broccoli for added color and flavor.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      Absolutely wonderful! I just made this from the Veganomicon book and even went back for seconds! Great source of protein for those who don't eat meat or a lot of it. Will make this often!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2014

      I'd rather give this 4.5 stars but since that's not an option.....Very nice recipe. It's easy, inexpensive and healthy. We added a bag of frozen vegi's (broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots) to make it a main dish and would do this again. Only thing I felt it was missing was a little more depth of flavor. Will try some new flavoring combinations next time. Thanks for the great recipe PDX Meems..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2013

      I love this recipe and I make it often. It has ingredients I have on hand all the time and even my son, who can be pretty picky, will eat it and say: "I love quinoa!" I also add a handful of baby spinach right at the end for extra nutrients and some colour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2012

      I love the simplicity of this recipe. It's especially good with a healthy dose of salsa Lizano on top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2012

      Very good flavor! If you enjoy Indian food, you should try this! I agree with other reviewers that it could use a few other veggies, if nothing else, to add some color to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2008

    • on May 15, 2008

      Haha, I own Veganomicon and just posted my own variation of this (only in my private recipes). I have to say how delicious it is! Try it and have fun, be creative!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea-Quinoa Pilaf (Vegan)

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 359.8
     
    Calories from Fat 97
    27%
    Total Fat 10.8 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 644.3 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.0 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 1.2 g
    5%
    Protein 11.9 g
    23%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    vegetable broth

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes