Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea, Pesto & Red Onion Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea, Pesto & Red Onion Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on September 27, 2002

      I served this as an appetizer salad, added sliced black olives for a bit more color contrast. Very good and impressive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2005

      All of my favorite ingredients and so quick to put together. We didn't have a red onion so our yellow was a bit on the strong side and my have overpowered the dish but will definitely try again with the red onion. I always have homemade pesto frozen in ice cube trays.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Very nice salad! The lemon juice adds a nice tang. I agree with Missy Wombat that the pesto quality is VERY important.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2002

      What a wonderful salad! Quick, easy and very tasty. I made this for lunch today. I too added some black olives just to add a bit more color. Thanks SandraK for a great dish.rn

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      Very good! 1 can of chickpeas is not quite 2 cups; I will double this whole recipe next time. We were generous with the dressing ingredients and tossed it with greens when serving as a main dish. However, I think I could omit the olive oil; the pesto I buy is oily enough!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2011

      Oh so simple & tasty...I used this as a base & added some grated carrot, diced cucumber and leftover shredded chicken for a quick & easy lunch..Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2009

      I thought this was pretty tasty...I FINELY diced the red onion and only used about a quarter cup for the whole recipe, which worked well because, to me, red onion tends to get a "bite" to it after it's sat for a while so I didn't want that to happen...as I did it, this worked just fine. We enjoy chickpeas in this house, so thanks for posting a new recipe for us!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      Not to our taste, I thought it needed something.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2004

      I love chickpeas, pesto and red onions, so how could this go wrong? ;-) Lovely, flavourful salad, very quick and easy to make. I did use 3 tablespoons of lemon juice, but perhaps I had a particularly mild lemon? Will make this again and again this summer. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2003

      This salad was ok. We didn't really care for it. Chalk it up to personal taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2002

      This salad is as good as the pesto you add to it. I used a red pesto and it went down a treat at our tropical vegetarian Christmas dinner. I used lime juice which I personally prefer to lemon juice in most things [and limes are more common around here than lemons ;-)] Very easy dish and I used my crockpot to prepare a big batch of chickpeas to avoid using canned ones.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea, Pesto & Red Onion Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (104 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 185.4
     
    Calories from Fat 43
    23%
    Total Fat 4.7 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 360.1 mg
    15%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.8 g
    23%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 6.2 g
    12%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    pesto sauce

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites