11 Reviews

I was so pleased at how easy and delicious this crust recipe was to make. I made it with a Basil Pesto and Sauteed Mushrooms.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FreddieCrocker March 18, 2013

This was super delicious! Reminded me of farinata, kind of like a flatbread. I used more toppings and half the oil (next time I will increase the salt by 50% too). The times were spot on for me and we did not have any trouble getting it out of our cast iron pan (loosened the edges first with a firm spatula). Yum yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito April 30, 2012

I really like this concept and wanted this to work, so much that I tried making it twice so far and am not yet ready to give up. At first I tried doubling the recipe given that the reviews agree that this is a good size for one serving...bad idea on so many levels - the doubled batter was thin and watery. I added more flour to try to achieve the right consistancy only to have the cooked dough come out too thick. I made another batch, as written, and it was okay. The cooking times need to be a bit longer than called for and I note that both tries stuck to the pan. All of that said, it is yummy and worth the effort to perfect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mgnbos April 08, 2012

This is a really good gluten-free pizza crust recipe. I used pesto, tomatoes, red onions, and feta for the topping and it was delicious. Also, I increased the ingredients by 50% and made two 9" pies--the recipe as is would not be enough for 2 in my opinion.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rdtubbs March 06, 2011

This is a great light and healthy pizza! I sliced my tomato and onion instead of chopping, otherwise made as directed. I don't care for onion so DH had it on his; I added a sprinkle of crushed red pepper flakes on mine. I've never used chickpea flour before and thought it made a nice crust that went well with the light toppings. I'll probably add sauteed mushrooms or red bell pepper next time as well. Thanks for posting this recipe! Made for the Best of 2010 Event (recommended by Mia in Germany)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
loof February 24, 2011

Definitely five stars! Made it pizza margarita style with homemade pizza sauce and a lot of cheese - DH absolutely loved it. I just wonder if food.com has ruined the measurements somehow - it says 1 cup water, but in the directions it's two times 1/4 cup, so I used 1/2 cup in total and not the listed one cup which would have made soup instead of batter... 1/2 cup must be the right amount because it worked perfectly. Thanks for sharing this!
Made for Diabetic Tailgate Party.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia in Germany September 21, 2010

Last night I ate pizza for the first time in about 4 years thanks to this recipe! I have a variety of food allergies/intolerances and I thought this was an excellent gluten-free dough alternative. I also can't eat dairy, so I used soya 'Sheese'. We added lots of veggie topping to it too. I also added an egg to the batter as I was worried that it wouldn't stay together without. Next time though, I want to try and make it a bit crisper. Any ideas??

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nodairyfairy February 20, 2009

This was good, although I baked it rather than did it on the stovetop. We also made a real pizza from it, with pizza sauce and cheese and everything. A great-tasting alternative to pizza dough. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fluffernutter August 19, 2008

Wow, awesome! The dough was easy to make (even if we read the recipe wrong and didn't add enough water the first round) and it seems pretty hard to screw up when it comes to cooking/baking. The given toppings give a very mediterranean feel, simple but very tasty, but it seems like anything could go with it. I wouldn't say this serves four - more like one. Either way it's great. :)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Dinosaur April 18, 2008

I am a huge Madhur Jaffrey fan, but this recipe has managed to escape my attention - until now! I loved this. The crust is not like a pizza crust, more like a kind of fry-bread - good chew, but not as 'hard' as a regular yeast crust. The toppings were delish, and I am more than a little ashamed to admit to eating the whole thing by myself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evelyn/athens November 21, 2006
Chickpea Flour Pizza