11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were wonderful! i have recently gone gluten free. there are many recipes for baked goods using combinations of different gluten-free flours... it can get very complicated. this recipe is so straightforward and delicious! i used sliced almonds for the nuts, and i subbed flax seed meal/water for the eggs. no one could tell they were made from chickpea flour! great recipe, will definitely make again. thanks MissLinguist!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AliBrooklynBaker February 01, 2010

This was great. I try and eat low carb/high fiber when ever possible. I used 1 cup dark chocolate chips and 1 cup brown sugar blend splenda and it was great. THANKS

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boonyas mom September 12, 2009

Tried these cookies last night and they turned out AMAZING! My mom is gluten-free and these are the best cookies we have made so far! Thanks for the recipe!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rachy3 April 29, 2009

These are by FAR the best choc chip cookies I have made since my food allergies started 3 years ago. I used two thirds chickpea flour and one third buckwheat flour. I also can't eat egg white, but 2 yolks in this recipe worked just fine. I also used soya marg in place of the butter and natural orange extract instead of vanilla (I love choc & orange!). I guess they taste so good as there is ALOT of sugar in the recipe...next time I might try it with less sugar and maybe some honey instead? Thankyou for the inspiration MissLinguist! x

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nodairyfairy February 20, 2009

I admit I didn't think much of the chickpea flour but since I had some that didn't know what to do with I decided to give it a try, I added 2 tps of corn starch just because I was not sure the batter would hold together and the result was DELICIOUS!!!The batter was a little bit sticky especially when using the spoon to put it on the cookie sheet but I still think it's a 5 stars recipee. lately I've been craving cookies and I finally bought the stuf in the package which is good but costly, now I can make my own and it's so simple. Thank you so much!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
minouch98 July 09, 2007

I loved these -- my first gf food recipe that turned out tasting like real food --lol---worked fine the first try -- used shorting insted of butter and substituted eggs (can't have them either) -- still sooo yummy

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
trolycar May 21, 2012

This recipe makes a near-perfect cookie. My gluten-TOLerant boyfriend eats most of them every time I make them >(. I tried adding cocoa powder to the mix - about 1/3 cup - and got a fantastic, rich & chewy brownie cookie. They are super sweet, and still turned out great when I reduced the sugar by 1/3. Now I want to experiment with adding oats and chocolate chips, and eventually do a soft gingersnap version. Thanks, MissLinguist!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
laurenlikesfood September 16, 2011

I am NOT a baker, and have become even less so since I was diagnosed as celiac 3 yrs ago.... but these cookies are INCREDIBLE. I just ate 3 out of the oven. I substituted 1 and 1/2 cup chickpea/garbanzo flour and 1/2 cup potato flour, and added a tsp of xanthan gum. They were perfect. Thank you so much!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bridget.k.larson October 11, 2008

My comments ech Chef #357234 exactly! The only difference was that my dough wasn't very sticky, it was just right. Fabulous!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JESMom August 13, 2008

I was able to make these in 20 minutes, maybe less & they were very good. Moreover, they are a great base to add things to and mess with for variety. I found the dough very sticky and the yield a little low, but not too hard to deal with.<br/>I used 1/2 Erythritol 1/2 Splenda so they were sugar-free.<br/>For people who don't know erythritol, it is a great substitute for sugar as it has the weight and mouthfeel of sugar, without the calories. It's a little expensive so I often use 1/2 erythritol and 1/2 some other sugar substitute.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MonkeyChamp June 27, 2013
Chickpea Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies (Gluten-Free)