Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Curry (Indian Style) over Basmati Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Curry (Indian Style) over Basmati Rice

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on April 16, 2014

      i made an account JUST to post on this recipe! DELICIOUS!!! i loved blending part of it, it made the perfect texture. and the peanut butter?! GENIUS. I wish i had added more. I added some spinach and served it over blanched broccoli as an alternative to rice. but i loved this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2011

      Yum. I enjoyed this dish. Easy and quick to put together and tasty. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      We had a party 2 weeks ago, and didn't have a clue what to cook for my daughter who is vegetarian. Thanks for posting this recipe. I had everything in my cupboard and fridge. The peanut butter made a huge difference in flavour - made it very creamy as I have lactose intolerance.

      This dish was so popular that I had to tell my daughter to get her food quickly! I have made it a lot and guess what I'm having for dinner tonight? Very quick, easy and cheap to make! I added loads of fresh coriander which made it taste really fresh and full of flavour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Was skeptical over the PB. I just didn't like it at all!!! Overall just an okay flavor. I tried to override PB flavor with curry and hot sauce but it just didn't work. Maybe i will add less Pb or none at all next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2008

      this was yummy and easy! i used a can of Rotel which already had lime juice and cilantro in it, as i didn't have fresh cilantro or tomato paste. also didn't have peanut butter but am curious to try it next time. at the end i stirred in a little sour cream and it was delish over rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Excellent dish! Ingredients are not hard to find and cooking is straight-forward. Clean-up may be a bit more than usual. This dish overall is great: great taste, good looking, and *very* healthy! Plus it's vegetarian. : ) This is a meal which I would make for guests. When I made this meal tonight, I followed the instructions exactly except I added some olive oil when saute-ing the onions. I wonder how this recipe would taste with a little more peanut butter..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      This is VERY good! It was easy and super fast to make, which is exactly what I need with a baby running around. I did not have any lemon juice, but it tastes fine. Also, I was hesitant to add the peanut butter because it sounds too odd. The next time I make this I will add the peanut butter to try it!!! Thanks so much for this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      We liked this. I doubled the spices, onion, lemon and tomato paste, but I think I could have done even more to punch up the flavor. The peanut butter makes this a little different from most chana masala/chole recipes. Thanks, Kozmic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2006

      Great flavor but had to add almost all the reserved liquid, like the idea of adding something green to it, next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2006

      I made this last night. It was my first time ever cooking chickpeas. It turned out very nice. I didn't use a blender (couldn't be bothered), I mashed 1/3 of the chickpeas in the pan with a potato masher, it turned out just fine. I saved all the liquid from the chickpeas and ended up gradually adding it all to the pan, instead of using water. Next time I might add some greenery, like green beans or something, just for variety.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Curry (Indian Style) over Basmati Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (512 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 575.7
     
    Calories from Fat 81
    14%
    Total Fat 9.0 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 2.8 g
    14%
    Cholesterol 7.6 mg
    2%
    Sodium 1055.0 mg
    43%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.8 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 13.1 g
    52%
    Sugars 3.7 g
    14%
    Protein 17.6 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites