Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Curry (Garbanzos) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Curry (Garbanzos)

    Average Rating:

    55 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 55

    Sort by:

    • on July 16, 2002

      I loove chickpeas, and oh boy, this is a great way to fix them! I didn't change a thing in this recipe. I used 3 t curry powder, and it was just right. The fresh ginger is great with the chickpeas. It was so good and so quick, I will make it a lot! Thanks SaraFish!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2002

      I made this for lunch today and enjoyed it. What I really like about this recipe, is that its so easy and so quick to make. Moreoever, it is tasty and can be enjoyed with rotis, rice and white bread as well. I had it with white bread. Next time, I'll make "Chitranna rice" (yellow rice with peanuts) and enjoy this dish with that. I also had some yogurt alongside with this curry. Thanks, good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2011

      I ended up using this as a base recipe for my final result; had other items in the fridge I wanted to use up, plus wanted to have leftovers for lunches later in the week. So I added a diced zucchini, some pre-cooked grilled chicken chunks, a few mushrooms, and some chili paste for some extra heat. Then I included a can of coconut milk because we like plenty of sauce to soak up the rice. I forgot the garlic, so would definitely add it next time, but the result was still good. It just needed a little more salt, no big deal really. My husband and I both thought this was yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2011

      Great and easy, what more could you want! I didn't have any fresh tomatoes on hand so I did it with canned, but it was still delicious. Will make again for sure!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This is quick, easy, and delicious -- we loved it! I used 2 tsp. of Tones curry powder and served with brown rice.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2009

      Really liked the flavours in this curry. I used 1/2 tin canned tomatoes for extra sauce. SO easy, and also very satisying. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      Really good, and FAST to make! I used susan*w's idea of using canned chopped tomatoes--doubled the recipe and used a 15 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, undrained--mixed well with the rice. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2014

    • on October 30, 2013

      LOVED IT!!!! Hubby was excited to get home and have dinner, it was delicious and we will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2013

      My currys always turn out grainy unlike what i get at restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2013

      Wonderful recipe!!!! I kicked this recipe up a notch by adding 1 tsp of McCormick Perfect Pinch Caribbean Jerk for spiceness. And I added about 2 cups of water and let them simmer for a while until there was just a little water left to use as "sauce" for the Na'an bread.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2013

      Great, easy recipe with ingredients I usually have on hand. I added yellow squash and spinach to up the veg, but would leave out yellow squash next time because it overpowers the flavor in a weird way. The rest was delicious. Served with plain yogurt and pickled ginger. Next time I might add another tomato and use chicken stock instead of water. Thanks for the great veggie keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2012

      Simple, Delicious and Healthy. Had it with brown rice. I used about a tbsp of ginger because that is what I had diced. If all cooking could be so basic and delicious. Yum

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2012

    • on January 07, 2012

      What I love about this recipe is how easy and quick it was to make! I needed something pronto for a potluck and this was something I could make with what I had in the pantry. I just didn't have an onion on hand so I substituted basalmic onions from Trader Joe's. There is already some oil prepared with them and the package instructions recommend 1 Tbsp. olive oil when heating them up. So I started with that and added the second two Tbsp. olive oil during step 6, in the case things started to stick. I also added 1 tbsp. water at the same time.

      I will definitely try this recipe again as is when I have an onion or diced packaged onion, but I also really loved the basalmic onions with the other flavors in the recipe. I put in 1 1/2 tsp ginger (because I grated a little extra) and 1 tsp. cumin, because I prefer non-spicy. Every thing turned out great! There's some flexibility to add more or less of all the ingredients with this recipe to taste and have it turn out well. It was definitely a hit at the event!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Loved it! I like coconut milk in my curry and considered added it to the recipe. Instead I made some coconut rice and served it with the chickpea curry. So delicious and healthy! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

      Delicious! I did add two things to it though: 1/3 can coconut milk and a couple TBS of sugar. I didn't have rice, so I mixed it in with whole wheat pasta--It tasted fantastic and was even better the next day cold!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2011

      This wasn't a terrible dish, it was quick and easy. I added some cajun creole seasoning to it. Then had to put some shredded cheese and sour cream on it too. It was edible. But I don't think I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2011

      freakin YUM!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2011

      Delicious and simple! We didn't have any rice, so served it with couscous. I think it would be perfect with Basmati rice and can't wait to try it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Curry (Garbanzos)

    Serving Size: 1 (368 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 437.5
     
    Calories from Fat 148
    33%
    Total Fat 16.4 g
    25%
    Saturated Fat 2.2 g
    11%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1267.0 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 62.0 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 12.1 g
    48%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes