Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Curry Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Curry

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2007

      ***I made this again last night using green chillies and white onions, and am upping my rating to a 5. I had the left-overs for lunch today and tried a bit before heating them, and it's also good cold. My original review follows.*** Easy to make, and it tastes great. I used butter which gave the dish a lovely creaminess, 2 hot red chillis, and was generous with the spices. Not having any fresh onions I substituted powdered onion, which could just have made the difference between 4 and 5 stars. I plan to make it again using "real" onions, and will update my rating if applicable.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      We have this on every alternate Thursday in our house and its a favourite wuth everyone.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      Now, this is a winner! I love the rich, subtle flavors. Only changes I made: I dialed down the heat (my husband is super-sensitive to hot peppers) and used lime juice in place of lemon. Served atop brown basmati rice, with a dollop of cooling cucumber raita on top, and warm grilled naan bread on the side, it's sooooo delicious. I shall make this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2012

      Absolutly Awsome Recipe. Easy to make....I have to stop myself from over-eating each time I eat it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2011

      Oh, my!! Mine was SO SPICY! ..I'm definitely not complaining, but as for those who claim that this was "too bland," I reckon they behold some super-taste buds. Maybe it is because i was lucky enough to have access to all of the necessary ingredients, or because I included the seeds with my chile (was I not supposed to?), but this curry definitely packed a delicious punch!
      I followed this, to a 't,' I've had plenty of curry, but I've never had a chickpea curry (nor had I cooked one), so I reckon I don't have anything specific to compare it to, but wowweee! I just know that this curry tastes GOOD! thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      Wonderful. I used fresh ginger, and pureed 3 fresh tomatoes, and added some cream at the end.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      Delicious. quick, budget friendly. This ticks all the boxes in my book!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      We enjoyed this over basmati rice. I omitted the chiles with the hopes the kids would eat it but they didn't so I will add it next time. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2009

      This was a delicious meal (excluded the chilies) My kids loved it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2008

      Delicious! Used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes and skipped on the chilies and coriander because I didn't have either.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2008

      This is such a delicious curry, and it is very easy to prepare with little prepping. I added a little extra lemon juice and unfortunately had no cilantro leaves but I loved it! This will probably be my standard chickpea curry from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2008

      Quick, easy and tasty. A keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2008

      Absolutely love it! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2007

      Great. Easy to make and healthy. I serve this with naan bread, rice and cauliflower. Now a regular part of our menu.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2007

      My fiance and I are both medical students, so he didn't have time for groceries this week and I didn't really have time to cook. This was a fast and easy recipe that had all of the ingredients in our kitchen, and I was very impressed with the result! I left out the green chilies and fresh coriander, because we didn't have any and added 2 small chicken breasts. I also liberally added crushed red pepper and an Indian curry powder. The result was excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2006

      This was very filling and easy to make. I did find it to bland, maybe next time I'll add more spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2006

      This was very easy to make, but I did think it lacked flavour, it was a bit too bland for my liking. When I had finished making it as written and I felt it needed something else, I added more corriander (fresh and ground) and some korma curry paste, to give it some extra flavour. I served it over brown rice. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2006

      Very tasty dish! My only complaint is that I have trouble getting the turmeric off of my pan after cooking. I will make this again and again...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2006

      Very good dish! The leftovers tasted even better. Couldn't find a lot of the spices, but it tasted great all the same.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I thought that this was a bit bland. Admittedly I did not have fresh cilantro, which I'm sure would have improved the dish. Otherwise I think that doubling (at least) the spices listed and adding some cumin would be helpful. Very easy to make though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Curry

    Serving Size: 1 (95 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 134.5
     
    Calories from Fat 95
    71%
    Total Fat 10.6 g
    16%
    Saturated Fat 1.3 g
    6%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 72.1 mg
    3%
    Total Carbohydrate 10.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chickpeas

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites