24 Reviews

***I made this again last night using green chillies and white onions, and am upping my rating to a 5. I had the left-overs for lunch today and tried a bit before heating them, and it's also good cold. My original review follows.*** Easy to make, and it tastes great. I used butter which gave the dish a lovely creaminess, 2 hot red chillis, and was generous with the spices. Not having any fresh onions I substituted powdered onion, which could just have made the difference between 4 and 5 stars. I plan to make it again using "real" onions, and will update my rating if applicable.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Soobeeoz October 12, 2007

We have this on every alternate Thursday in our house and its a favourite wuth everyone.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani March 20, 2002

Now, this is a winner! I love the rich, subtle flavors. Only changes I made: I dialed down the heat (my husband is super-sensitive to hot peppers) and used lime juice in place of lemon. Served atop brown basmati rice, with a dollop of cooling cucumber raita on top, and warm grilled naan bread on the side, it's sooooo delicious. I shall make this often!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
La Dilettante July 03, 2013

Absolutly Awsome Recipe. Easy to make....I have to stop myself from over-eating each time I eat it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maquis423 January 10, 2012

Oh, my!! Mine was SO SPICY! ..I'm definitely not complaining, but as for those who claim that this was "too bland," I reckon they behold some super-taste buds. Maybe it is because i was lucky enough to have access to all of the necessary ingredients, or because I included the seeds with my chile (was I not supposed to?), but this curry definitely packed a delicious punch!
I followed this, to a 't,' I've had plenty of curry, but I've never had a chickpea curry (nor had I cooked one), so I reckon I don't have anything specific to compare it to, but wowweee! I just know that this curry tastes GOOD! thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Froggus. May 09, 2011

Wonderful. I used fresh ginger, and pureed 3 fresh tomatoes, and added some cream at the end.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
becks December 02, 2010

Delicious. quick, budget friendly. This ticks all the boxes in my book!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moor Driver February 06, 2010

We enjoyed this over basmati rice. I omitted the chiles with the hopes the kids would eat it but they didn't so I will add it next time. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Meringue October 25, 2009

This was a delicious meal (excluded the chilies) My kids loved it :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gwen23 July 29, 2009

Delicious! Used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes and skipped on the chilies and coriander because I didn't have either.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryMama September 21, 2008
Chickpea Curry