Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea Burgers

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on October 08, 2002

      This is a very good vegetarian burger. I made this dish just as you directed, except I did add a couple of dashes of hot pepper flakes. It worked very well with the corriander, and gave it another layer of flavor. We actually enjoy a no meat lunch sometimes, and this is a good dish to make on those days. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will be using it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2013

    • on February 19, 2009

      I love chickpeas, so I really love these burgers. I sauteed the onion with the garlic before add it to the chickpea mixture, so the flavor was not too intense. I followed the rest of the recipe and the result was very good, there were tasty and crunchy, thanks for posting this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2008

      I made this the other night and refrigerated it for lunch. I'm still not sure whether or not I like these. They are a little bland, though that may have been because I used one can of chickpeas, which is about 1 1/2 cups and cooked a "tester". It had WAY too much onion, and I only used a half of a medium onion. They were very crumbly, but I had rice with them and just mixed it all together. Probably will make again with several adjustments.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2008

      This recipe is great because it's so flexible and tastes SO good! I substituted the coriander for cumin because my family is a little anti-coriander. I also added an extra egg (which I didn't need) but the burgers still held their shape because of the chickpeas. I'm definitely using this one again - thank you Pets'RUs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2008

      Really good. I didn't have any flour so I used dried pancake batter (that's mostly flour so no big deal.) I used more garlic because I love the taste and I'm also afraid of vampires. Good Stuff!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2008

    • on December 07, 2007

    • on December 21, 2006

      Pretty good. Kinda.. bland. I put them between bread and topped with lettuce, tomatoes, sprouts, mushrooms. Filled me up! Very easy to make, thanks! :) Okay I felt like I needed to add another star becuase my husband LOVED these. He was really impressed! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2006

      A pretty good burger. I couldn't get the chick peas to mash so pureed it all. I didn't think I was going to like them as I was putting them together but only 1 child wouldn't eat them. Even the cat ate the leftovers and he is very fussy. next time i will try coriander in them and yoghurt with garlic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2005

      Another winner from dear Petsie. In a new phase where I'm trying lots of veggie burgers and this one will certainly stay in my cookbook. My only change was that in an effort to reduce the white flour in my diet, I used corrnmeal to coat the burger. This switch gave this a lovely crispy coating. I did not have any problems with the patty staying together as others reported. My only critique might be that my potato may have been a bit too large which, for me at least, meant I didn't get enough chickpea flavor. Next time, I'm going to measure out so the potato amounts to no more than a cup. In mine it was 50-50 which made this almost like a croquette -- granted a delicious one. The spices were lovely and blended together really well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2005

      Great veggie burgers! When I started putting it all together I thought there would be way too much onion, but it was just right. I did substitute a sweet potato for the regular and it worked out well. I also used Flax Vegan Egg Substitute #104832 instead of egg to make this vegan, which worked perfectly. The burgers stayed together nicely. Dusted the patties with chick pea flour. Absolutely wonderful with lemon juice! Thanks PetsRUs!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2005

      This was very flavorable indeed. Used dried coriander. The only reason this did not get 5 stars is because it did not stay together as a patty, but I had made steamed brown rice with peas, so I just served it crumbled on top with lime squeezed over all.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2005

      Very decent veggie burger. We did not add the flour and we cooked them on the griddle which I know made them less crispy then they could have been. They had nice flavor but were very very crumbly. A nice dinner. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2005

      Enjoyed these! Fresh lemon juice is a wonderful compliment and fresh garlic and herbs lend great flavor. I would cook as directed, the flour dusting and olive oil make the patties crispy on the outside, tender inside. Turn once, carefully. Hot pepper flakes could be a lovely addition as well. Thanks, PetsRUs, for a great meatless recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2003

      I really enjoyed these chickpea burgers! I used cilantro, but no parsley(didn't have). Loved it with fresh lemon juice squeezed over the top! Thanks Annelies!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2002

      Hmmmm...different. I just took about my fifth bite of this burger. It's not bad! You know what..I think I will make this again! I left out the corriander b/c I didn't have it and added garlic powder instead. I think next time I will buy some corriander or I will add red pepper flakes to the mixture like Mrs. Annie suggested. Other than the spices the only other thing I did different was that I used non-stick spray instead of olive oil to fry to burgers. I'm glad that they turned out good! Thanks Petsrus for this different and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2002

      Only add a small egg when you think the mixture is too dry, this can depend on the size potato you have used. rn

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (190 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 178.8
     
    Calories from Fat 20
    11%
    Total Fat 2.3 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 46.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 291.9 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 5.7 g
    22%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 7.5 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites