Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea, Avocado and Sun-Dried Tomato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea, Avocado and Sun-Dried Tomato Salad

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on November 20, 2001

      This is a great dish. It is healthy, easy, quick, and so delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      This was FABULOUS! I omitted the olives and used pre-packaged slaw mix in place of the shredded cabbage. That saved time and added carrots to the mix. As a mother-to-be I appreciated knowing I was getting such great nutrition from such a yummy dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2001

      Delectable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2002

      I made this salad for a potluck at work today. I wasn't sure if my co-workers would like cabbage, so I made it with mixed greens. It got rave reviews, as the flavors are different and blend well. I'll look forward to trying it again with cabbage. I like the idea of buying pre-packaged cole slaw to save some time. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2002

      ditto everyone else's praise. this was magnificent, gone in a flash. i threw in some cubed feta, which seemed to compliment the flavors well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2002

      Wow!! This salad is a definite winner. Very good taste! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2002

      We skipped the dressing and loaded up on the olives. My 8 year old son loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2014

      Very good! We enjoyed this combination of ingredients. It IS very versatile; after reading some of the other reviews, I added about 2 splashes of lemon juice, and we really liked that. The listed amount of oil is quite unnecessary I think; I didn't measure but used about 2-3 Tbsp. That was enough to give a very light coating on everything and help incorporate the herbs. I even used probably double the amount of cabbage (again, didn't measure) and I used green olives. Very good, all around!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2013

      Half a cup of oil seemed excessive, so I only used 1 tablespoon. Couldn't imagine a salad without something tangy in the dressing, so I used 2 tablespoons of lemon juice, one for the dressing and one to add to the avocado so it would keep its color. I used kalamata olives. Really great (with adjustments). Also, very easy to make; great for a vegan weeknight supper. I served this with a chickenless patty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2013

      This was so good! I didn't have parsley so I added cilantro, had some bok choy added that and black beans squeezed some fresh lime and garlic olive oil it was a meal within itself couldn't stop eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      I made this as a main dish and added a can of tuna. My husband & I both thought it was OK, and would be better as a side. Together with our not-so-hungry two-year-old, we ate the whole recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2009

    • on July 23, 2009

    • on June 06, 2009

      Fantastic salad!!!! Such a wonderful blend of flavors. So looking forward to making again. Thank you!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2008

      I made this for lunch today and we thoroughly enjoyed it. My SO say it's one of the best salads he's ever eaten. When I first tried it I found it a bit too oily (my partner didn't), and that was with cutting the oil back by almost half. We had the left-overs with dinner by which time the flavours had melded and the excess oil must have absorbed as I didn't notice it. The flavour was wonderfully zesty, the ingredients complemented each other both in taste and appearance, and the cabbage remained firm and crisp. I used a 400g can of chickpeas, 2 avocados, 2 shallots and everything else as listed along with a little sea salt and freshly cracked black pepper. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2008

      I have to agree that the quantity of oil seemed a bit much so I didn't do it that way. I had no cabbage, was looking for a salad to use up my romaine. I marinated the avocado and veggies in the oil with some red wine vinegar as well; then scooped them out of the oil and tossed with the romaine. My son suggested that I add a chopped up orange - great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      Both my husband and I loved this. As frequently happens, we did not have the exact ingredients, so went with what we had. We wanted to do something different with the avacado we had. Only a few of the olives were black pitted, the rest were a "Mediterranean Medley" which I had to pit. They had hot peppers in the jar, so they certainly added zest to the dish! The chickpeas were dried, so I had to cook them first... I used a cup of freshly cooked drained chickpeas. We had the sundried tomatoes, but no Spring onions, so I used about 2 tablespoons of chopped Vidalias. The other substitution was the herb-seasoned salt. I used an Asian Spice blend. It was easy, and very good! Oh, and I did change the olive oil to 1 or 2 tablespoons... We will fix this again. Thanks for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      Absolutely the best salad I've ever tasted! It's even better day 2! Slight changes were no onion and a couple scoops of mayo for creaminess.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2007

      A Fantastic Recipe! Thanks for sharing it! I took clues from MidWest Sunshine and Milla, and used pre-packaged cole slaw mix and herbed feta cheese. I also added some slivered almonds, diced red onion, and diced cucumber, and served the salad on individual beds of baby spinach. A very satisfying and refresing salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2007

      I loved this, but the rest of the family thought it was just okay. It made a nice compliment to the somewhat spicy chicken I served it with. I was a little hesitant about using the full 1/2 cup of olive oil, but had used 2 avocadoes and 3 cups of cabbage so went for it - and it was just right. Next time I might substitute basil for the parsley and use more of it. I think I would use more of the parsley too, as it was perhaps just a little too bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea, Avocado and Sun-Dried Tomato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (246 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 492.6
     
    Calories from Fat 338
    68%
    Total Fat 37.6 g
    57%
    Saturated Fat 5.2 g
    26%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 594.2 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.5 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 10.4 g
    41%
    Sugars 4.0 g
    16%
    Protein 7.9 g
    15%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    herb-seasoned salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites