41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow this was truly delicious. Very Mediterranean in flavour. I did the following changes to the recipe: added some finely chopped garlic, chopped mint, feta cheese and used olive oil. Will definitely make again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jolenecaruana January 06, 2010

I love the flavors in this salad! The cumin and chili give it a nice kick. I also used olive oil and added enough tomatoes to equal the amount of chick peas. Next time I may add a minced jalapeno for even more kick! Great recipe, fluffy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogi September 13, 2003

This salad was super! The only change I made to the recipe was to use olive oil. So easy to make and the taste was great! Thanks for another great recipe fluffy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrendaM June 09, 2003

Very tasty. I used olive oil instead of vegetable and garlic powder instead of cumin. Also used ground pepper.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miraklegirl May 27, 2003

Wow - easy and tasted like taco meat. Served up in tortilla bowl for eating without a spoon!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
karen in tbay April 02, 2003

A very easy tasty recipe. The only change we made was to add a bit of mint, which worked well with the other iongredients.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JustJanS March 16, 2003

I 'asked' the Recipe Sifter for a salad with chickpeas and cumin, and this is what it gave me. It was the perfect answer. Australia's largest can of chickpeas is only 13 ounces so I used two, but used the amount of spice noted here. Was out of lemon, so used lime instead, which worked fine. Served five as a side dish, with a bit left over. Great recipe. Easy to make and delicious. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy February 02, 2013

A yummy and an easy side dish to assemble. I added about 1/4 cup of fat free feta cheese, 1/2 chopped seeded cucumber, and 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil in exchange for the 2 tablespoons vegetable oil. The flavors were better after it was stored in the refrigerator for a few hours. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lhoerth May 23, 2010

This is delicious. DH & DD ate lots! I added mint which really was great and feta cheese and used canola oil one time and extra virgin olive oil the second time, freshly squeezed lemon juice and sea salt for the salt. The second time I also added baby cucumbers chopped. We also had the salad the next day and it had mellowed in flavour. I preferred it right after it was made. I would make this again with feta for sure and sometimes the cucumber.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat February 19, 2010

I'm always on the lookout for healthy, yet tasty snacks and this does the trick. It tastes great as is, but other reviewers' add-in suggestions sound good too. I also wonder if black-eyed peas could be substituted for the chickpeas? It will be fun to try out the additions--if they don't work out, at least I know the original recipe is a winner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ladyfingers January 14, 2010
Chickpea and Fresh Tomato Toss