Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chickpea and Fresh Tomato Toss Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chickpea and Fresh Tomato Toss

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2010

      Wow this was truly delicious. Very Mediterranean in flavour. I did the following changes to the recipe: added some finely chopped garlic, chopped mint, feta cheese and used olive oil. Will definitely make again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2003

      I love the flavors in this salad! The cumin and chili give it a nice kick. I also used olive oil and added enough tomatoes to equal the amount of chick peas. Next time I may add a minced jalapeno for even more kick! Great recipe, fluffy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      This salad was super! The only change I made to the recipe was to use olive oil. So easy to make and the taste was great! Thanks for another great recipe fluffy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2003

      Very tasty. I used olive oil instead of vegetable and garlic powder instead of cumin. Also used ground pepper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2003

      Wow - easy and tasted like taco meat. Served up in tortilla bowl for eating without a spoon!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2003

      A very easy tasty recipe. The only change we made was to add a bit of mint, which worked well with the other iongredients.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2013

      I 'asked' the Recipe Sifter for a salad with chickpeas and cumin, and this is what it gave me. It was the perfect answer. Australia's largest can of chickpeas is only 13 ounces so I used two, but used the amount of spice noted here. Was out of lemon, so used lime instead, which worked fine. Served five as a side dish, with a bit left over. Great recipe. Easy to make and delicious. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2010

      A yummy and an easy side dish to assemble. I added about 1/4 cup of fat free feta cheese, 1/2 chopped seeded cucumber, and 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil in exchange for the 2 tablespoons vegetable oil. The flavors were better after it was stored in the refrigerator for a few hours. I will definitely make this again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2010

      This is delicious. DH & DD ate lots! I added mint which really was great and feta cheese and used canola oil one time and extra virgin olive oil the second time, freshly squeezed lemon juice and sea salt for the salt. The second time I also added baby cucumbers chopped. We also had the salad the next day and it had mellowed in flavour. I preferred it right after it was made. I would make this again with feta for sure and sometimes the cucumber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      I'm always on the lookout for healthy, yet tasty snacks and this does the trick. It tastes great as is, but other reviewers' add-in suggestions sound good too. I also wonder if black-eyed peas could be substituted for the chickpeas? It will be fun to try out the additions--if they don't work out, at least I know the original recipe is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      very nice tasting salad .It has a very fresh taste the cumin gives it warmth and the lemon juice really brings out the flavor good for potlucks or side dish

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Good recipe, with potential. I made as directed but feel that it needs a little something added. It's just somewhat bland. A recipe to play around with, for sure. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2008

      Very refreshing! I used a little fresh basil and some feta cheese in this recipe. I think a little baby shrimp would also be nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2008

      Simple and tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      LOVE IT!! I had to use diced white onion in place of the green onions. I also tossed in a can of drained tuna and some feta cheese. I will be making this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Excellent recipe. The salad was a very refreshing and healthy snack for when I got home. I plan on using it again for lunch this week. I used olive oil instead of the vegetable oil and I also omitted the salt. This made the recipe a little healthier while it still tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      This was really good. I didn't think I was fan of chickpeas, but i've been converted...lol. I really did like this salad, the flavors were so good. DD finished it up , she loved it. Thankyou for such a tasty new treat for us....Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      good as it is. I didn't have ground cumin, so a toasted some cumin seeds...a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2007

      I really like this recipe. So simple and yummy. The only changes I made were using olive oil and halved grape tomatoes. A lovely flavor combination!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2007

      I don't like chickpeas but I had a can hanging out in my cabinet for a long time so I did a search on them to get rid of them, Well it turns out I LOVED this recipe. I made a friend of mine try it & she talked about it for several days! I will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chickpea and Fresh Tomato Toss

    Serving Size: 1 (201 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 234.7
     
    Calories from Fat 77
    33%
    Total Fat 8.6 g
    13%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 554.8 mg
    23%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 6.9 g
    27%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 7.3 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites