10 Reviews

This recipe is an unexpected pleasure -- I had my doubts at first, but it came out great! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash. I took the advice of another reviewer and mixed the cheese in with the rest of the ingredients. Didn't need any of the top. I sauteed the onion and garlic and after a couple of minutes, added 1/3 cup of good-quality dry sherry to the pan. I also added 1/2 T. curry powder. Those two extra ingredients, I think, put this dish over the top. BTW, I didn't pre-cook the zucchini, and that was a mistake. It had to cook it a lot longer because of it. Well worth the wait, though!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Happy Cookah September 06, 2011

Absolutely fantastic! This would be great with any veggie..sundried tomatoes, broccoli..artichokes...it was a fantastic casserole! Thank you so much for sharing! XO LA :-)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L.A. Stewart - way upstate N.Y. May 10, 2010

I liked the flavor of this and that the inclusion of the chicken helped me stretch my zucchini bounty into a full one dish meal. I also skipped the Accent and stirred salt into the dish. I decreased butter to 1-2 Tbsp and stirred it into the casserole before topping with just cheese. I thought this was missing a crunchy component, though. I pulled out a box of Ritz for my husband and I to eat with it tonight, but he said that when I try this again I should top it with french fried onions. Either way, I plan to bake it with some kind of crust ingredient next time (crackers, french fried onions, or bread crumbs). Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
pedspeech August 10, 2009

This was very good! I sauteed the chicken, onion and zucchini in a pan with butter. I also used sharp cheddar cheese. I mixed half of the cheese in the casserole and sprinkled the rest on top. Everyone in my family loved it. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CHaas July 15, 2009

Great casserole! Like other reviewers, I did not use Accent seasoning. Instead, I added extra salt. And I used only half the butter. Next time I make this I will add more salt and other seasonings and reduce the butter to about 1 T. I don't like to *see* the butter in my food. :-) Overall, a great recipe with lots of possibilities for variations.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Homeschoolmama April 24, 2008

This was very tasty and easy. Three of my four family members loved it! I used fat-free soup and sour cream, and skipped the Accent and the butter. I think next time I might try mixing the cheese in instead of just sprinkling it on the top. I think it would also be delicious with corn and green chiles in it instead of carrots. I also thought a little curry powder would be a nice change now and again. Can't wait to make it again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef MB July 10, 2007

This is really good! I didn't use Accent Seasoning, but added a little more salt and some herbs. I also used low-fat sour cream (my DH didn't even notice :). I ended up freezing it after it cooled, then ate it a few days later, and it turned out great. It was a little watery, so I think next time we'll put it on top of egg noodles or rice. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bama Chef June 24, 2005

Great recipe. Even my husband, who hates squash, loved it. I did use yellow squash instead of zucchini. I didn't use accent. Instead I seasoned the chicken with organic herbs before grilling and put the cheese in the mixture and a little mexican velveta on top about 10 minutes before it was done.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie from TX June 06, 2005

I had all the ingredients on hand except for the accent last night and needed to use up zucchini from the garden. I simplified the process a little and didn't precook the zucchini--instead just put it in the bottom of the casserole and then put the chicken, fresh garlic, soup, onion, carrot, sour cream mixture on top, ending with the cheese. (I also added 3-4 tbsp. of madras curry paste to the mixture.) I covered it for half an hour then removed the covering for the last half hour. It was delightful and the zucchini was totally done. Thanks for posting, Dancer! I'll make this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Judikins June 24, 2004
Chicken Zucchini Casserole