30 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

So Good!! I used a nectarine and was to lazy to skin it. I cut the recipe in half for 2 people but next time I will just reduce the amount of chicken but keep the sauce the same as the sauce is incredible! So flavourful! I also added a few snow peas to mine and served with pasta. This is a keeper!

12 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dale! December 23, 2002

Wow! This is a great recipe. The chicken came out very moist and tender and the sauce was very flavorful. The peaches and the basil together with the peppery sauce were really excellent. A great choice for company. The recipe was very clear and accurate as well.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather September 27, 2002

I love this recipe! The only changes I made was to pound out the chicken,add extra garlic and I used 1 1/2 cups of chicken stock thickened with a corn starch slurry. I have made this recipe atleast 6 times, I am surprised I never rated it before. Great summer meal! thanks a bunch!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaniePie June 12, 2010

I followed the advice of other reviewers and I added a little brown sugar to balance the pepper. I also did not coat the chicken. I used 2 tsp. cornstarch to thicken the sauce instead. The resulting dish was very good served over rice. Thank you, Derf, for a lovely recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bakedapple42 August 03, 2014

This is a favorite at our house. The melding of basil and onions with the sweet peaches is amazing. Wonderful flavor. For best results, take no shortcuts. Especially, use real onions not dehydrated onions or onion powder (made that mistake only once! - when I didn't realize I was out of real onion until I had already started cooking.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ratwoman July 26, 2014

This was good and I'll probably make it again next year when peach season rolls around. I followed the directions exactly, but after tasting it at the end, I decided to add a couple of tablespoons of brown sugar and that made it better. Maybe my peaches weren't sweet enough to start with? Anyway, I served it over Jasmine rice and it was yummy. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MelMat August 15, 2013

This is going into regular rotation!! YUM!!! Did 6 chicken breasts, used frozen whole peaches (defrosted on counter just long enough to cut into sixteenths and peel) we had picked this summer. Oh, and I used a small sweet onion sliced thin rather than chopped. Was in the middle of something else so tossed chicken back on top of the "sauce" and reduced to low heat. It "stewed" like that for probably another 10-20 minutes and infused such fantastic flavor into the meat!! I think this could work well chopped up and served on a bed of greens for a chilled salad as well. Reheats nicely on the stovetop, though the chicken wasn't quite as juicy and tender then.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
O-mama October 01, 2012

I love onions but I didn't put them in because I didn't have any, tasted really good still. Making the sauce with the drippings and flour is impossible, it will clump and/or burn because of such a lack of liquid. You need to add a portion of the chicken stock or make some corn starch slurry.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CassieB July 19, 2012

We didn't care for this. I thought it was somewhat bitter, although I don't know why.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paris D July 06, 2011
Chicken With Peaches and Basil