Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken with Chorizo and Butter Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken with Chorizo and Butter Beans

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on May 06, 2003

      This is a great recipe and I'm surprised no one has reviewed it before now. I found it easy to prepare and it tasted very good. I served it with Mean Chef's Basque Potatos (also good) both use smoked paprika which was nice. I used skinless chicken breasts which I cut into large chunks and a can of chopped tomatos from which I drained most of the juice. The only thing I will add next time is a table spoon of tomato paste, more to enhance the colour than the flavour. If you can't get smoked paprika or you don't want so much spice you could subsitute sweet hungarian paprika. I recommend this recipe and will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2011

      Delicious, very rich flavors. I took ellle's advice and added a few spoons of tomato paste. The depth in flavors was just wonderful. I used almost 2 whole onions because I was trying to use them up, but I browned them in the beginning with chorizo before cooking the chicken. I served this with Mean's Basque Potatoes after I read the suggestion in Eegee's review. My husband and my father in law couldn't put this down and said 5 stars, no question about it! Will make again and again, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2008

      This was ok, I was not too crazy about it. I definitely ate it, but I don't think I will ever make it again. The list of ingredients looked like I will definitely like it, but somehow I was expecting bigger flavors which I didn't find.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2008

      This was really good - I made a few changes to accomodate what I had on hand. I eliminated the olive oil and just sprayed my pan with cooking spray. I substituted the butter beans with a can of northern beans and used a 14 oz can of chopped tomatoes (using the juice from both cans). I did not have fresh thyme so I just threw in some dried and I didn't bother with the second amount of parsley. Served over whole wheat penne with a side of green peas and dinner rolls. Very good - just the right amount of spice/heat. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2007

      fantastic! thick, rich and delightful! adding just a bit of tomato paste gives it so much more colour and flavour, too. i'd had a dish similar to this before, and this is by far the simplest and easiest way to prepare such a dish. thankyou!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2007

      great flavor! i put the whole thing in a tupperware and left it unattended when I went to class. When I came back the whole thing was gone and some very satisfied roommates said I should make another batch. I just used the tenders.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2007

      I added some chopped green olives and lemon wedges right at the end - brilliant!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2007

      This brought us back to Spain and the food that we have been craving! I added a little more paprika and never removed the chicken from the pan...i just added each ingredient to the pot in the order the recipe stated and let it simmer covered for about 30 mins. One of our favorites... wonderful flavor and aroma! Will definitely be making this one again! Thanks! (Make sure you have bread to soak up the sauce!!)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      I have to admit I was skeptical, but after trying this dish last night I am a believer. I substituted the standard paprika for smoked and I used dry thyme instead of fresh, But it was fantastic. As my husband stated "Honey, this is my new favorite." And coming from him, that was saying a lot. I served this with a garden salad and some cheddar biscuits. It was delicious. However, the spiciness tends to grow exponentially, so I would suggest finding alternate dinner ideas if you have small children. Thanks Sackville Girl! This is a winner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      Myself and my bf had this for dinner and both agreed that it was tasty, but not mindblowing! We both like strong flavours, so next time I might add more chorizo, onions and garlic. Incidentally, I reheated some for lunch the next day and thought it was much tastier, so maybe it just needed a little time to develop. I served it with rice and a cold beer - yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2006

      I followed this recipe closely except I used Red Kidney Beans instead of butter beans and tinned tomatoes, I also added more liquid,chicken stock. It was great, my husband is quite conservative in his taste and he thoropughly enyoed it. Using more liquid it would also be great with rice (or maybe pasta), however we did have ours with a mixed salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 30, 2004

      I made this for tonight's dinner and it was delicious. I followed the recipe exactly and served it with a fresh garden salad. Thank you for a lovely recipe :).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      Wonderful flavor and very eye appealing. It was extremly hot weather so I decided to cook this as a crockpot recipe on low for 6 hours. Put everthing in the pot except the beans they were added after 4 hours. I used fresh Butter beans. It was served with noodles & a Jicama salad. Thanks Sackville Girl for another great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2004

      I really enjoyed this. I adapted it for my convience. I had roasted a whole chicken the day before, so I just used the already prepared chicken, and added it in along with the beans and tomatoes. I made the beans the day before in my crock pot and added some of the bean water to this dish. I also added a little liquid smoke since I did not have smoked paparika, just hungarian.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2003

      I couldn't find any specialty paprikas here, so I used plain paprika. Nonetheless, this turned out to be an interesting, delicious alternative to the usual chicken dish at dinner. I'll definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2003

      OMG this was wonderful. I made this for dinner tonight with bone-in thighs, serving it in soup bowls with warm crusty bread and a salad as SG suggested. This was easy to make, and tasted so good. I don't really know what sort of chorizo I have, but I suspect it's not the one SG suggested. As I don't know the difference, I thought what I have worked fine. I peeled it because I thought it would be better. It stayed together and I think it released more flavour than it would with its skin on. I don't know why I would need to chop a whole bunch of parsley up to then only use 1 tablespoon in the first steps and finish with a generous pinch. I suggest anyone else making this only chop up about 2-3 tablespoons. I would have ended up with 1 1/2 cups if I'd done as recommended, we have big bunches in Australia;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken with Chorizo and Butter Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (314 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 487.7
     
    Calories from Fat 243
    49%
    Total Fat 27.0 g
    41%
    Saturated Fat 8.3 g
    41%
    Cholesterol 44.0 mg
    14%
    Sodium 1135.4 mg
    47%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 10.5 g
    42%
    Sugars 6.4 g
    25%
    Protein 22.6 g
    45%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    chicken pieces

    thyme

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites