Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken with Black Beans and Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken with Black Beans and Rice

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on May 19, 2002

      When a Maine-iac cooks Cuban food, what do you get? A fantast-iac dish! You are right, Balsamic vinegar works magic. I substituted leftover cooked ham and would recommend it instead of chicken. It's a keeper for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      This was very good however didn't have the real Latin flavor I am used to. I think what happened is that there was waaay to more oregano than necessary. I new right away when I saw 2 tsp that it would be too much. So I only added 1 and still it was too strong and over powering. When I make my blk beans I shake my oregano 1x over my pot and THATS it! I can appreciate oregano also because not only am I South American but I am also 1/2 Greek. Still anyone who feels like myself, easy on the oregano =}

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2013

      This one is a keeper, left out the pimento (didn't have it), subbed chipotle hot sauce for red pepper & added 1/4 c. Chopped cilantro just before serving. Might add a squeeze of lime next time. Topped with shredded sharp cheddar.....kids kept saying how good it was & went for seconds. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2013

      Followed the recipe exactly how written and topped with fresh cilantro and a squeeze of lime. Served it to a friend from Cuba and he informed me that, although very good, isn't specifically Cuban. He also recommended using a little less balsamic, a little more cumin, and throwing some cilantro in. The rest of my friends and family thought it was delicious. Taking some to my Mexican co workers tomorrow to see what they think. I will be making it again and would definitely recommend this to a friend.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2011

      This was amazing! I used a package of chicken flavored rice instead of the broth and it was wonderful! My picky grandson couldn't get enough of it. Thanks for sharing, I'll make this one over and over again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      I've been making this for years and recently tried using minced chicken. (I have a 3 year old who prefers a minced texture) This is one of her favorite recipes. I also tend to used carrots chopped into little 1/4" cubes, I rarely have pimentos in the house. This is an excellent recipe, and the leftovers are even better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      Superb recipe! My wife actually praised my version of it! Slight variations when making for two:

      1) For 1 1/2 cups of (jasmine, mmm!) rice, I used 2 1/2 cups of no-salt chicken broth in a rice cooker. Turned out just right.
      2) Used 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar.
      3) Instead of red chili flakes, I used two pinches of chipotle chile flakes. Made for a nicely deeper flavor.

      Using half the recipe ingredients (except for the rice), this made plenty for two, plus enough left over for a lunch the next day.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2009

      I think this is a light 5 stars but DH didn't like it as much as I did. He said it had too many beans although it was good. Near the end of cooking the beans and chicken, I added additional homemade chicken broth to the dish to make it a little bit saucy. I did not use red pepper flakes but added 6 cloves of garlic or a bit more. I added about 1 1/2 tsp brown sugar along with the balsamic. Following other reviewers who didn't have pimientos, I roasted some orange pepper which worked fine in replacement. I also added more balsamic vinegar than called for because I felt it needed it. The broth amount and rice amount stated in the ingredients dont work together but I didn't have a problem with that as I always measure my own according to how I cook rice. I may have used a 1/2 tsp less oregano. All in all it turned out good and I would make it again if I felt DH liked it more.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2014

      Loved it!!!!! Didnt have pimento but so good. I had chx breast n didnt know what to make, this was an awesome fast dinner! My fam loved it! The basalmic is a must, it gives it a fresh nice flavor. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2014

      Good mix, good spicing. Maybe fry the onions in less oil and get fat from elsewhere. Great to use leftovers from a whole fried chicken, so the fatbsnd skin can be added instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      This was a good dish but reminded me a lot of Sandra Lee's Mexajita Chicken. Unfortunately, all I could do was compare the two and would recommend Sandra's over this. Not sure if I'll be making it again but I'm glad I tried it out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2013

      I made this tonight for a senior pot luck dinner. Everyone raved about it. The best thing I like about it, it is it very easy to make and is easy to make your own. I added shredded pepper jack cheese to the top and put it in the oven for 10 minutes to melt. Awesomely good. If it was just for me, I would probably add a few jalapenos to the chicken and beans for just a little kick. Highly recommend this dish. (And yes, the balsamic vinegar added a great flavor to the dish.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2013

      yum!! super easy to make. all we had was frozen thighs so i cut them into halves, cooked them until they were about half-way and it worked out fine. i followed a previous reviewer's recommendations on making the rice in a rice cooker (2.5 cups low sodium chicken broth and a little over 1.5 cups rice) and it came out great! included a small can of salsa and bay leaf in the rice. delicious and filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2012

      Very good! Didn't have pimentos, so I used 1/2 large red pepper thinly sliced and added it when it was time to add the beans and simmer. Also I used 1/2 tsp of oregano and little more balsamic.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2012

      I knew i would probably like this, i just didn't know how much I would like it! I think the balsamic vinegar just really made it something special. I did a few things differently, I sauteed the onions and then added the garlic towards the end, then I removed them from the pan and set them to the side. Then I sauteed the chicken, adding the onions and garlic after the chicken was cooked. I didn't simmer the finished product quite as long as called for. This one goes into my permanent cookbook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2012

      This was so good. I added a little more Balsamic to this as suggested by another reviewer and used diced ham from a boiled ham& cabbage dinner I was also preparing that same day.. I've never had Cuban food before so I cannot comment about the authenticity of the regional flavor. BUT WHO CARES! It's good and that's that! My husband raved about it and brought the leftovers to work with him the next day which makes it a keeper in my book. Thanks so much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2011

      I really liked this!! While I was making it, I was unsure it had enough seasoning and spices, but you are right! The Balsamic vinegar makes this dish!!! Soooo good. I cooked my rice separately in the broth and just ladled the beans over for serving. I also only had some raw chicken breasts, and some already cooked. Cooked the chicken first as directed, then added the cooked chicken. This would totally work with already cooked chicken! Great for leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 04, 2011

      Great recipe! Made it for my family and even my kids liked it.

      Rather than chicken breasts, I took a couple frozen chicken thighs and cooked them in the crock pot for a couple hours (3 hrs) under LOW heat. Deboned, skinned and sliced the meat. I used the renderings to cook with the onions, garlic and chicken until the mixture was reduced. And since I like things a bit more spicy I added about 1/4 tsp of ground red pepper just before starting to simmer the bean mixture. Used basmati rice.

      Lastly, this is GREAT served with freshly sliced lime. Squeeze over the bean mixture. Served this with fresh cut mangos and had the whole family asking for more.

      Again, thanks for a superb recipe! Cheers, JMF

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      I thought this was very tasty! It was a last minute dish for me and .... at the last minute ... realized I only had ONE can of black beans. So in went a can of kidney beans, too. The balsamic vinegar really adds a nice touch! Next time, I'll try the cherry balsamic vinegar I have on hand!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      This came out great...we had leftover yellow seasoned rice which worked fine. We are trying to lose weight, so we made burritos with whole wheat flour tortillas, added 1/8 c. shredded cheddar & 1 T. lowfat sour cream. It was so hard to eat just one! Love the balsamic vinegar addition!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken with Black Beans and Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (626 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 767.5
     
    Calories from Fat 143
    18%
    Total Fat 15.8 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 75.5 mg
    25%
    Sodium 714.1 mg
    29%
    Total Carbohydrate 104.8 g
    34%
    Dietary Fiber 17.6 g
    70%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 49.1 g
    98%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes