86 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

When a Maine-iac cooks Cuban food, what do you get? A fantast-iac dish! You are right, Balsamic vinegar works magic. I substituted leftover cooked ham and would recommend it instead of chicken. It's a keeper for sure.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lorac May 19, 2002

This was very good however didn't have the real Latin flavor I am used to. I think what happened is that there was waaay to more oregano than necessary. I new right away when I saw 2 tsp that it would be too much. So I only added 1 and still it was too strong and over powering. When I make my blk beans I shake my oregano 1x over my pot and THATS it! I can appreciate oregano also because not only am I South American but I am also 1/2 Greek. Still anyone who feels like myself, easy on the oregano =}

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Helenic Hottie July 12, 2007

This one is a keeper, left out the pimento (didn't have it), subbed chipotle hot sauce for red pepper & added 1/4 c. Chopped cilantro just before serving. Might add a squeeze of lime next time. Topped with shredded sharp cheddar.....kids kept saying how good it was & went for seconds. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Larawithoutau December 11, 2013

Followed the recipe exactly how written and topped with fresh cilantro and a squeeze of lime. Served it to a friend from Cuba and he informed me that, although very good, isn't specifically Cuban. He also recommended using a little less balsamic, a little more cumin, and throwing some cilantro in. The rest of my friends and family thought it was delicious. Taking some to my Mexican co workers tomorrow to see what they think. I will be making it again and would definitely recommend this to a friend.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cvlrymedic June 26, 2013

This was amazing! I used a package of chicken flavored rice instead of the broth and it was wonderful! My picky grandson couldn't get enough of it. Thanks for sharing, I'll make this one over and over again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sepechacek August 13, 2011

I've been making this for years and recently tried using minced chicken. (I have a 3 year old who prefers a minced texture) This is one of her favorite recipes. I also tend to used carrots chopped into little 1/4" cubes, I rarely have pimentos in the house. This is an excellent recipe, and the leftovers are even better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khana February 20, 2011

Superb recipe! My wife actually praised my version of it! Slight variations when making for two:

1) For 1 1/2 cups of (jasmine, mmm!) rice, I used 2 1/2 cups of no-salt chicken broth in a rice cooker. Turned out just right.
2) Used 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar.
3) Instead of red chili flakes, I used two pinches of chipotle chile flakes. Made for a nicely deeper flavor.

Using half the recipe ingredients (except for the rice), this made plenty for two, plus enough left over for a lunch the next day.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andy3733 September 27, 2010

I think this is a light 5 stars but DH didn't like it as much as I did. He said it had too many beans although it was good. Near the end of cooking the beans and chicken, I added additional homemade chicken broth to the dish to make it a little bit saucy. I did not use red pepper flakes but added 6 cloves of garlic or a bit more. I added about 1 1/2 tsp brown sugar along with the balsamic. Following other reviewers who didn't have pimientos, I roasted some orange pepper which worked fine in replacement. I also added more balsamic vinegar than called for because I felt it needed it. The broth amount and rice amount stated in the ingredients dont work together but I didn't have a problem with that as I always measure my own according to how I cook rice. I may have used a 1/2 tsp less oregano. All in all it turned out good and I would make it again if I felt DH liked it more.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat August 15, 2009

hate to differ, just okay

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
swiz58 May 22, 2015

I've made this several times, and it has become a real hit in our house. I even make a vegetarian version of this for my two vegetarians. I just halve the ingredients in this recipe and nix the chicken. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnyoneLived78 March 16, 2015
Chicken with Black Beans and Rice