Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken with Apples and Sage Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken with Apples and Sage

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2013

      Absolutely wonderful!!!!! I cut recipe in half for just myself but did use the whole apple (Braeburn). Had no sage so used thyme instead. Served with brown rice. So, so good! I love the apple and green pepper together, and the sauce is marvelous. This is a definite "Keeper".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2012

    • on February 08, 2010

      Tried this today, it was excellent ! i just added more spices: dash of cinnamon, dash of ginger, a very small slice of ginger root pickles,a dash of thyme, squeezed in half a small lemon and half a tsp of viniger. I ommitted the onion as i didn't have any. The flavors blended in greatly! it was super ! thanks alot for sharing :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2009

      Fantastic! We loved how easy and healthy this was, and it made for wonderful dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

    • on April 12, 2008

      wow! all the flavors were wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2008

      Nice combination of flavors. I also used broth in place of the apple juice, and threw in about a teaspoon of brown sugar to make up for it. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2008

      We enjoyed this meal - I used granny smith apples and red peppers. My husband had his over rice with a bit of soy sauce... I had mine with some sourdough bread. Will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      Delicious! I also used chicken broth in place of the apple juice because we wanted it a little less "sweet." We loved the onions and will probably add more next time, as well as more sage. I used granny smith apples and red peppers. Be sure to pound your chicken breasts down to an even thickness, so they cook evenly!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2006

      My husband really didnt like it, so I probably won't be making it again. I did like the combination of flavors; it was new and interesting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      YUMMY !!! Last night's dinner was excellent! I did alter it a bit....I had no apple juice so I added chicken stock; no sage but used poultry seasoning instead....and threw in some sliced mushrooms also. I cooked the chicken first then the veggies and added the sauce after they were all cooked. Then I added the chicken back to the rest and let everything simmer for awhile. The sauce thickened and I served the chicken with all of the veggies on top along with fresh asparagus. Yum! Totally healthy and low in calories. I made enough so that there will be leftovers tonight....to go with wild rice ! Thanks so much for this simple but delicious dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2006

      While I didn't prepare this for myself, I did benefit from some of Toni's leftovers. Excellent! A great combination of sweet and savory.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2006

      Wonderful light flavors and quite easy to prepare. I had a monster sized piece of chicken and cut it in slices to get 2 servings - saving the rest foor later. Loved the sage and added a sprinkle of dry 9less than 1/4 tsp) at step 7 as well as the full amount at step 13. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2004

      This is excellent. Loved the flavor combo and as mentioned by the others, this makes a colorful, attractive presentation. Like the idea of adding some minced chile pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2004

      Very tasty diabetic chicken, lots of taste, love the red pepper and apple with the garlic. I added a jalepeno pepper for a little bite, very pretty presentation. Thanks for a good new chicken recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      Great taste and it looks good too. We enjoyed this chicken as we were getting tired of the usual chicken dishes. Lots of flavor and texture. I used 2 small/medium cloves of garlic. The granny smith apple and red pepper provided lots of color. Thanks for the keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken with Apples and Sage

    Serving Size: 1 (322 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 231.6
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    12%
    Total Fat 3.3 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 72.5 mg
    24%
    Sodium 214.9 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.3 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 3.4 g
    13%
    Sugars 17.4 g
    69%
    Protein 24.9 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes