14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I give this a huge 5 stars! My husband said 4 because he thinks it needs garlic. Boy, have I raised him well! Yep, I will add fresh smashed garlic next time but, this time I followed the recipe (not something I am known to do) and I loved it! Almost wish I had doubled the sauce to use on the polenta I served with this wonderful chicken. Thank you for such a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Terriyaki 2 June 18, 2014

This was SO SO SO delicious! My husband is in LOVE!!! <br/><br/>I cooked apples and chicken together as suggested, also cut the chicken into chunks just to make it easier to eat. I used 1 1/2 apples also because I love apples!! Used Cinnamon instead of thyme as the others suggested. <br/><br/>For some reason the sauce wouldn't thicken for me though? I tried it three different ways twice with yogurt, once with sour cream. The sour cream one turned out better and at leased thickened a little. I served over rice with green beans and corn on the cob. Will definitely be repeating this recipe in the future!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AmberNicole7 June 27, 2013

I love mamas kitchen. I love every recipe you post!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Munchkin Mama December 01, 2010

My family (including picky DD) LOVED this!! We loved the chicken AND sauce, but didn't care for eating the apples (but it is a MUST to cook the chicken with them!!). I took your advice and used nutmeg and cinnamon which sent this over-the-top!! Thanks so much!! Made for ZWT6.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kellychris June 07, 2010

Delicious! I used 2 apples which were smallish and I think it was a bit too much, but that's totally my fault! Used the butter, sour cream, wine, and some thyme from my pots last year that I've kept in my freezer! Oh and I added some cinnamon... Made for ZWT #6

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cadillacgirl June 06, 2010

This recipe is now part of our regular rotation of meals. My husband and toddlers LOVE it, but I did make a few changes from the original recipe. I cube the chicken rather than keeping it whole (easier for the little ones). I use 2 apples and I dice them pretty small. I use 1 cup of sour cream and 1 cup of apple juice (I think the cubed chicken and extra apples require more sauce). I also replaced thyme with ground cinnamon. I also serve this over box stuffing (which I also use half apple juice and half water when cooking the stuffing).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Twinsplus2 December 30, 2009

This was pretty good, but I had to make a change. I really didn't like the thyme with the apples, so I threw that batch out and used cinnamon instead I also used sour cream. This was much better and my hubby really liked it. I may even add some sugar next time, just a pinch. Made for ZWT 4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sarah in New York June 24, 2008

Though vegetarian (well, mostly), I tried a bite and I thought it was pretty good. My husband didn't like it, but then he always eats later and microwaved, so who knows? Reviewed for ZWT4.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mliss29 June 17, 2008

This was fantastic as written. I can't imagine changing a thing! I might try it with a bit of vanilla and cinnamon next time. Definitely a new favorite in our house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scarlett516 June 11, 2008

This is fantastic!! My husband loved it and had his and my seconds.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbkipp March 26, 2008
Chicken With Apples