Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken With Apple, Cranberry and Bacon Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken With Apple, Cranberry and Bacon

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 23, 2006

      SECOND time making this, TRUE! Now placed in recipes "Tried and True!" Made this ahead...reheated when guests arrived, yes! Was there ANY left? GUESS!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2005

      This is an awesome recipe. Even hours after supper my DH kept saying how good it was. This is a must try recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2004

      As soon as I saw this recipe I knew I had to make it and so I printed it out right away, and I was not dissappointed. This was excellent. I did everything exactly as the recipe stated and was rewarded with the most delicious chicken I have ever eaten. I made it for a dinner party and everyone loved it! They all wanted the recipe, just like you said! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2014

      This is outstanding and company worthy. The only substitution I made was to use dried cherries in place of dried cranberries. I would also recommend using a thick chicken breast (adjusting cooking time accordingly), slice to serve (as shown in Just Jan's photo). This is labor intensive but well worth the effort. Thanks a bunch for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2010

      This was a very tasty dish! It's not something I can logistically make often - it just takes too long with 2 small kids (I was in the kitchen about 1 1/4 hours total). But it was delish!
      I used fresh cranberries and added a bit of sugar to the sauce since they aren't as sweet as dried. I used turkey bacon which I would not do again - no fat left do do the cooking with, so lost some of the flavor. I can imagine it would have been better with real bacon. I would also pound out my chicken breasts next time, as they took too long to cook through. Also, my husband didn't appreciate the massive amount of pans and dishes this produced for him to wash, but he thought it was worth it :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2010

      This dish was a lot of work but yummy! The only change I would make is to cut up the chicken so the juices can soak into it instead of pouring on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      Very very delicious! I didn't know that I didn't have any apple juice on hand (it is a staple in our home) so I used cranberry juice instead, why not? Hehe :) I also had to cook the chicken for WAAAAYYYY longer than suggested, perhaps my chicken breasts were extra large? The bottom line though - we will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2009

      This was really good! I didn't have apple juice so I put pieces of apple in my food processor and pulverized it into liquid. I also didn't have poultry seasoning so I used some celery salt and a little sage. I used a regular yellow onion and dried cranberries chopped. I chopped up the apple too. I pounded my chicken but I found I had to cook it longer than said with a lid on it. I fixed steamed carrots with pecans and brown sugar with it. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      We REALLY enjoyed this. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out great. We are looking forward to serving this to our guest this holiday. I wouldn't change anything about this recipe at all. Thank you for a great dinner experience!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2008

      Made this with turkey bacon and half and half...very tasty...sweet and savory! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      How happy I am that I stumbled upon this recipe! Soaking the "Craisins" in hot water really made them "pop" in the sauce. Slicing the apples even thinner than the recipe calls was a good choice on my part, as I felt it made the dish have more depth. The poultry seasoning I used was not purchased, but made from a recipe I found here on the site (Homemade Poultry Seasoning)... it made a difference in the taste of the chicken. Frankly, I did not taste the cinnamon, but was aware of a melding of flavors when I bit into the tender chicken. Due to the fact we are in the middle of an ice storm and I had no wine or apple juice, I just substituted chicken broth for the liquids. The chicken was served with jasmine rice mixed with tiny peas. Also, did not have to use all the extra leftover bacon grease (saving it for my cornbread tomorrow night). Everyone who ate this felt that it was something they wish to have again and again. That bodes well for any recipe. Thanks so much, MarieAlice, for your creative recipe and for making my dinner tonight really special.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2006

      A delicious entree with great eye appeal and a variety of flavours that burst in your mouth! I soaked the cranberries in the wine/broth to "plump" them up ........ used half & half to reduce the fat. Thanx for another winner MarieAlice!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2006

      I was very excited to make this for Christmas dinner this year. I thought it looked like such a nice, festive change from the usual. Unfornately, I was pretty disappointed in how this turned out. The sauce was thin, the chicken wasn't very flavorful... not a bad dish, just not a great one. Oh well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2006

      This is a beautiful entre. It comes out very nice and it looks and feels very fancy. It does have quite a few steps that would prevent me (a mom of 3 preschoolers) from making it regularly. I didn't have poultry seasoning, so I used some of the recipes on this site to make my own concoction. Next time, I'll use the seasoning I just bought because there was one flavor that stood out to me as odd and tarnished the experience for me just a little. I'm anxious to try it one more time with a different blend of seasonings. To cut back on the 30 grams of fat, I used evaporated skim milk in place of the whipping cream. I'm sure it wasn't exactly the same, but the sauce was still really nice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2005

      This was very delicious! I made all the sauce but halved the chicken and bacon. The chicken because there is only two of us, the bacon because of the salt. The only disappointment was that there wasn't enough of that fabulous sauce for us saucy people! Next time I'll double the sauce! Besides being yummy this was also very pretty to look at. Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2004

      The most beautiful way to serve chicken that I have ever seen. The flavors in this dish are extraordinary, and it's beautiful, too. This makes chicken into an a special-occasion meal. My most particular foodie friend gave this his highest rating. I'll make this again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2004

      Wonderful meal! My DH & I enjoyed the apples and cranberries, but my sons picked them out. I served the sauce over rice and thought it was amazing. Fruit & cinnamon with chicken? Never would have considered it before, but now I will again! THX Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2004

      There was a bit of disagreement amongst the diners tonight. I thought this was better than a 5, Russell thought I should give it a 4. We differ in that I particularly love meat and fruit-he's a bit older and doesn't like it quite so much;-) Anyway, it had lots of interesting flavours and textures that I really enjoyed, and although the recipe looks long and involved, it's not really. I knew I'd love this when it was posted and I was right-MarieAlice, another classy recipe thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken With Apple, Cranberry and Bacon

    Serving Size: 1 (355 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 517.5
     
    Calories from Fat 246
    47%
    Total Fat 27.3 g
    42%
    Saturated Fat 10.0 g
    50%
    Cholesterol 111.8 mg
    37%
    Sodium 405.7 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 26.6 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 1.8 g
    7%
    Sugars 8.9 g
    35%
    Protein 33.2 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites