Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Wellington (Puff Pastry-Wrapped Chicken) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Wellington (Puff Pastry-Wrapped Chicken)

    Average Rating:

    84 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 84

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2011

      I made this but changed a few things. I first sauteed onion and pancetta and garlic in butter and olive oil. I removed from pan and cooked the chicken in the same pan. The chicken was very flavorful from the juices in pan. When chicken was browned I removed from pan and added 1/4 cup on white wine to the pan to deglaze it. Added 2 cups of chicken broth to pan and let simmer. I placed chicken in each square of puff pastry added a tablespoon of onion, pancetta garlic mixture and topped it with a slice of Fontina cheese. Wrapped up and placed seam side down on pan. I made creamy orozo (recipe on food.com) and green beans. When chicken was done, i poured sauce over it and served. Was an amazing dish! I also poured a little sauce over the orzo. Family loved it. FYI...scale back on salting the chicken before browning. The salt from pancetta is more than enough. Bona-petite!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      This recipe went over really well with one exception: we used too much cream cheese mixture per wellington so it was REALLY overpowering. We decided to assemble them: pastry, onion/mushroom, cream cheese, then chicken, fold up the pastry and flip over on the sheet--- it looked nice when it was done.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2009

      We liked this very much. the first one i douldn't get the pastry to wrap around it. I used 2 large chicken breasts and fileted them to make 4 servings and 1 sheet of pastry. the second "wrap" i cut the chicken breast in half and tried that way still no dice. the last two I did a little different than instructed, I spread the cream cheese mixture (which is where I put the parsley -by the way) topped that with the mushroom/onion and then place sliced pieced of chiken on that then wrapped and sealed so the the "stuffing" would be on top while the seal was on the bottom. The 2 in which the toppings ended up on the bottom were a little soggy on the bottom when done. I didn't have any wine to make the suggested gravy, instead sauteed some mushrooms in a little EVOO and then added a dry brown gravy mix (mccormicks i think) that i had in the pantry- it was a nice sauce. also had with my own #357596 roasted potatoes and onions and some steamed brocolli and cauliflower. i very nice meal! thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2009

      Great! IMO - the puff pastry works better for this recipe if you use 6 chicken breasts for the amount indicated and I also found it easier to work with when I did NOT wet the edges of it. Thank you for sharing this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2010

      Was lovely. Had great reviews from my dinner guests. I put less cream cheese after previous comments, but prob could've done with a bit more mustard. Served with dutch potatoes & broccoli & cauliflower, along with mushroom suce. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      I love this recipe! I made this last night with rave reviews from all. My DH hates mustard, so instead I mixed some basil, thyme and garlic powder into the cream cheese mixture. We made it with the mushroom sauce and green beans. It is a bit time consuming but I did everything at once versus some of it ahead of time. Cooking the chicken or mushroom mixture ahead of time would make it come together faster. Thank you for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2010

      Incredibly delicious. Served at a dinner party and this delectible dish got rave reviews. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

    • on January 12, 2010

      This is, yet another, GREAT recipe, and the sauce is spectacular too! I followed the recipe for both--never a problem with anything the zaar has. Thank-You once again, Bill K.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      FANTATIC Kitten I'm so looking forward to making this for New years dinner, thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      This tastes fantastic and easy to prepare. I ate it in a restaurant recently and this recipe tastes better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2009

      What an excellant dish! My husband and I LOVED it. I used 3 large chicken breasts cut in half and dried parsley (that's all I had). Thank you so much for sharing this recipe and God Bless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2009

      This was delicious!!! I had a hard time with my pastry, I think it had just been defrosted before.....so I ended up throwing the chicken (bite sized pieces) in with the cream cheese in a glass dish and covered it with pastry and baked as directed with egg wash on top. It was messy and not as pretty for company but it tasted wonderful! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

      The best I made it for a family dinner Awesome. I did not use all the cream cheese. I will have this again and again, great flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Excellent as it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2009

      Never fail recipes come my way each and every time I try one of your recipes Kitten! This one is no exception! We loved it with your Mushroom Sauce/Gravy on top. Served with Garlic Mashed Potatoes and Roasted Asapagus, we were full and happy at the end of this delicious meal. Thanks for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2009

      This was a delicious chicken wellington. I used fleur de sel instead of seasoning salt, but added some herbs, specifically marjoram, rosemary and thyme. Also used a creamy chevre rather than cream cheese. Used a dash of cognac when I was cooking down the veggies - added great flavour. Thanks for a great recipe, Kitten. :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2009

      Like alligirl, I have always been a bit intimidated over making Wellington. But I found this recipe to be very easy and delicious! And like alligirl, I only made for 2 so cut the recipe in half. I love the cream cheese/mustard mixture - it makes the dish! Thanks for sharing! Made for ZWT5 for Ali Baba Babes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      This was good :-) ! I cut the recipe back to make only 2; I used 1 huge breast for both wellingtons, cut in half. This was easy to put together, as I have felt that wellingtons were intimidating. The dijon/cream cheese had a very interesting flavor! Thanks, Kitten, for another terrific dish! Made for ZWT 5.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      FAB Kitten Darlink! I cheated a LITTLE bit, as I had some cooked chopped chicken breasts left from another meal I made. As I am by myself at the moment, I cut this recipe back by two thirds, to make 3 wellingtons. I have just eaten the first one with a mixed salad out on the terrace in the garden, and it was DELICIOUS! The combination of Dijon mustard with the cream cheese was wonderful. I used Boursin cream cheese for an authentic French flavour! Made for the Whine and Cheese Gang for ZWT5, merci! FT:-) P.S. I made a lattice pattern for the top, just to make it look prettier!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Wellington (Puff Pastry-Wrapped Chicken)

    Serving Size: 1 (273 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 651.1
     
    Calories from Fat 389
    59%
    Total Fat 43.3 g
    66%
    Saturated Fat 14.5 g
    72%
    Cholesterol 137.6 mg
    45%
    Sodium 460.4 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.8 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    11%
    Protein 33.3 g
    66%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes