66 Reviews

Wonderful chicken Salad recipe, Merlot! I love chicken salad. Whenever we go out to lunch, I always look for chicken salad, so I have had a lot of different kinds. The dressing on this is excellent. The walnuts added a great texture. I added only one apple and found for my salad it was plenty, plus I used freshly ground black pepper. For my money, this recipe is definitly worthy of 5 stars!

17 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bev September 09, 2002

Wow! This is one great salad! I can't stop eating it lol! I used 2 apples...raisins...dried cranberries...celery and walnuts. I used precooked chicken strips from Costco...made this easy peasy! I will try pecans and add grapes next time! this was super good! Oh! and I added just a hint of nutmeg...delish! Thanks so much for posting this!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Thea February 01, 2011

Just as you said, easy and delicious, like Bev I also added one apple and thought that was enough, it was a large apple. Thank you , we really enjoyed the salad!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pets'R'us December 09, 2002

we forgot the nuts, but still enjoyed this very much! thank you! UPDATE = I have made this several times now and it never disappoints! As a personal taste, I add red seedless grapes (which add great color!) and some crumbled bacon pieces usually found in the salad toppings section. My husband and I don't care for the nuts, so we omit them and it's fine! What I like about this recipe is that I almost always have the ingredients on hand!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
i82mucbb4 July 05, 2010

I doubled this recipe to use for a baby shower luncheon. I served the chicken salad on butter croissants and received rave reviews! I mixed the chopped walnuts in with the salad instead of sprinkling on top, and the texture turned out very well. This is a wonderful chicken salad recipe, and I'll definitely be making it again!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. McB April 12, 2010

Another 5 star review here! Very good! I cut the recipe in half with no problem because it's just the 2 of us. I love how easy it is also. Yummy!!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty April 02, 2010

WONDERFUL!! We all loved this recipe and will make it again! It is easy, fast, and delicious. I might add pineapple next time. We used green and red grapes with chopped walnuts. Thanks for sharing and will make it again!

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
khordiyenko March 09, 2010

I've never had Waldorf Salad before this and it was pretty good! I used Vegenaise (a little less than the recipe, worked out perfect), Quorn Chik'n tenders, and a green apple instead of red. What I loved is it's made with ingredients I keep on hand. Thanks for sharing!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HEATHER H. April 26, 2010

Oh my gosh this was so great! I made it in the morning and had a bite for lunch and thought, yes, this is good. Then served it for dinner after the flavors had blended and it was fantastic! I used the full apple amount and it was nice, very crunchy. Used a mix of walnuts and pecans on top, just for fun. Thank you for sharing Merlot, I will make this again and again. Will try your other recipes too. Loves it!! :)

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mkorte33 March 07, 2010

I really didn't measure anything; just eyeballed it. Used the breast portion of a rotisserie chicken; left out the celery and it was still so good. Was in such a hurry to taste it, I ate a sandwich for breakfast. The lemon juice gives it just the right flavor. This is a keeper.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lunchmeat September 28, 2009
Chicken Waldorf Salad