Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Vindaloo Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Vindaloo

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on April 21, 2010

      Turned out excellent! Very tasty! My wife doesn't like too much spice so I used half of the amount of cumin and cayenne. I also used one cup of tomato sauce and one cup of water. The whole family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      Delish!! I used boneless/skinless breasts (just personal preference), but didn't change anything else. The store I shop at didn't have tamarind powder, but had the whole pods. I wasn't too sure what to do with them, but I took them out of the shell, pulled off the strings, removed the seeds and squished them using my hands in a little water, then strained. Dish came out fine, so I guess I did OK. Couldn't tell by the recipe what was supposed to be garnish? I threw it all in the skillet. Boyfriend that "didn't like Vindaloo" says I should make this again. Good stuff.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2010

      WOW! For the first time I wish I could give more than 5 stars! Like the last reviewer, I halved the amount of water and added a can of tomatoes. Besides that, the only change is that I didn't have any cloves or fresh coriander on hand. Don't let the long list of ingredients scare you - this is so easy that I was able to chat on skype at the same time. Will for sure be making this recipe again as is so cheap and easy. NB - though Vindaloos are supposed to be hot (and this has got some great kick) I'm sure that the flavours would be amazing even without the chili.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2014

      Used the recipe as a general guideline, and it came out really good! My pass-along tip: I added cauliflower and carrots. They may have been the best part! I had to adjust the time and amount of liquid but well worth it! I needed to use up leftover turkey so this was made with turkey drummies, deboned and added in the last ten mins. I was lazy so I used curry spice instead of individual spices (I know! I'm terrible! But it was late!), then ended up adding additional salt. I used chicken stock instead of water.I served over coconut rice with store-bought roti. Other than the roti, meal was entirely made up from leftovers. I was so pleased! :-D

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2014

      A family favorite, and a meal I strive to make once every month or two. We always use boneless skinless chicken breasts, as we aren't big fans of skins, sub out one can of water for a can of tomato sauce, and add a touch more of each spice. The absolute best vindaloo recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2014

      This recipe has potential to be VERY GOOD, with a few major changes:<br/><br/>1. The original recipe calls for way too much salt! I cut the salt in half and only used 1tsp, and it was still too salty. Next time I make it I will probably use 1/2tsp (or less.)<br/><br/>2. 1 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper is also way too much. I generally like spicy food, but I still cut it back to 1tsp which gave it a nice heat.<br/><br/>3. I also sub'd dried tamarind for tamarind paste. It worked out great and really gave it an authentic vindaloo taste. Do not sub "tamarind chutney" for the paste though?<br/> <br/>4. I also used chopped boneless skinless breasts (which is optional) and because I prefer white meat.<br/><br/>The recipe is very poorly written and a little hard to follow. Basically, I lightly sautéed the chicken breast in ghee, then transferred it to my dutch oven. I added all of the dry spices along with the vinegar, tamarind paste, sugar, lemon juice and water and simmered until sauce reduced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      Made half a recipe with one extra large breast. Served with Aloo Gobi - Cauliflower and Potatoes, rice and puppadums.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2013

      Even though I enjoyed the flavor and easiness of this recipe, I found the instructions incomplete and a bit confusing. The recipe calls for brown sugar, but it doesn't mention anything about adding it in the directions. I figured it was part of the spice mix and added it in that step. Also, if I had to do the chicken in two batches, how could I put everything into the pan at last for everything to cook together (unless I was to put the skillet in the oven to cook the chicken through)? I wound up halving the recipe and using 2 lbs. of chicken thighs cut into cubes (which maxes out the space in my skillet). I also didn't know what the "garnishments" were. Was it the tamarind paste? I skipped the tamarind paste altogether because I couldn't find either dried tamarinds nor a pre-made paste to use. I did not stray away from the recipe, but it also did not provide the color sauce I was expecting (most vindaloos are a deep red, mine looked brown). Perhaps I should have added some tomato to boost the color.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2013

      Very good, tasty dish. After reading the comments I also added half a can of chopped tomatoes (I was cooking the dish for two). However, at the end the curry seemed very thick and heavy so I stirred in a quarter cup of plain natural yogurt, which did the trick. Finally, I served it with some sour cream on the side, which really helped balance the taste and is something I would recommend everyone to try. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2012

      Top notch. I reduced a 15 min. longer because I thought it was a touch watery. It is incredibly good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2010

      Very good. Took the suggestion of some reviewers and added a can of crushed tomatoes, halved the amount of water and used just half a teaspoon of cayenne pepper. To my surprise it was not as spicy hot as I would have thought which makes me reconsider and I will use the full amount cayenne pepper next time. In the stores here reconstituted tamarind is readily available so of course I used that. Very good indeed.
      Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Amazing! Tastes like it came from an Indian restaurant! I made this with lamb stew meat. If you're using lamb I recommend you cook it for 1 1/2 to 2 hours and let the sauce reduce uncovered for the last hour of cooking time so it gets that wonderful stewlike consistency.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      i tried this with pre marinaded chicken chunks tandori stayle and instead of adding the 2 cups of water i added a tin of tomatoes blended in a mixer ,what a scoorcher , highly recomended

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2009

      We thought this was outstanding. The sauce was aromatic, flavorful, and definitely spicy. The chicken turned out tender and nearly falling off the bone. Delicious! Thanks for posting! ~Sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2008

      Note, this is very spicy. I did like it, but it was too hot for DH. Had an americanized version that is less spicy with a different flavor, so I thought that I would try this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2006

      I'm not even gonna wait for this to finish cooking to rate it. The smell alone gives it a 5. Everybody in this house has migrated to the kitchen, demanding to know what in the world that incredible smell is. No way it can't be delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Vindaloo

    Serving Size: 1 (233 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 327.5
     
    Calories from Fat 166
    50%
    Total Fat 18.4 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 5.1 g
    25%
    Cholesterol 85.0 mg
    28%
    Sodium 1256.3 mg
    52%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.5 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    15%
    Sugars 7.2 g
    28%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes