Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Vesuvio Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Vesuvio

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2005

      The flavors of the pan juices are the stars of this show. Drizzled over the potatoes and it was near heaven. The chicken was good and done in the time stated in the recipe but I felt the skin was a little mushy and will lay the chicken over the potatoes next time so as to kind of crisp up the skin. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2011

      I substituted Tilapia for the Chicken and added mushrooms, cooked peas, black olives and sun dried tomatoes and it was sooooooo good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2010

      This great, flavorful dish was well received by my family. I used 4 split chicken breasts (bone-in), and before browning, removed the skin on 2 of them (not all of my peeps like the skin). Even without the skin, the chicken was very tasty and juicy, so no complaints here. Subs: I never have fresh parsley on hand, so used dried version. Also, was out of white wine, so used homemade chicken stock instead. Was great, but I have a feeling that the wine makes a huge difference--so will definitely use for the next time. Potatoes were yummy, although I felt the need to add just a tad bit more salt on them. My 5yo DD doesn't like potatoes (true!) , so I made a pot of rice using the leftover chicken stock...she loved it topped with a little bit of pan juices mixed in. Thanks, Glitter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2006

      This is a fabulous dish. I used 6 boneless skinless chicken breasts and 5 med sized potatoes that I quartered. Due to the amount that I cooked, I placed it in a 13 x 9 baking pan. After coating the chicken with the flour mixture, there was a lot of seasoning left in the bag, so I just added it to the wine before I poured it over the chicken. I hated to throw the seasonings away. It was so delicious and I know I will serve this many times. Thanks for a great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      I followed the recipe EXACTLY and the result was disappointing. I wanted to find a great chicken vesuvio recipe but this one wasn't even good because the flavor didn't permeate into the pieces of chicken, which ended up being very bland. Since it was cooked, we salted it as we cut each bite and I doused mine with hot sauce to give it some flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2012

      I tried this recipe a couple weeks ,used boneless skinless breasts its as good as any restaurant chicken vesuvio here in Chicago if you like chi ken v,you wont be disappointed

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2012

      I tried this tonight.my mom made it before with a somewhat kind of same way.but this one is great. It hardly took long to prepare.. Thank u so much... Kim swetlik

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      Followed this recipe exactly and used all fresh herbs, so was disappointed when the potatoes and chicken lacked the flavor I was expecting. It's okay, but doesn't stand out for me from other baked chicken dishes. Probably won't be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      this was our dinner tonight, and we all loved it! One thing I had to do different was, to add chicken broth instead of wine, because my wine bottle opener decided to run and hide, so I had wine but could not open it. LOL It still turned out great, but rest assure I will get a hold of that renegade and do it like you post it. I also used all the fresh herbs from our garden. Loads of flavor1 Thanx

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2009

      As I was making this for dinner tonight, it occurred to me that I never rated this recipe. So sorry about that! We really like this a lot. It goes together very quickly and you almost don't have to watch it while it is cooking. I use bone in/skin on chicken breast for this and the only thing I don't use is the parsley, as I never have any fresh. Thanks for a nice recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I used boneless, skinless chicken breast, so there was alot of flour and seasoning left over. Next time, I think I'll dredge the chicken in flour, salt and pepper, then combine the remaining herbs and sprinkle over the top of the chicken, so as not to waste any of the yummy seasonings! So very good - will be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This was good! I used chicken broth instead of water. I loved pan frying the potatoes. It made them a nice golden brown. Thank you for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2005

      This was soooo good! Not only did it taste great, but looked fantastic as well. The only things I did different were adding about a teaspoon of onion powder to the flour and adding a bunch of chopped green onion with the parsley. I will be making this again SOON! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2005

      The basis of this dish was very good, however we found it to be a little bland and in need tweaking quite a bit. Lemon was definately missing, and next time I'll also add some white pepper or maybe some telecherry pepper which has more zest and would bring out the flavors of the other ingredients. Otherwise it had a lovely presentation and was very easy to do

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2005

      Yum. We loved this thank you. It was a sort of oven fried chicken, but much moister, and really, really tasty and tender. We loved all the herbs in it, and the potatoes turned out great too. Looks like a lot of steps, but comes together really quickly. Oil is mentioned in steps 6 & 11, but not in ingredients, we used about 3 tablespoons.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Vesuvio

    Serving Size: 1 (548 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 994.5
     
    Calories from Fat 419
    42%
    Total Fat 46.5 g
    71%
    Saturated Fat 12.9 g
    64%
    Cholesterol 299.6 mg
    99%
    Sodium 580.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 31.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 2.4 g
    9%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 96.3 g
    192%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites