13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

very good, I love the addition of grapes to this dish, I also added in some crushed chili flakes and increased the garlic amount to 6 large cloves, I sliced the mushrooms in place of chopping and reduced the sugar amount slightly, thanks for sharing bluemoon, we enjoyed this Veronique!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kittencal@recipezazz March 01, 2009

I made this as directed. Since I've never experienced grapes in my main dish before, I harkened back to my spoiled days when I lived near wine country in California; I thought nostalgically of when I went to the Wente Vineyards winery's awesome restaurant, which is worth every penny for a Step-Mother's Day or birthday splurge! I think I'll check its cookbook, The Vineyard Table, for a similar recipe. I also thought, "Man, this would be awesome with some vineyard grapes!" Alas, my DH didn't like the "sweetness" the grapes added; poor soul didn't realize that there is added sugar! I admit that I have a sweet tooth; DH has the salt tooth; between us we lick the plate clean (kind of like Jack Spratt!). The sauce reduced wonderfully; next time I will double it. I also served on a bed of 5 grams carbs linguine -- very delicious! Thanks, BlueMoon DownUnder! Made for Zaar Stars.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees August 19, 2008

This was a great dish. I was happily surprised because I had to make quite a few substitutions. We used chicken breasts for the meat eaters and quorn cutlets for the vegetarians. I had Riesling wine opened so I used that instead of white. And we used veggie stock instead of chicken stock and red globe grapes. I served it over pasta. Thanks for a unique solution to our "what's for dinner" dilemma tonight.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom May 24, 2009

Was yummy, but not the best version of Veronique I have had. I would recommend fewer grapes and using a bit of butter to balance the olive oil.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Adopted Parisian July 01, 2007

I'm sorry bluemoon, this didn't quite do it for me. I used skinless breasts and though they were pounded and I added 3 minutes of cooking at the start they were still quite raw in the finished dish. Found the sugar in the sauce was too much and sort of overwhelmed the other flavors of the dish perhaps 2-3 teaspoons would have sufficed. Since I tend to enjoy more savory dishes, a little less sugar and more mushroom would have better suited me. All that said, I'm glad I tried this and branched out into new culinary terrain.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni November 21, 2005

I agree with cutting the grapes in half, definitely makes it easier to eat. The sauce is just fantastic! I pan-seared the chicken breast to make sure it was browned. Perfect! Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barb R October 14, 2005

This recipe has a nice flavor, you wouldn't guess it to be low-fat. I sprinkled a little paprika on my chicken even after saute-ing, it was too pale. Next time, I'll only use 1 T sugar and half my grapes for easier forking. Thank you for sharing!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Southern Lady October 12, 2005

Yummy! We will be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Patience September 11, 2005

Absolutely wonderful! Doesn't taste low calorie at all. This will be made again for dinner parties!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maïté G. September 11, 2005

Very easy to make and great flavours which blend well. The only difference I made was to leave the chicken & mushrooms in the wine while reducing as I used very little oil in a non stick pan. This still worked well. I served this with steamed brocolli and carrots and some potatoes which I microwaved in their skins and then sliced and browned in a little oil in a non stick pan. A great dinner!! Thanks for posting:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jen T September 05, 2005
Chicken Veronique