23 Reviews

The ONLY reason I gave 4 stars is because I did change this quite a bit. I took nearly everyones' suggestions adding 2 teaspoons herbs du provance, at least 1.5 tsps garlic powder, increasing pepper to .5 tsp and salt to 1.5 teaspoons. added .5 tsp nutmeg. Increased flour to 2/3 cup as spouse likes thicker filling. Increased onion to 1.5 cups (we LOVE onions). Instead of the pie crusts, used deep dish and covered filling with puff pastry. I would suggest experimenting with different herbs and meats. This is such a good, basic recipe that we're only limited by our imagination. Thanks very much, Heidi, for sharing this.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
maryannemead April 11, 2009

I made this during a OAMC session and had it last night for dinner. The taste was excellent! It froze and cooked very well. For OAMC, I prepped it and froze raw, cooked for a few additional minutes (about 15) and watched the crust.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FLFroggie December 20, 2007

Wow what a great recipe. It was quick and easy to make with terrific results. I added onions, corn, peas and dried cranberries to the turkey meat for a delicious meat pie. Just the right amount of butter and turkey stock gravy. For seasonings I added more salt and pepper than called for and some ground sage and rosemary, it worked perfectly in this recipe. Thank you so much for sharing this lovely recipe, that I will use again. Made for What's on the Menu Tag Game 2014.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baby Kato October 20, 2014

This was good but needed more seasoning for us. I didn't have frozen veggies so I used a mixture of canned. I also used two big cans of chicken because I forgot to pull my cooked chicken from the freezer. I followed the rest of the recipe as written other then I didn't add the salt because my chicken broth was salty enough. I think this could have used some onion and garlic powder and more pepper. Mine cooked for 30 minutes. We enjoyed this but would add the other seasonings when I make again. I loved that this didn't use any canned soups.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bmcnichol April 27, 2012

Wow this was great! I made it in a deep dish pie tin and it turned out perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jared Jeffs April 10, 2012

Used left over turkey to make this recipe, and it was so good! It was pretty simple to make, too. Thank you Ms. Swanson for a tasty recipe, it's going into my cookbook.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
wlossing07 November 26, 2011

this was a great day for day 2 for our turkey leftovers! Made as directed but only had frozen peas, so that is what we used. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ November 26, 2011

The three of us who ate this thought it was great! I used 2.5 cups of diced chicken and about the same amount of frozen mixed veggies, and some extra pepper. I thought it was an excellent compromise between from scratch and short cut cooking. This goes into the keeper file!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
helowy December 30, 2008

LOVED THIS!! Made it exactly as directed but added a dash of garlic powder and celery salt. Best pot pie I've ever had. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great, easy recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.B14 December 01, 2008

wow, I really wish I was able to give 4.5 stars for this, as it was really good! I did use homemade crust and I didn't measure out the veggies, I just steamed a whole bag of frozen veggies and threw it all in. We used smoked turkey breast, as that's what we had on hand. A keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
roweena November 26, 2008
Chicken/Turkey Pot Pie