Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken/Turkey Pot Pie Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken/Turkey Pot Pie

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on April 11, 2009

      The ONLY reason I gave 4 stars is because I did change this quite a bit. I took nearly everyones' suggestions adding 2 teaspoons herbs du provance, at least 1.5 tsps garlic powder, increasing pepper to .5 tsp and salt to 1.5 teaspoons. added .5 tsp nutmeg. Increased flour to 2/3 cup as spouse likes thicker filling. Increased onion to 1.5 cups (we LOVE onions). Instead of the pie crusts, used deep dish and covered filling with puff pastry. I would suggest experimenting with different herbs and meats. This is such a good, basic recipe that we're only limited by our imagination. Thanks very much, Heidi, for sharing this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I made this during a OAMC session and had it last night for dinner. The taste was excellent! It froze and cooked very well. For OAMC, I prepped it and froze raw, cooked for a few additional minutes (about 15) and watched the crust.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2012

      This was good but needed more seasoning for us. I didn't have frozen veggies so I used a mixture of canned. I also used two big cans of chicken because I forgot to pull my cooked chicken from the freezer. I followed the rest of the recipe as written other then I didn't add the salt because my chicken broth was salty enough. I think this could have used some onion and garlic powder and more pepper. Mine cooked for 30 minutes. We enjoyed this but would add the other seasonings when I make again. I loved that this didn't use any canned soups.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Wow this was great! I made it in a deep dish pie tin and it turned out perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      Used left over turkey to make this recipe, and it was so good! It was pretty simple to make, too. Thank you Ms. Swanson for a tasty recipe, it's going into my cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2011

      this was a great day for day 2 for our turkey leftovers! Made as directed but only had frozen peas, so that is what we used. Thanks for sharing this keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      The three of us who ate this thought it was great! I used 2.5 cups of diced chicken and about the same amount of frozen mixed veggies, and some extra pepper. I thought it was an excellent compromise between from scratch and short cut cooking. This goes into the keeper file!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2008

      LOVED THIS!! Made it exactly as directed but added a dash of garlic powder and celery salt. Best pot pie I've ever had. Will definitely make again! Thanks for a great, easy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2008

      wow, I really wish I was able to give 4.5 stars for this, as it was really good! I did use homemade crust and I didn't measure out the veggies, I just steamed a whole bag of frozen veggies and threw it all in. We used smoked turkey breast, as that's what we had on hand. A keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      This is just the best. You can use any meat and comes out so great, everyone will just love it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      This tasted great. I put the mixture in individual corningware bowels and only put the pie crust on the top. This way everyone gets their own pie and cuts down on the fat content.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      wonderful pie, i made exactly as written. the first pot pie i have ever made. a keeper

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I have never made a regular pie, much less a chicken pot pie. This was SO easy and yummy. Like everyone else, even my super picky kids gobbled it up and said it was a "make again". Thanks Heidi for making me look like I can cook!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2006

      This was fantastic - even my picky child ate it! I'll throw away all other pot pie recipes - this is it! And only 10 minutes to put together. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      This was delicious! Since I have been ill so much lately I was looking for something hot that was quick and easy and that didn't require a lot of standing to prepare it. This was perfect and tasted great too. Thanks Heidi Swanson. Bullwinkle. Bullwinkle

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2006

      This was good thanks. I didn't happen to have much in the way of suitable vegetables so just used some frozen peas I had with some cooked bacon. Very tasty thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2006

      This was incredible! It was far easier that I expected. I've shared this recipe with several family members and all rave over it. Great use of leftovers for family too small to eat entire turkey.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2005

      I wanted to make a pot pie that didn't require a can of creamed soup. This recipe fit the bill and the filling was delicious. I didn't have time to make a pie crust, so I used a biscuit topping for the crust instead (substituted 1 cup Bisquick Mix Bisquick Mix mixed w. 1 egg & 1/2 cup milk, some salt and sugar). This recipe yield 6 individual pies prepared in mini ramekins. I will definitely be making this again as the filling was delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2005

      I used this recipe to make my first pot pie and I was impressed with how easy it was! For the veggies: I added sliced fresh mushrooms to the frying onions like Retired Granny and then just added frozen peas when the instructions say to add the turkey and the vegetables. I will definitely be using this again with the Christmas leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2005

      "Delicious" says my picky husband. Simple & easy, especially if you use "ready" pie crusts. I added about 1/4 cup small sliced mushrooms along with the onions, and used about 2 1/3 cups of cooked turkey and 2 1/3 cups of mixed vegies.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken/Turkey Pot Pie

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 507.9
     
    Calories from Fat 228
    45%
    Total Fat 25.4 g
    39%
    Saturated Fat 7.6 g
    38%
    Cholesterol 47.5 mg
    15%
    Sodium 772.4 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 46.8 g
    15%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.7 g
    10%
    Protein 23.4 g
    46%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites