Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup - Max and Erma's Copycat Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup - Max and Erma's Copycat

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 06, 2008

      great recipe! I am from the Chicago area, and love Max and Ermas, but hardly ever make the trip up there to have it. I made this soup for a potluck, and while I was weirded out by all of the canned soup, the end result tasted amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I have been ordering this soup at Max and Erma's for over 5 years, and this recipe is dead-on for the real thing! My family loves it. It freezes well, too, for a quick meal after work.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2012

      Let me start off by saying that I have worked at Max & Erma's in the past, and I used to eat this soup a lot. I no longer live in an area that has a Max & Erma's restaurant, so I just thought I would have to do without until I came across this recipe. Having tried other chicken tortilla soups since the infamous in-house recipe from M&E's, I was skeptical because I have yet to find anything even remotely close to what they serve. With this recipe I decided to just make half, so that way I wouldn't waste any ingredients. I regret doing so. This soup was so amazing. SO amazingly close to the original. YES, I agree with the others who say that there are A LOT of calories in this, and I wish there was another way other than using all the cream-of soups that the recipe calls for. If you push that aside and simply rate the recipe based on it's taste and accuracy to the restaurant soup, it's 100% in my book. I finished my entire batch by myself within a week, and now I have to make more because of how good it is. I made the recipe exactly as stated, I didn't make any crazy changes. The only thing that I did is I used pre-made tortilla strips instead of making my own. For those who say it's nothing like the original, you are clearly doing something very wrong.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2011

      This was very good! I've only had max and erma's soup twice but loved it both times. I just can't remember it enough to know if it's a good copycat or not. But like i said, the soup is very good! The creator of this recipe needs to update the nutrition info though because I halved the recipe and I would say that alone would make 6 servings. I came up with each serving having around 400 calories. Definitely not 1319.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2009

      Haven't had the restaurant soup but I can tell you that this recipe is tasty! I halved the recipe and there was plenty left over. My thought is to add more chicken to the leftovers and pour over rice as a new dinner. Thanks so much for posting this recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2009

      I've never had Max & Erma's chicken tortilla soup, but I can tell you that this is good! My sister and her boyfriend made it for a family gathering, and everyone loved it. It makes a ton of soup - we had lots of leftovers even after feeding 6 people. The deep fried tortilla strips are the best part, so don't substitute tortilla chips!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I started making this for my pregnant sister because she was spending too much money on the real thing. This recipe is so easy and I think it is better than what you get at Max and Erma's. It makes a lot, so I usually will cut the recipe in half and it still makes enough for us to eat on a couple days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      We're coastal people, not accustomed to the bitter cold you midwesterners routinely slog through. With the ice storm headed our way I decided to make this recipe - using 1/2 the listed Campbell's soups and adding 6 cans of water + 1T chicken base. I couldn't imagine how the essentially undiluted soup would not scorch with a 2 hour cook time otherwise - and we could not swing that undiluted cream of soup. That said, I use the canned low sodium diced tomatoes and a 1/2 pint of green tomato/onion salsa. Ended with tearing 3 dried out flour tortillas and tossing along with 6 ounces of diced Velveeta. This is simply a wonderful cold weather soup that fed the two of us for 4 meals! Frying was out (I only fry outside and the sleet made that a nonstarter) so we crunched on Fritos - went great! I am not opposed to Campbell's Cream of... soups - I just don't usually buy them as I can do almost as well way cheaper from scratch. Anyway, this recipe with the flour tortilla tearups and additional cheese (& home made green salsa) is a real sleeper keeper. I plan to serve this at an oyster roast if the extreme cold weather ever lets up here. Thanks for keeping us warm and well fed, ACTanksley! Real sleeper keeper recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2013

      My favorite creamy comfort food soup!! Absolutely love it! I make it with what I have on hand usually making several substitutes when necessary and always is delicious! You can't go wrong with it! I make a very large batch and freeze several containers for a quick meal anytime!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2011

      Love this soup! It tastes just like the restaurant's! This makes a huge pot though and is very rich to eat a full serving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Amazing! Really compares to the restaurant. Shared this with friends, and they absolutely loved it. Super easy to make, and great flavor! Served with tortilla strips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      YUMMY! We used leftover chicken from beer can chicken, which gave it a bit more of a smoky flavor. Easy recipe and does not take that long. It was wonderful and re-heated great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      This get five stars for ease of preparation and for the fact my kids loved it. I could not find the cheddar soup in the store so I just added some cheddar cheese and let it melt in the soup. I also pureed the tomatoes for the kids and left out the chicken. Thanks for an easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2008

      not even close

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup - Max and Erma's Copycat

    Serving Size: 1 (758 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1312.4
     
    Calories from Fat 641
    48%
    Total Fat 71.2 g
    109%
    Saturated Fat 25.3 g
    126%
    Cholesterol 182.1 mg
    60%
    Sodium 7117.8 mg
    296%
    Total Carbohydrate 107.0 g
    35%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 17.8 g
    71%
    Protein 62.9 g
    125%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites