Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Average Rating:

    606 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-100 of 606

    Sort by:

    • on January 06, 2013

      5 stars for the soup, but only 3 for the recipe. I found it confusing. I read many of the reviews, and it seems like the recipe has been updated since it was published in 1999, which is good, but I wish it mentioned that so you could know to ignore some of the comments. I still found it confusing - cup measurements for the onion, celery, etc., but ounces for the chicken (fyi, 12 oz of chicken turned out to be 3 cups in my kitchen). Also, what size tortillas? If you buy the little ones vs. the 8 or 10" ones, it can make a big difference. I was also confused by the direction to break them into pieces - tear maybe, but my tortillas were too soft to "break". Is the can of tomatoes optional? Or the dicing? It would have helped to have these things clarified.

      That said, I did follow the recipe except where I made the following changes to make it a little healthier: cut oil down to 1T, used McCormick's Low Sodium taco seasonings, only used 4, 8" corn tortillas, only used 4oz of cheese in soup, used skim milk. For the chicken, I bought a rotissery chicken from the grocery, and I used every spec of chicken on it for the 3 cups. I think I agree with the reviewers who mentioned adding raw chicken to the 1st step as a savings - although it might not break down as much in the soup.

      My tortillas took a LONG time to break down, and some pieces remained. I don't agree with some reviewers who said this was quick - with over an hour of cooking time (where you have to watch and stir), and multi-step prep, this was a weekend project for me. It did make a lot, though, I got 10, 1 cup servings from it, and I froze some for lunches. I would make this again, but I think I would try the massa harina instead of the tortillas, it just took too long and stressed me out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      This was too spicy and too thick for me. I used 8 tortillas and it was too much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2012

      I just made this as one of my soups for a family Christmas dinner. It was a huge hit and all of the women asked me for the recipe! So easy to make too. Thanks for this great recipe Eddie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2012

      This recipe is great and I think the taste is very similar to the soup served at Red Robin. I simmered all the ingredients together except the chicken, cheese, and milk, and then blended the soup with my immersion blender before adding in those last three ingredients. Like many others, I used about 7 corn tortillas (fewer than suggested) and I added extra carrots, celery, and onions. Also, I used 1 packet of McCormick's Reduced Sodium Taco Seasoning and the soup was plenty flavorful. Love this soup. Thanks so much for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2012

      Soup was fine, recipe fine... I really hate to be one of those people who says I used the recipe but did a hundred other things with it... but.... I had to add beans, and cumin, plus more of the spices listed, almost double. The first time I made it for some reason, I didnt see the milk so I didnt put it in, and now I split it in two batches and make only one with milk cause some of my family prefers it that way. The milk itself doesnt make it thick though. Plus, it's kid friendly, my daughter actually requests it a lot. I would love to try it with avocados like everyone posted photos of!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      This was a really good soup. I doubled the reciepe so we could enjoy it all week. Te best chicken tortia recipe I've seen in a long time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2012

      I knew with all of the reviews that this had to be a good recipe. It is now my favorite Chicken Tortilla Soup recipe. I agree this makes more like 6 servings. Very yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2012

      This was the best soup EVER!! Super easy to make too. My bff shared the recipe with me and this is now going to be a favorite in my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2012

      This was awesome! I cooked my chicken in the crockpot with broth and onion. I didnt have a rotel so I added extra can of tomatoes and green chillis! I used 8 tortillas. Very yummy definately a do over at our house!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2012

      Excellent soup! I used one can of beef broth and the rest chicken since that is what I had on hand. Evaporated milk worked as a substitute for the milk and tasted great. Will be making this at the request of my husband quite often, I imagine! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2012

      This was good, but not stellar. I'm actually a little confused about the amount of taco seasoning to use since the recipe says 1 packet and many of the reviews indicate that more should be used. That might have tipped it over the top for me. I'll try it again with more taco seasoning but at this point I feel it was a little bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2012

      Excellent! My darling hubby really liked this and he is not a soup man!
      I actually followed a recipe! I did cook a whole chicken for both the broth and the fresh pulled meat. The extra meat was just a bonus in our opinion. Upon reheat for 2nd meal I used a can of whole kernal yellow & whole kernal white corn, just to add to the volume. Personally we will only use the McCormick's Taco Seasoning ( tried a different brand I had on hand for the 2nd time of making -not as good ) I have already passed this recipe out to several people - I hope they post reviews also! This recipe is now on the cabinet list, to stay with all the other tried & true - always ready recipes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2012

    • on August 25, 2012

      This is pretty good. I'm not sure I would as much taco seasoning next time it is pretty spicy. i will make again. Thanks!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2012

      This is by far the best tortilla soup I ever tried. Putting some of the tortillas right in the soup is what truly makes this one authentic in looks and flavor. I only made a couple changes to suit myself which was adding lots of cumin, chili powder, and some cayenne pepper for heat instead of the taco seasoning. My husband said this one is a keeper so it goes on the recipe rotation list. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2012

    • on February 29, 2012

      excellent soup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2012

      This soup won my neighborhood cook off! I tried it less tortillas at first then added just a few more bits to thicken it up. I also threw in a can of drained canned corn (frozen corn would have been fine too). It was perfect for a cold winter evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2012

      This is one of the easiest and quickest soups to make and is great when you need a change in flavor from a traditional soup. I added 8 tortillas and I suppose if I added more it would have been too many for my prefference, but this is not something that everyone would like, but just add them at your own preference. However all in all it was perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      This was delicious!! I used up my leftover chicken and tortillas!!! It tade a lot!!! I will make half next time for my husband and I!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    43%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 74.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1565.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites