613 Reviews

Excellent tortilla soup!! This tastes like an authentic soup you would get at a restaurant. I did leave out the optional can of diced tomatoes. In it's place I added one can of white kidney beans. I found that the one can of tomatoes and green chiles was plenty of tomatoes. Otherwise I followed the recipe as directed. Will be making again for sure. Thanks for the simple recipe!! Husband loved it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jill L. "Margaritta Lover" May 11, 2012

I found this recipe last year and I LOVE it! I follow the directions exactly and don't change a thing. Thanks, Eddie, for the best tortilla soup EVER!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicia s. April 12, 2012

DELICIOUS! I've made this soup many times now so I might as well write a comment. I usually use half of a rotisserie chicken so I don't have to worry about spending time cooking the chicken. This soup is also great for left over turkey meat after Thanksgiving or Christmas turkey dinners! The only thing different I do is use half of the taco seasonings packet, personal preference. All in all, give this recipe a try, I've come to find it's even better than some restaurant recipes!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krey1202 March 09, 2012

Excellent. I made it exactly as described. Makes more than you would expect.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jacquie* February 25, 2012

This was a really good soup with great flavor and easy to make. I used 3 packs of Sazon instead of taco seasoning. Yummy!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jade #3 January 27, 2012

OMG this was fabulous. It was cold and rainy here today and I need something to warm us up.. this worked great. Very easy to make and it was really tasty. Definitely going to be one of our go to meals.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marg May 15, 2011

This soup is just stupid good, follow the directions and you'll have dinner ready, quick and easy.
Suggestion: I use a pre-cooked whole chicken from the super market (I pluck everything and use everything but the skin and breasts). This makes the recipe even easier. Enjoy! Try using corn instead of the celery too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
beeyatch33 May 02, 2011

My in-laws loved this recipe, however, I really wasn't that thrilled about it. I wanted to be, but I didn't like the texture at all. Made as instructed. Probably won't be making this again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Redheaded Chef April 16, 2011

OMG this recipe is FANTASTIC! So much so that this is one of my new fav soups and will be in our rotation regularly now! VERY authentic tasting.... I have tried tortilla soup recipes before and you are right they are just broth and say crushed tortillas added on top that is it - this stuff was AWESOME!! I LOVE that the corn tortillas actually melted into it to make it that grainy taste - mmmmmm I doubled the recipe because I always have to double a recipe for my family and holy cow this made the most soup i have ever had to - so definitely know it makes a lot - my 8 qt pot was WAY too small i had to bring out my mom's old 20 qt pot (i think its 20 but i know the 8 was too small! lol) I followed as is - the tomatoes i used were diced green chiles and jalapenos (along w/the rotel ones) and i used the 2% milk - also threw in a can of black beans and some frozen corn crushed tortillas on top and added mexican cheese w/fresh cilantro on top.... MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chefmuffnette April 07, 2011

I have tried 3 times to get the 5 stars to show up on my review but it has not worked yet. If the 5 stars do not show up, please consider this another 5 star review. This is my first attempt at making chicken tortilla soup. I made half a recipe and that filled up a 4 quart stock pot. I didn't realize that the tortillas in chicken tortilla soup melt down and thicken the soup. This soup has alot of flavor. I would be proud to serve this to guests. I made this for the Best of 2010 tag game.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon February 14, 2011
Chicken Tortilla Soup II