Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Average Rating:

    606 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 606

    Sort by:

    • on January 23, 2014

      This soup was really good. I used Swanson's Mexican soup infused broth. The soup had just the right amount of spice, Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2013

    • on December 14, 2013

      The air is beginning to "crisp," up and this was a wonderful soup for fall weather. It has a great flavor and I loved the ease of putting it together. I had never made a tortilla soup before, sorry I waited so long to try it. Everyone I served it to really enjoyed it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2013

      Excellent soup!! I never measure anything and I like to adjust to my own tastes, so this is a more guideline for me. I used less cheese, just to try and keep calories down a bit, about half a packet of Old El Paso Hot taco seasoning and I forgot the milk but it was fantastic without. I also added some black beans and corn.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2013

      This soup is so easy and delicious! I love that it is adaptable; I have added and removed different ingredients each time I've made it and it always turns out awesome. Actually my favorite one was when I didn't have chicken so I threw in a can of black beans and some avocado instead. The tortillas make it nice and thick and the taco seasoning gives it a great flavor. I like to serve it with cornbread for a nice hearty meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 22, 2013

      Made this soup exactly as written. Super yummy and a bit spicy. Loved it. Tasted like melted enchiladas, especially because I puréed it at the end. Wish I had avacados on hand to mix in. Next time! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2013

      We LOVE this soup! The only changes I make are to add a can of corn while cooking, and I like to garnish mine with sliced avocado.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2013

      I haven't tried this recipe but where I'm from this isn't tortilla soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2013

      This soup is wonderful! Better than any restaurant! I added a can of black beans to the soup, and chopped avocado to the garnish with a little splash of lime, and it was sublime. Thanks for posting this recipe, we'll be making it often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2013

      Delicious & easy to make. I omitted the celery & carrots & will play around with the amount of corn tortillas next time, start with 5 & go from there. I also added black beans & used fresh chicken. It was a thick creamy soup that we enjoyed & will make again! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

    • on August 03, 2013

      The reviews are true.. This is great soup. You will not regret trying it. I added a little flour to thicken the soup. It taste great. All I can say is good soup. I will make this all the time at my house especially during the winter.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2013

      I've made this recipe about 4 times a year for the past 3 years. I love this soup! I always end up with a bigger pot than the recipe specifies, which is awesome because it doesn't last long around here. I strongly suggest not skipping the Rotel-with-chilies step. If anything, use a little more. I like my soup on the thicker side as well, so I generally use almost double the tortillas. Just make sure you watch the bottom of the pot, because tortillas and cheese stick to the bottom and burn on pretty quickly. The only small critique I have is not with recipe but with the description. I believe the prep time was listed as 10 minutes. This is a gross underestimate. You have to boil the chicken, and this generally takes 15-20 minutes. You also have to chop onion, carrots and celery, and then saute all the veggies for at least 20 minutes. (You can do this while the chicken is boiling. I boil it in the chicken broth that will be the soup base.) With all the other steps this takes a minimum of 2 hours from start to finish. Even longer if you want to simmer it to allow the spices to meld and get better. All in all a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      Great soup!! I think all the reviews say just how Great it is!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2013

      Awesome. I cut thin strips of tortilla and fry them up for garnish. Also garnish with plenty of lime, guacamole cilantro and sour cream. Even the kids love this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2013

      I guess I am in the minority here. I just wasn't bowled over by this dish. First off, I have nothing to compare it to, being I live in MX and the tortilla soup is totally different. I omitted the carrot...had none and went with the optional tomato and otherwise followed the recipe. I found it bland (Mexico's fault) and thought of re-naming it Chicken Tomato Tortilla Soup. I do appreciate that the soup does not contain beans nor corn.....as the other recipes have. I do want to thank you for the recipe. I did like the tortillas boiled in the broth! I will take the boiled tortilla method and run with it!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2013

      This was so good! My whole family loved it. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      Amazing!! I used masa harina instead of corn tortillas - delicious!! For leftovers I added frozen corn to make it go further. Very yummy!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2013

      This soup is #1 in my book and my family. I have looked for a Chicken Tortilla soup and would read recipe after recipe looking for that particular soup. Once I would read the recipes, I would decide that that's not the taste that I would be looking for....until.....I came upon this recipe. It is excellent! I don't change anything in the recipe. It takes time to prepare, but it is so well worth the time and effort.....and your family will love it! If you don't like spicy, I would suggest using Rotel tomatoes and chiles mild.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2013

      Awesome recipe! Even my ultra-picky 7 year old ate it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    43%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 74.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1565.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites