610 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The rating for this varied from 3 stars to 5 stars by my family. So we averaged a 4. The carrots were not as soft as I would have liked but the onions and celery were done. I think that next time I will saute my carrots a little while before adding my other veggies. We had never had tortilla soup before. Thanks for giving us something different for dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
whtbxrmom September 05, 2009

This was a really good recipe. Everyone loved it!! Thanks for a great recipe!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hope2day September 03, 2009

I made this EXACTLY like the recipe states, but then... I added whole pinto, navy and black beans (1 can each, rinsed) and 1 cup of frozen corn. I always save some tortillas to cut into small strips and fry them to top it off. Excellent. Will feed a huge crowd.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kinwart August 21, 2009

Great tasting soup!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MixingItAllUp August 20, 2009

I was surprised how the corn tortillas "dissolved" into the mixture. Excellent soup. I added a can of black bean. I thought about adding corn, but changed my mind since I had put in 10 corn tortillas. Next time I will add cilantro and maybe some jalapenos :) Must have a dollop of sour cream!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
suzmollman August 04, 2009

Really good soup. I have made this recipe a few times and all I add is the juice of half a lime to balance the sweetness of the tomatoes. So good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coral_Jayne July 26, 2009

This soup is absolutely FABULOUS!!!! It is one of those dishes that would be perfect in the wintertime heck.....anytime it's just that good! And so- easy to make. Everyone should have this in their FAVORITES!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
krysten-marshall July 14, 2009

DH isn't a fan of soup but took a bite and said "This is the tortilla soup that I like" He said it tastes like Chili's version, I dont know b/c I've never had theirs, but it was great. There are only two of us though and there is a LOT left over, so does anone know if it's freezer-friendly?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Camel_Cracker July 02, 2009
Chicken Tortilla Soup II