Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Average Rating:

    606 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 606

    Sort by:

    • on February 13, 2011

      This is a wonderful tortilla soup recipe. This makes a very large quantity of soup. I started it in a four quart pot but after adding the 4 cans of chicken broth I decided to put it into an eight quart pot. I used the masa harina instead of tortillas with excellent results. I also tempered the milk before adding it to the pot for fear it might curdle. The remaining soup is in the freezer so I don't know how it will hold up but we'll eat it in a week or two. Since spicyness seems to deminish in the freezer we may need to add some chili powder at serving time. Thanks for a great soup recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2011

      This soup was great! I added a bit of hot sauce to it because we like things with a little extra kick. Didn't have corn tortillas (silly me accidentally bought flour ones), so i used some corn meal like others suggested and I actually cut up some of the flour tortillas and put them in anyways. Instead of poaching the chicken, I just started out the whole soup by dicing up the chicken and cooking it in some oil in the pot before adding the veggies to saute. It turned out delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2011

      UPDATE: I make this ALL the time!! Add extra jalepeno and pablano reguarly and use low fat cheese and skim milk. Add cilantro right at the end. Just awesome. We love this soup! Wow - enjoyed this very much. Changes I made include adding 2 mostly seeded jalepenos to the vegetable mix. I also added 1C white wine to the broth. I like my soup thick so I added about 15 tortillas (had extra liquid) and used my immersion blender to mix it all up. MOST EXCELLENT SOUP!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2010

      Wow, this was wonderful! The only changes I made were to use regular tomatoes & chili paste instead of Rotel, plus had to use flour tortillas instead of corn. The results were fabulous. Thanks for sharing this keeper.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2010

      Delicious! The recipe served five people. I didn't have any celery, and didn't feel like it was missing any flavor. I used Trader Joe's taco seasoning mix, which made it a bit more spicy, but perfect. I didn't have corn tortillas, so I used flour tortillas, and it was great. would like to try with corn tortillas some time. I don't cook with non stick pans, so when I added the cheese, some of it stuck to the bottom of the pan. could have probably been prevented by continually stirring once the cheese has been added to the pot. Thanks for sharing the recipe. Will definitely make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2010

      I made this for a Mexican theme party I hosted tonight, and it went over extremely well. I did not add the can of diced tomatoes since my boyfriend isn't a fan of them, and didn't find that the flavor suffered at all for it. The addition of the soft tortillas made for an unusual texture. Unfortunately I didn't have tortilla chips to scatter on the soup, but I think that would have been a nice contrast to the soft tortillas.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Well, this certainly does not need another review added! This is soooo good and super easy to make! I made the recipe pretty much exactly as is except for the following minor changes: I pulled and shredded the meat from one grocery store rotisserie chicken, I used about 4 oz of shredded cheddar cheese (it was an 8oz package and I wanted some leftover for garnish), and I used two 32 oz boxed packages of chicken broth. Thank you!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2010

      Soup was great. I had to change a few things so that my family & I (we are Mexican American) could enjoy it a little bit more. We decided to not use the milk; not really my thing with this type of soup. We grilled the chicken with cumin & garlic salt...yummy!! But note to self...do not add the tortillas to the soup until the very end or else they break up. I also added 1/2 of a jalapeno peper to spice it up...sshhh I didn't tell my family. :) All in all this recipe was great to go by. Will definately use it again!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Simply Amazing!! I put seven of the ten tortillas in the soup, and used the other three to make homemade tortilla strips. I also added more shredded rotisserie chicken. Next time, I plan to use more than 1 cup of each of the veggies because there was still plenty of the broth to go around.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2004

      Most excellent soup. We have been searching for a long time for a tortilla soup just like the restaurants serve. Bravo! You did it! Thanks much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2003

      FYI... At our local grocery, they have ready-made bbq chickens. When we buy one, we take the leftovers and debone and shred them and keep them in a zip-lock in the freezer for later use in the soup. They also have chicken fajita meat already cooked. These make wonderful additions as well as add to the flavor. ~~Eddie Shipman~~

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2003

      This is my favorite soup out at restaurants, and I was thrilled to find this recipe. This was simple and absolutely delicious. I used fat free milk and it was really thick! Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2002

      woh i hate to cook unless its microwave burritos and this recipe is no different but i like how it says woh oh oh, woh oh oohh woh oh oh woh oh woh woh

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2014

      SAVE THIS IMMEDIATELY!!!! Tortilla soup is hit or miss with me! I needed a soup that was not in the rotation so I picked this because of the reviews and comment by the chef! This is the BEST Chicken Tortilla Soup I have ever eaten!!! Only change I made was to reduce the "heat" of the soup to my kids liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2014

      I used a store bought rotisserie chicken for this dish and just added 8 tortillas. The remaining 4 tortilla I cut into thin strips and fries in oil to make my own chips. Don't forget to garnish with sour cream and avocado. PERFECT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2014

      I didn't have the tortillas so I used Mesa flour and it was great. I used 1/2 cup because I doubled the veggies and didn't double the broth, so mine was pretty thick. Very tasty. Only added cheese as a garnish, not as part of the soup too. Used rotisserie chicken. Didn't have taco seasoning or rotelle tomatoes, so I used regular diced tomatoes, no tomato sauce, added 1/2 a jalapeno and 2 tsp. chili powder, 1/2 tsp garlic powder and 2 tsp cumin. Garnished with sour cream, cheddar cheese and tortilla chips.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2014

      Made this yesterday! Added a can of pinto beans and half a can of corn. Just added a dollop of sour cream and cheese to the top. My husband liked it. I thought it was ok! Smelled delicious though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      Followed recipe as written....Excellent!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2014

      Love love this soup! With very little effort involved, I pleased everyone! That's not easy to do in my dimension. I followed the recipe but added one cup of diced green pepper and used one and a half cups milk and one and a half cans on tomatoes and chiles, and added the regular can of tomatoes as well. I wasn't disappointed. I made the soup up to the point of adding milk, and let the base "steep" overnight, then reheated it and completed the recipe. Thank you, Eddie for the recipe! I will make this soup again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    43%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 74.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1565.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites