610 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is the BEST tortilla soup I've ever had, and I live in Texas!! I wish I could give it more stars.

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Martybb March 12, 2002

This soup is the best ever!I even sent some to my son in Arizonia and he loved it. Not hard to make and frezes well. Great winter meal with some thinly sliced tortilla's fried on the top,mmmmm.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Niki March 20, 2002

This was very easy and super good! My husband who hates soup said he would like to have it on a regular basis. Thanks for sharing it!!

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tiffanee January 17, 2002

This soup was very good my whole family loved it I will be making that again.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cyndi Hughes May 03, 2001

SUPERB Tortilla Soup! We loved it. My sister made it for a baby shower and we all wanted the recipe. I made it this week with a few changes. Instead of 10 tortillas I used 8 and I substituted the milk for Half & Half which somebody else had suggested. It was really yummy, great flavor, but a little to much taco seasoning. I love spicy, but next time I'll probably cut the taco seasoning down to (3) 1.25 oz packets. Since it was much to spicy with the 6 oz I added approximately 2 1/2 cups more of Half & Half to dilute the spice, which turned out good and thick still. We'll be making this for years to come.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amber Robinson October 28, 2002

I love this soup!! Make it year round, and love the thickness and the ease of making it. I got this recipe way back in 2003 when I was just learning how to cook and recall the daunting task of cutting up all the veggies. Now, 7 years later, I'm a full-time cook, know it by heart, and am begged for "my" tortilla soup recipe. I do omit the milk and cheese for health reasons, however a package of blended silken tofu works great as a dairy replacement. I love to add whatever seasonal veggie is available (including squashes, yams, and a variety of peppers) also whatever protiens I have on hand; beans, fish, shrimp, etc. instead of the chicken. If you stick to the base of the recipe it always comes out delicious! Thanks for posting this recipe, it really is my favorite soup in the world!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alicat810 November 05, 2010

Holy Moly Guacamoly!! This soup is BOMB!!! So simple, so authentic, so delicious!!! I would know%u2026I'm Mexican. My husband couldn't get enough of it! He had three bowls of it :) I garnished at the end with some sliced avocado, cilantro leaves and some lime. Delish! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper :)

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
preciouz97 May 12, 2011

This is a good recipie. I did make some changes. I didn't use a cup of celery, carrot or onion. I used 1 carrot, 1 stalk of clery and half an onion. I also made my own taco seasoning. The one thing I think this recipie lacks is lime juice. Squeeze one juicy lime in to this soup and it will take it over the top!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brandidt July 02, 2010

Fabulous! We love this soup and I have made it often. On occasion I have added a can of black beans and a handful of frozen corn, and we always shred and fry any extra tortilla's and add to the top for a little crunch. Thank you Eddie!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rhonda_H June 27, 2003
Chicken Tortilla Soup II