Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Average Rating:

    607 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 607

    Sort by:

    • on November 05, 2010

      FABULOUS! Loved this recipe!! The flavor for an excellent chicken tortilla soup is "spot on" here. The only change I will make next time is to try omitting the cheese from the cooking process and just using it as a garnish. I thought the soup was already perfect before adding the cheese! Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2010

      Really good!! I boiled the chicken as directed from #4627 Shredded Chicken for Enchiladas, Tostadas, Tacos... and used the broth for part of my chicken broth! Boiling the chicken then cooling it makes it easy to shred as well! I tasted the soup before I added the cheese and milk and I thought it tasted amazing even at that point. If you wanted to save some time and make it a little healthier you could probably omit the cheese and milk and it would still be amazing. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2010

      This has got to be the best tortilla soup ever! I've made it many times and everyone loves it. Since I live abroad I have to make a few changes for not being able to find proper ingredients. Instead of rotel tomatoes I use salsa, and also taco shells instead of corn tortillas. Instead of 4 cans of chicken broth I use two 10 oz. cans of condensed chicken broth and then two cans of water. It makes a thicker soup but the results are great! Also love serving this with sour cream on top.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2010

      I'm not what is "real McCoy" about using a packet of sodium-rich taco seasoning and canned chiles in tortilla soup. I feel misled by the description.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2011

      This gets 5 stars for flavor alone, delicious. I had to modify it somewhat because of the ingredients I had on hand. No Rotel tomatoes,so I used a 28oz can of whole tomatoes, that I chopped. Three canned jalapenos, seeded and chopped. No corn tortillas,so I used a stale bag of corn tortilla chips that I pulverized. I needed to use the turkey broth and meat from the thanksgiving turkey carcass I cooked, (hence my hunt for a good soup recipe). The only thing I would do differently next time, is omit the cheese in the body of the soup, I'd just use it for a garnish. To me, it didn't really add any additional flavor, and just made a gloppy goup that wanted to stick to the bottom of the pan and spoon, even though I stirred frequently. I also omitted the first step of sauteeing the veggies, I just cooked them directly in the broth. Followed the rest of the recipe as written, and wasn't disappointed. It's addictive.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      A-Freakin-Mazing! This soup was so fantastic, and could feed an army! Ate it for like a week, and was never tired of it, the flavor was so fantastic. I did adjust a couple of things (what kinda cook would I be if I didn't) ie: I added a can of drained sweet corn, didn't put in a can of tomatoes, and added a couple of diced chipotle peppers for more of a kick- and boy did it deliver. I also used 2 cans of chicken broth, and 2 cans of beef broth. I tend to like a darker tortilla soup. And like I said - A-Freakin-mazing! Thanks so much for this Eddie - totally epic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2011

      GREAT soup! This has become a staple here. It is a hit at the pot lucks too. It makes more than 4 servings that is for sure, so I use my stock pot when making it.
      In a pinch, I have used rotisserie chicken instead of my own, and I have often left out the corn tortillas because I didn't have any on hand. Didn't affect the taste a bit. I've even had to use different cheeses, and it still turned out yummy. I love that this recipe is flexible, and I don't have to measure to get it right. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2010

      I can rest now that I have found the perfect tortilla soup recipe! I substitute black beans for the chicken since I don't eat chicken. I also like to add corn and cilantro at the end. Wonderful on cold days!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2012

      Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2012

      This turned out perfect! We will make this again and again! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2012

      Excellent tortilla soup!! This tastes like an authentic soup you would get at a restaurant. I did leave out the optional can of diced tomatoes. In it's place I added one can of white kidney beans. I found that the one can of tomatoes and green chiles was plenty of tomatoes. Otherwise I followed the recipe as directed. Will be making again for sure. Thanks for the simple recipe!! Husband loved it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2012

      I found this recipe last year and I LOVE it! I follow the directions exactly and don't change a thing. Thanks, Eddie, for the best tortilla soup EVER!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2012

      DELICIOUS! I've made this soup many times now so I might as well write a comment. I usually use half of a rotisserie chicken so I don't have to worry about spending time cooking the chicken. This soup is also great for left over turkey meat after Thanksgiving or Christmas turkey dinners! The only thing different I do is use half of the taco seasonings packet, personal preference. All in all, give this recipe a try, I've come to find it's even better than some restaurant recipes!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2012

      Excellent. I made it exactly as described. Makes more than you would expect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2012

      This was a really good soup with great flavor and easy to make. I used 3 packs of Sazon instead of taco seasoning. Yummy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2011

      OMG this was fabulous. It was cold and rainy here today and I need something to warm us up.. this worked great. Very easy to make and it was really tasty. Definitely going to be one of our go to meals.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      This soup is just stupid good, follow the directions and you'll have dinner ready, quick and easy.
      Suggestion: I use a pre-cooked whole chicken from the super market (I pluck everything and use everything but the skin and breasts). This makes the recipe even easier. Enjoy! Try using corn instead of the celery too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2011

      My in-laws loved this recipe, however, I really wasn't that thrilled about it. I wanted to be, but I didn't like the texture at all. Made as instructed. Probably won't be making this again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      OMG this recipe is FANTASTIC! So much so that this is one of my new fav soups and will be in our rotation regularly now! VERY authentic tasting.... I have tried tortilla soup recipes before and you are right they are just broth and say crushed tortillas added on top that is it - this stuff was AWESOME!! I LOVE that the corn tortillas actually melted into it to make it that grainy taste - mmmmmm I doubled the recipe because I always have to double a recipe for my family and holy cow this made the most soup i have ever had to - so definitely know it makes a lot - my 8 qt pot was WAY too small i had to bring out my mom's old 20 qt pot (i think its 20 but i know the 8 was too small! lol) I followed as is - the tomatoes i used were diced green chiles and jalapenos (along w/the rotel ones) and i used the 2% milk - also threw in a can of black beans and some frozen corn crushed tortillas on top and added mexican cheese w/fresh cilantro on top.... MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2011

      I have tried 3 times to get the 5 stars to show up on my review but it has not worked yet. If the 5 stars do not show up, please consider this another 5 star review. This is my first attempt at making chicken tortilla soup. I made half a recipe and that filled up a 4 quart stock pot. I didn't realize that the tortillas in chicken tortilla soup melt down and thicken the soup. This soup has alot of flavor. I would be proud to serve this to guests. I made this for the Best of 2010 tag game.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    43%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 74.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1565.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites