613 Reviews

This was good, but not stellar. I'm actually a little confused about the amount of taco seasoning to use since the recipe says 1 packet and many of the reviews indicate that more should be used. That might have tipped it over the top for me. I'll try it again with more taco seasoning but at this point I feel it was a little bland.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAMS_Club October 10, 2012

Excellent! My darling hubby really liked this and he is not a soup man!
I actually followed a recipe! I did cook a whole chicken for both the broth and the fresh pulled meat. The extra meat was just a bonus in our opinion. Upon reheat for 2nd meal I used a can of whole kernal yellow & whole kernal white corn, just to add to the volume. Personally we will only use the McCormick's Taco Seasoning ( tried a different brand I had on hand for the 2nd time of making -not as good ) I have already passed this recipe out to several people - I hope they post reviews also! This recipe is now on the cabinet list, to stay with all the other tried & true - always ready recipes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GypsyWinds October 06, 2012

This is pretty good. I'm not sure I would as much taco seasoning next time it is pretty spicy. i will make again. Thanks!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
l.church August 25, 2012

This is by far the best tortilla soup I ever tried. Putting some of the tortillas right in the soup is what truly makes this one authentic in looks and flavor. I only made a couple changes to suit myself which was adding lots of cumin, chili powder, and some cayenne pepper for heat instead of the taco seasoning. My husband said this one is a keeper so it goes on the recipe rotation list. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
skyblue1963 June 19, 2012

excellent soup

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
memaw #2 February 29, 2012

This soup won my neighborhood cook off! I tried it less tortillas at first then added just a few more bits to thicken it up. I also threw in a can of drained canned corn (frozen corn would have been fine too). It was perfect for a cold winter evening.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Khuonger February 26, 2012

This is one of the easiest and quickest soups to make and is great when you need a change in flavor from a traditional soup. I added 8 tortillas and I suppose if I added more it would have been too many for my prefference, but this is not something that everyone would like, but just add them at your own preference. However all in all it was perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DakotaMarsh February 24, 2012

This was delicious!! I used up my leftover chicken and tortillas!!! It tade a lot!!! I will make half next time for my husband and I!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nurnal February 13, 2012
Chicken Tortilla Soup II