Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup II Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Average Rating:

    608 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 608

    Sort by:

    • on December 22, 2000

      The soup was easy to make and delicious. I agree with the chef, that it isn't just glorified chicken broth! The recipe says it makes 4 servings, but I'd say it was closer to 6, the servings were ample. The measurements for ounces I adapted as follows: 3/4 C diced carrots, 3/4 C diced celery and 2 medium size onions, chopped. The ingredients didn't list the corn tortillas, just the chips. I added about 10 diced corn tortillas to boil into the soup and the consistency turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2001

      My favorite Tortilla Soup is from the Red Robin in Del Mar, Calif. This is almost identical. Very easy. I would start with 8 tortillas and go up from there - 10 was a little thicker then I like. You can always add more.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      I made this soup and it was wonderful. I changed the amounts a little though as follows: carrots, celery, oonions I used 1 cup each I used only 1/2 can rotel tomatoes & chiles 1 1/2 cans diced tomatoes with carmalized garlic 2 pkgs 1oz taco seasoning and instead of Milk I used 10 oz half and half. Wow what a punch!! This was absolutely delicious

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2002

      I have been looking for a great tortilla soup receipe for two years. I have finally found it!! I made the soup as directed except after adding the tortillas and BEFORE adding cheese and milk/cream, I poured everything in a crock pot and let simmer all day. After work I just added the cheese and heavy cream and dinner was served. Thanks for such a terrific meal!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2001

      This IS quite delicious and not difficult to make. Thanks to Bonnie Thompson for the measurements (vs. ounces). The best tortilla soup I've ever had was at Pancho's in Cabo San Lucas. I copied their style by adding a dollop of sour cream (non-fat is OK)and a couple of slices of avocado to the top of this soup, and garnished with chopped fresh cilantro. Ummm, good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2002

      Instead of just using jack cheese, I used marbled jack/cheddar. Since I made it for a group of friends, I put out some addtional toppings, such as chopped black olives, sliced green onions and sour cream. Everyone enjoyed personalizing their own bowl. To add some color, we also had blue corn tortilla chips. GREAT RECIPE!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      This soup is FABULOUS! I used only 2 of the 1.25 oz taco seasoning packets and it was just spicy enough for me. I only used 4 oz of monterey jack and it still tasted very cheesy. To cut an extra step, I put uncooked diced chicken into the soup and it turned out great! Yummy, yummy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2001

      I made a double batch because it said 4 servings but I now have enough soup to feed a small army - I will freeze some for later. I only used 3 1.25 oz. pkgs of taco seasoning and it was perfect. I also used a 12 oz. can of evaporated skim milk to cut some calories. My husband likes thick soup so I used 2 10 count pkgs of tortillas (remember I made a double batch). Thanks for the recipe - we love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2001

      I absolutely loved this soup. I did reduce the Taco seasoning to 3 1-ounce packets to keep it slighty less spicy, but it was just excellent. You won't be sorry if you try it. McCool :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2002

      Made this for the family. It was great. I use 2 49.5 oz cans of chicken brooth 3 cans of driced tomatos. Also when frying up the carrots and celery and onions I added 2 hot peppers. Could not find the rotel with chilies so I added a small can hot mild chilies. This ended up makin a large pot of soup Also used about 15 to 17 corn chips. The package was about 5oz each and had 10 in them. This was not a hot spicy soup just plain good. Will make it again and again. thank for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      This is the BEST tortilla soup I've ever had, and I live in Texas!! I wish I could give it more stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2002

      This soup is the best ever!I even sent some to my son in Arizonia and he loved it. Not hard to make and frezes well. Great winter meal with some thinly sliced tortilla's fried on the top,mmmmm.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2002

      This was very easy and super good! My husband who hates soup said he would like to have it on a regular basis. Thanks for sharing it!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 03, 2001

      This soup was very good my whole family loved it I will be making that again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2002

      SUPERB Tortilla Soup! We loved it. My sister made it for a baby shower and we all wanted the recipe. I made it this week with a few changes. Instead of 10 tortillas I used 8 and I substituted the milk for Half & Half which somebody else had suggested. It was really yummy, great flavor, but a little to much taco seasoning. I love spicy, but next time I'll probably cut the taco seasoning down to (3) 1.25 oz packets. Since it was much to spicy with the 6 oz I added approximately 2 1/2 cups more of Half & Half to dilute the spice, which turned out good and thick still. We'll be making this for years to come.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2010

      I love this soup!! Make it year round, and love the thickness and the ease of making it. I got this recipe way back in 2003 when I was just learning how to cook and recall the daunting task of cutting up all the veggies. Now, 7 years later, I'm a full-time cook, know it by heart, and am begged for "my" tortilla soup recipe. I do omit the milk and cheese for health reasons, however a package of blended silken tofu works great as a dairy replacement. I love to add whatever seasonal veggie is available (including squashes, yams, and a variety of peppers) also whatever protiens I have on hand; beans, fish, shrimp, etc. instead of the chicken. If you stick to the base of the recipe it always comes out delicious! Thanks for posting this recipe, it really is my favorite soup in the world!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2001

    • on July 02, 2010

      This is a good recipie. I did make some changes. I didn't use a cup of celery, carrot or onion. I used 1 carrot, 1 stalk of clery and half an onion. I also made my own taco seasoning. The one thing I think this recipie lacks is lime juice. Squeeze one juicy lime in to this soup and it will take it over the top!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2003

      Fabulous! We love this soup and I have made it often. On occasion I have added a can of black beans and a handful of frozen corn, and we always shred and fry any extra tortilla's and add to the top for a little crunch. Thank you Eddie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2011

      Holy Moly Guacamoly!! This soup is BOMB!!! So simple, so authentic, so delicious!!! I would know%u2026I'm Mexican. My husband couldn't get enough of it! He had three bowls of it :) I garnished at the end with some sliced avocado, cilantro leaves and some lime. Delish! Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! It's definitely a keeper :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 31

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup II

    Serving Size: 1 (533 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 398.3
     
    Calories from Fat 172
    43%
    Total Fat 19.2 g
    29%
    Saturated Fat 10.2 g
    51%
    Cholesterol 74.2 mg
    24%
    Sodium 1565.5 mg
    65%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 4.3 g
    17%
    Sugars 3.9 g
    15%
    Protein 28.7 g
    57%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes