Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Average Rating:

    34 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 34

    Sort by:

    • on May 28, 2003

      WHOOHOO! Id give it more stars if I could! This is fabulous! This pleased a table of SIX picky eaters! EVERYONE at work wants the recipe even the guys! *I bought an already roasted chicken at the store a just tore it up and tossed it in...it was so quick! I LOVE it served with fresh avacado as a garnish too! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2010

      Made the first time as stated....just not a stunner...lacked a real depth of flavor. Second time used same ingredients with adjustments. Omit canned chilies and fresh tomatoes. Use 14oz can of Hunts diced tomatos with green chilies. Use 6 oz V-8. Omit salt in recipe. Triple the beef and tripple the chicken flavors...I use Jamison Soup Base. Use metal stick mixer to partially puree the tomatos. Omit fresh Chilie, use 7-8 rounds canned hot peppers ( your choice). Quarter 2 8" zucinni and chop, saute and add to soup. Add 1/2 cup frozen corn. Served with mexican corn bread, salad and Asiago Cheese bread for dipping...yum...yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2004

      This soup is excellent. I cook in a nursing home and wasn't sure how it would go over. I was worried maybe it would be to spicy. They are picky eaters. They loved it some asked for seconds and I only gave out 1 alternate meal. I served black bean and cheese quesadillas with it yum. I highly recommend this recipe. It was very easy to make also. I made enough for 150 people.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2003

      We love this soup. I season the chicken with poultry seasoning and saute it and shred it as it cooks. I add veg-all, zuchinni & yellow squash. To save time, I use the leftover broken chips from my Tortilla Chips bag that I never know what to do with! I garnish with sour cream, avocado, & chesse! YUMMY!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2003

      Beskas, Great Soup,I sprinkled Mexican blend shredded cheese on top in my bowl instead of cheddar, and a spoon of diced up Jalapeno peppers on top.YUMMY. Thanks, Darlene Summers

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2012

      OMG this soup was delicious! I added whole corn on the cob broken in two pieces, also added oregano. Next time I will add in spanish rice and and calabazitas. I omitted the boullion cubes and the can of green chilis. Thank you so much for such a great soup!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2012

      This was really great soup! I think it is my favourite that I have made of this kind!! I did add just under 1/8 tsp more salt and 1/4 tsp more sugar. We had broken blue tortilla chips and monterray jack cheese, and 1/4 an avocado as garnishes...SOOO good! Thanks for the keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2011

      Very tasty. I served it with sour cream which was a fantastic addition. We didn't have a fresh tomato on hand, but a can of diced tomatoes worked fine as a substitute.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2010

      This soup was fantastic. I have been searching for a great tortilla soup for years and this is the one I will make over and over again. I only changed it a little. I put a can of rotel tomatoes and chilies in with it as I had it sitting in my pantry. I didn't have V8 so I used tomato juice. My husband loved it. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2010

      Delicious, to save time sometimes I just use precooked chicken. I also add extra cumin and a couple of splashes of hot sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      Awesome! I think that sums it up. I adhered very closely to the recipe. However, I used low sodium V8 and did not add salt and it was still very, very tasty and delightful. Lots of salt in the bouillon cubes. This is one of those great "clean out the fridge" recipes. Thanks for posting. It's a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2009

      This is the first recipe I've tried since joining RecipeZaar and it is awesome! We had a roasted turkey the other night for an early Thanksgiving meal and used the leftover meat. Made no changes except I threw a little cilantro in to simmer as well as to garnish. Great recipe! Can't wait for my husband to come home for dinner, this is right up his alley! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 08, 2009

      My husband made this soup last night and it was incredible! Better than what I had in Austin as it wasn't as overly salty. He substituted Chipolte and Habanaro ground pepper for the Chilie (we both dislike Chilie pepper) and left out the V8 (less sodium) and beef bouillon (again, less sodium) and the rest was the same. Avocado, jalapeno Jack cheese, tortilla chips, chopped cilantro...YUM! GREAT SOUP!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2009

      Very good. Just like if you were going out to get it. Very easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This soup is yummy. I have made it twice for 2 seperate bunko groups and everyone raves about it and asks for the recipe. It is also good reheated. I will make it again and again. It works great to change the servings to make it for a large group.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2009

      We were snowed in and I was craving Tortilla soup so I found this recipe and used it! It was a huge hit for the entire family! My little brothers are extremely picky eaters and constantly beg me to make this soup now. I even made this for friends on our ski vacation and everyone raved about this!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2008

      Totally Rocked! My husband doesn't even really like soup, and he's been going on for hours. THANKS!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      Very easy to make.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2007

      my absolute winter favorite!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2007

      We enjoyed this. Even my two month old son liked it! It had a good flavor, but it definately needed the avocado! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Chicken Tortilla Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (364 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 145.7
     
    Calories from Fat 65
    45%
    Total Fat 7.3 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.7 g
    8%
    Cholesterol 31.1 mg
    10%
    Sodium 617.2 mg
    25%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.0 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 5.1 g
    20%
    Protein 11.7 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites